[Slice of HOME] Standing still for 5 seconds steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photofeed6 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: [Slice of HOME] Standing still for 5 seconds


Dear reader - Steem has been renamed to Hive since May 2020. My content therefore has moved with me to Hive, and I hope to see you there: peakd.com/@soyrosa.

Sort:  

It would be so nice if town planners thought like this today and built places that were more homely that we would like to stand and absorb the beautiful lines.

There's a lot of bad housing being built, but also some very beautiful examples I've seen recently. Playing with different colours and textures on the facades for example - I really feel the boring times are over - at least a bit, and at least here in the Netherlands! But yes, I think some of the older types of architecture have a special charm that's harder to find nowadays.

I'm a big fan of the older architecture although I have seen some amazing buildings in Dubai.
London has a mixture of both but the new housing in the UK is generally soulless. Just boxes for living in.

I love the diagonal lines and intense shadow/light contrast in the photo. I am always seeing things that I think would make a good picture and usually always failing to take any action on the capture. I just convince myself it would have been a bad shot so I don't have to feel bad about missing the opportunity, despite being very aware that it's my gut that knows what makes a good photo not my logic or reason. The logic and reason is just what I use to try and explain the decisions I already made based on more emotional factors, and its always bs.

Thanks @fivealive55! I appreciate you stopping by - you are one of the people I'll always remember as being there when I first started out on Steemit, commenting on my posts :-) Thank you for that!

Yes, photography is a lot of gut and it's a damn shame how often our minds keep us from taking these shots. I honestly feel almost in a 'mindful' state if I'm walking, camera in hand, ready to take pictures. I do get in a different state of mind, my mind isn't the boss anymore, something else is, I get in a flow.

But all those other moments? I'm in my mind and I really have to force myself out of that mind to just grab the camera and 'take the shot'. Even if it's just with the smartphone - it's still worth taking it.

I agree @soyrosa - there are so many things that you walk past day to day but fail to actually recognise. Strange isn't it?
Liking the 'slice of home' concept too!

It is strange! But as I commented above as well: we often tend to let our minds rule us, instead of being mindful or listening to our guts. It takes practice to be a 'full-time photographer' that's always 'present' and ready to take a shot... We'll get there, I hope ;-)

And thanks! I hadn't posted a 'slice of HOME' in a while, but today was the day ;-)

Congratulations @soyrosa! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 2500 replies. Your next target is to reach 2750 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
Meet the Steemians Contest - Special attendees revealed
Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=soyrosa
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=slice-of-home-standing-still-for-5-seconds


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

That light creates some pretty cool composition. The diagonal lines on the horizontal structure. Looks cool.

Wonderful shadow and light!

I know what you mean, as I want to share more of our darling house here and I've only shared my little room and studio and I've still got to finish furnishing it.

Our house I have yet to share more of and I love our garden. I did a series of shots yesterday when I was out in the morning with Ivan the dog as I had my cup of coffee in my blue willow cup and it looks so striking against the deep greens and yellows of the garden, but I have yet to post it or even use it for a painting...time.

Right now I feel we are still so much in our 'set u the house get to know the neighbours' that I remind myself in time I'll be more adjusted to a normal writing/art routine again.

I'm always seeing things and snapping shots and thinking, "That'll be good for steemit" but then I just need to find the time to write and share!

Hi @soyrosa!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.696 which ranks you at #1584 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 30 places in the last three days (old rank 1614).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 215 contributions, your post is ranked at #86.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hello @soyrosa, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63615.94
ETH 2475.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54