Fire in the Sky 【Beautiful Japan #16】

in #japan7 years ago

Nice sky, eh? We do get nice sunsets in Japan!

Fire_in_the_Sky!.jpg

This one was a little unique, however, in that it came after a typhoon. I might in fact subtitle this: Sunset After Typhoon.

We usually get a dozen or so typhoon that hit the one of the main islands of Japan every year. By the time they get to central Japan, where I live, most are little more than strong storms. Only a handful remain strong typhoon and so some damage.

I'm not sure why, probably due to the increased water in the air or something like that, but the first sunset after a typhoon has passed is always absolutely amazing, often making the entire sky look as if it's on fire.

On this particular one, I thought the typhoon would last until night, but the rain stopped about an hour before sunset. Excited, I rushed out to photo the amazing sunset that I knew was coming. Unfortunately the clouds just wouldn't part. I waited and waited and waited. Finally as I was about to give up the thick clouds started dispersing enough to allow me to photo the end of the sunset.


Don't miss the other great photos in the Beautiful Japan photo series!

#1 - The Shogun's Keep
#2 - Gate to the Shogun's Shrine
#3 - The Golden Torii
#4 - Across the Universe
#5 - To Walk With You Under the Cherry Blossoms
#6 - I Once Knew This Place
#7 - Okazaki Tenmangu Shrine
#8 - The White Walls of Zui'nenji
#9 - Curious Kitsune Watches
#10 - Meeting Place of the Kitsune
#11 - What a Blur
#12 - The Watcher at the Shrine
#13 - Giant Torii in Road
#14 - Resting Leaves
#15 - The Family that Drinks Together, Stays Together


Thank you for reading. :)

If you enjoyed this post, please like and resteem. Also be sure to follow me to see more from Japan everyday.

I post one photo everyday, as well as some misc posts such as haiku, videos, more Japanese history, and so on. Let me know if there is anything about Japan you would like to know more about or would like to see.


Hi there

David LaSpina is an American photographer lost in Japan, trying to capture the beauty of this country one photo at a time.

Sort:  

@dbooster
Wow, love your photos. very intriguing.

Thank you :)

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54391.40
ETH 2283.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29