The Accidental Designer, Part 2 – Meditative Daydream

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)

z-vipassana-28.jpg


In Part 1, I shared the story of how and why I shaved my head while visiting Bodh Gaya in late 2009. As I mentioned in that piece, the following day, I began a Vipassana course at Dhamma Bodhi.

Vipassana is a highly disciplined meditation designed to cultivate equanimity and balance of mind. 10 days of silent introspection – the relinquishing of all 'sensual entertainment'; no speaking, reading, writing, exercise, physical touch nor eye contact – nothing with which to distract the senses.

It is not for the feint of heart.

One must sit for 10.5 hours a day, scanning the body in repeated, shifting patterns, becoming increasingly aware of even the most subtle of sensations – training the mind to simply observe rather than react – to be swayed neither by craving nor aversion; the two primary causes of suffering, according to Gautama Buddha.

It is understood that, through this method, one may perceive the true nature of reality, as experienced within the framework of their physical form. Through dedicated practice, students gain a deeper awareness of 'anicca'; the forever-changing impermanence of all that is – learning to navigate life's peaks and valleys with more equilibrium and grace.

I was no stranger to the rigors of Vipassana; this was my third time 'sitting'. Having found my previous efforts to be difficult yet profoundly rewarding, I was very much looking forward to the valuable insights I believed I'd gain.

On day one, I had full confidence in my tenacity – so committed to doing the work that I chose to remove the mirror from my bathroom. If I truly wanted to turn my focus inward, I felt I had to do away with external reflections; as though the mirror were somehow to blame for my wayward attention.

It was a good idea, in theory – the pairing of my visit to the barber with such rigid self-examination. My intentions were admirable, yet – having never before experienced the acute sensitivity of an exposed scalp – I greatly underestimated the challenges that lay ahead.


z-vipassana-15b.jpg

z-vipassana-10.jpg

z-vipassana-13.jpg


Creative Distraction

It was mid-December when the course began. The weather was mild; a touch chilly at night, but comfortable enough.

Though bearable at first, temperatures dropped significantly as the days passed. Traveling only with clothes meant for hot climates, I was ill-prepared and unusually distracted by my increasing discomfort.

While generally a model student, this time – I just couldn't do it.

Despite wrapping myself in layers of thin scarves, I was losing precious warmth through my freshly bald skull. And – try as I might – I was incapable of thwarting the relentlessly hungry, ever-present mosquitos; they simply drank their fill of my apparently delicious scalp, entirely undeterred by the flimsy fabrics I covered it with.

Rather than 'just observing' these unwelcome sensations, my mind continuously wandered to cozier places. I spent countless hours imagining my ideal coat – fantasizing about its warmth – buttoning myself into it during the coldest days – pretending my chilly noggin was wrapped safely in its soft, generous hood. It was all about the hood, really.

As the course came to a close just after Boxing Day, my hair had grown just enough to be soft to the touch. The sun was shining, yet the crisp air was unyielding in its bite, and the jacket...would not let go its steady grip on my mind.


z-headshave-35.jpg


Finding Dada

Back in Varanasi, the weather remained unseasonably brisk and foggy. As I battled the cold, looking rather ridiculous in socks and flip-flops (my only shoes), my idea became an obesssion, compelling me to begin searching the old city, rudimentary sketch in hand.

By mid-January, I'd found a tiny shop owned by a kindly gentleman named Dada. It was little more than a modest stall, really – just a few meters deep and no more than a few across – with bolts of fabric lining the walls, cushions strewn about the carpeted floor and a small table with an old Singer sewing machine near the front; a wordless declaration of the shop's purpose.

Dada was charmingly unapologetic about his higher than average prices, believing, without question, that his tailor – a quiet, exceptionally skilled 4th generation craftsman – was the most capable in all of Varanasi. So steadfast was his conviction, he made me believe it, too.

For several weeks, I spent my days in his shop. I'd linger there for hours, drinking chai and chatting with Dada – learning bits of Hindi – coming to know the smells and sounds of that narrow alleyway.



A Jacket Is Born

I so enjoyed those weeks with Dada – choosing fabrics and buttons and working out subtle details – watching his tailor attentively stitching – marveling as, little by little, my jacket was brought to life.

The design process was relaxed and effortless – simply another means of creative expression, as whimsical and unforced as the sketches that filled my notebook. I was amused, more than anything, by the notion that – what had so recently been little more than a fanciful concept was now a delightfully wearable reality.

The physical manifestation far exceeded my imaginings; a beautiful work of art made of different weights of raw silk, a hidden layer of wool for extra warmth and the embroidered hem of a sari adorning the lining's edge.

Everywhere I went, strangers stopped me to admire my unusual coat, wanting to know where they could get one. More than happy to support Dada, I sent everyone to him...'Just ask for 'Zipporah's jacket!'

In the weeks following the completion of my coat, quite to my surprise, Dada received orders for no fewer than 7 more. Of course, each 'replica' had some flair that made it uniquely its own. No two shared the same fabrics nor colors, yet the basic design was repeated with each one.

Though flattered by the consistently positive response, I had no interest in turning a profit from it, nor did I foresee a continuation of that 'I-must-have-it' reaction.


orig-Z-jack.jpg


'You really should sell that...'

I figured the jacket's appeal was isolated to fellow travelers who preferred a uniquely 'indo-western' style. Yet, upon my return from the subcontinent, I experienced the same phenomenon – in Vancouver, BC and San Francisco – with men and women alike – people fascinated enough to stop me on the street to inquire about my jacket.

It happened so often that I actually began to wonder if some sneaky friends were playing tricks on me, sending random people to ask about my coat as they watched from somewhere nearby, giggling at my repeatedly surprised expression!

People often suggested I make more to sell – a notion I didn't seriously consider...until a unique opportunity presented itself in early 2013.

I'll share that story – the tale of how my jacket evolved into a clothing line – in Part 3. Please stay tuned!


WearZ-FBcover1.jpg

raindrop-promo-thin.jpg

DP-promo-stella.jpg

Sort:  

One must sit for 10.5 hours a day, scanning the body in repeated, shifting patterns, becoming increasingly aware of even the most subtle of sensations – training the mind to simply observe rather than react – to be swayed neither by craving nor aversion; the two primary causes of suffering, according to Gautama Buddha.

I can't imagine myself doing that, but i might want to try it though, you are quite impressive when it comes to your patience and struggle, but i don't know how this benefits? mindfulness or it might be enlightenment.

It does require a fair amount of patience and determination. The benefit, absolutely, is the deep understanding that no outside person nor circumstance is ever responsible for your suffering. This doesn't mean that horrible things don't or won't happen, only – how you respond is entirely up to you.

Holy shit @zipporah. I just keep finding out you are more and more badass. That is not just a jacket. That is an experience. I can almost feel the creative energy of your jacket coming to life.

When you mentioned watching it come to life that really made me smile. That is my favorite part of creating; watching ideas and raw materials turn into concrete things.

When I was a young boy, one of my mother's friends came over with a drawing and it sorta blew my mind. It was my first personal experience with art and hyper-realism.

I remember being completely amazed by the idea that he had taken a piece of paper and a pencil and turned it into this. I didn't let go of that thought really ever.

You never really know where interest and opportunity will take you. Thanks for sharing this with us.

You're too kind, @art-mess. <3

I appreciate how much you've connected with that part of this story. It really did come as such a surprise to me – hence the title of this series. I suppose it's the mark of a truly creative mind that I was simply reaching for solutions rather than trying to create something special.

I love that story of little you, so impressed by someone's art. I had similar reactions to some of the artwork my mother, @faune, made when I was young. She was certainly my earliest artistic influence.

ps – Thank you for your wonderful 'shill' of this post today – I was sincerely touched.

z-vipassana-34.jpg

Thanks for sharing your experience and your "journey" so throughly. I am not sure I would have the discipline for it though in my way I think I have moments of enlightenment. The pics od Dada and shop are lovely. My favourite though is your barefoot cover, it is so frail, so exposed guess "exposed to and vulnerable" yet strong to try such exercise of will.
Love the coat, totally my style

You may be surprised what you're capable of. I wasn't sure, at first, that I could do it. Though it wasn't easy, by any stretch, I learned a lot by simply showing up each day and breathing my way through it.

I'm so glad you appreciate that image. I wasn't sure about using it as the main one, but I favored it for the same reasons you do. There's a soft vulnerability to it. Those, of course, aren't my feet but those of a fellow meditator. ;)

And, YES. You would look so beautiful in one of my jackets. ;)

Such a wonderful story of the coat! And what a fabulous, unique style! I am not at all surprised that your design drew so much attention! Your time spent with Dada sipping chai and learning Hindi must have been amazing! I am so anxious for the next installment! 😊

Sigh – sitting in that little shop with Dada really was special. I miss it.

The response to the jacket was so unexpected. Perhaps that seems odd, but...I truly wasn't thinking about anything other than how it would feel to wear it.

Let's hope the final chapter is equally interesting! ;)

That coat Rocks, I love your style....would totally wear this <3

Thanks, dear! I do so love this jacket, too. I don't often wear it – a bit too delicate for rainy Portland – but I don't imagine I'll ever give it away.

What a wonderful story @zipporah, thanks for sharing.
As I read your words, they transported me back to Rishikesh and my stay there, then onto Khopangan where did my first Vipassana in a Buddhist Monastery and finally to the Oneness University north of Mumbai, where I underwent an amazing 21 day silent retreat.
Your coat carries your sacred energy from the inner journeying you have been on!
More please!

Wow! 21 days?? Deep bows – that reveals incredible depth and commitment. I've had a hard enough time with 10! And, thank you for saying that – I do believe the jacket makes such an impression because of how it came into being.

Thank you.
Onwards, Inwards and Upwards!!

Such a pleasure to hear you speak on the Steemit Ramble! SO grateful to have stumbled across another being in the fashion industry on this platform. What's the name of your clothing line? I love that each jacket is one of a kind. It was a pleasant surprise to come on and see your location as well. I am also living in the rose city. Beautiful and touching story, I will have to go back and read part one now! Looking forward to part 3 very much so. Sending love and blessings your way on this Thursday ♡ Followed and will upvote.

Aww! Another Portlandian! Awesome! My line is simply called Zipporah – my etsy is Wear Zipporah. It was only the first wave of replicas, made by my tailor in Varanasi, that were each different. As you'll hear in the final part of this story, they evolved into something quite different.

Also – spoiler alert – the inspiration to share this story came from my recent decision to retire my line. Sigh. It's been an adventure.

What's the name of your line?

What a great real-life story!!!!!!!!!

and yes, the hood on that coat is to die for!! the whole coat but your hoods are !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Guess you were meant to learn how to make the perfect coat that year :D

You're adorable! Even in your comments, I can hear your giggle! ;)

Isn't it amazing how an entire coat can be built according to its hood?? I certainly never imagined so! Alas – Gotta have a good hood. <3

That's really quite the adventure that you went on, and I really like the design of the jacket.

Thank you, dear @Amberyooper. :) It certainly was an adventure!

Really cute jacket. No wonder you kept getting orders for it! And I like the name The Accidental Designer for a clothing line. :-)

Ha! That would've been cute, yes! Alas...the clothing line that was born of this was simply called 'Zipporah'. ;)

'Zipporah' is a cool name for a clothing line, too. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62432.37
ETH 3003.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78