The Accidental Designer, Part 1 – A Strike at Vanity

in #philosophy6 years ago

Uncomfortable Edges

My venture into clothing design happened quite by accident during my year long, solo journey through India and Nepal. The story begins with a choice I made – perhaps lacking wisdom in its timing, yet ultimately fortuitous in its consequence.

In December of 2009 – just a few months into my trip – I boldly handed 35 rupees to a barber and sat stoically as he cleanly shaved my head.

Why? – you may ask. It was a (not so) small strike at vanity.

As a woman, so much of my identity is tangled in my tresses. The length and style of my chosen variations has always reflected something about who I believe I am – more importantly...who I want to be.

As well, I've long believed that hair holds memory, retaining some residue of our emotional experience. During moments of exceptional difficulty in my life, I've often made drastic changes to my hair – usually by chopping most of it off.

This time was no different; I was on the heels of a divorce – trying to remember who I was by confronting my deeply entrenched ideas of self – exploring the uncomfortable edges – challenging myself to grow in unfamiliar ways.


zippy-shave.jpg

Just before I met the razor, and 10 minutes later, as the shape of my skull was revealed. photos by Jake Cahill


A Cleansing Pilgrimage

I'd traveled to Bodh Gaya to sit for 10 days of silent meditation at a Vipassana center there, landing a few days early to spend time at the Mahabodhi Temple.

The city was a sea of saffron as thousands of monks gathered, chanting mantras and claiming space for the Dalai Lama's upcoming visit. I found it to be a bit like a Buddhist Disneyland, yet there was something undeniably special about the place. It was peaceful there, even if a bit overcrowded.

I suppose I was inspired, in part, by the beautifully shorn heads all around me. I'd been toying with the idea of shaving my own for a couple weeks and decided that Bodh Gaya was the perfect place to do so.

I was terrified, which only confirmed the importance of going through with it. I don't think I could've done it without the support of my friend Jake, who kindly held my camera and honored the occasion for me.


head-shavev2.jpg

So grateful to have these photos. Thank you, Jake – wherever you are.


How It Felt

I penned a journal entry that night while sitting in that ancient spot, under that beautiful tree. I think it describes the experience better than I can after so much time has passed...


Shadows pass over these pages – monotonous voices chant continuously – birds, in evening song, join the holy chorus. Beads pass through fingers – over fingertips – prayers whispered into malas – palms pressed together – eyes closed – sitting – walking soft circles around the temple, past and under the bodhi tree. Gold leaf and kisses commemorating this spot – under this sacred tree, where Gautama, the Buddha, reached enlightenment. The energy here is heavily spiritual...palpable...comforting. I seek my own enlightenment beneath these branches – an 'unburdening' – a liberation – a release – a letting go – a shedding of identity.

With shaky hands and rapidly beating heart I lifted myself into the barber's chair – a sudden upwelling of emotion put a lump in my throat and sent a single tear streaming down my left cheek as I clumsily braided a handful of hair. I closed my eyes as a dull pair of heavy scissors separated the braid from my head, sealing my fate and steeling my resolve. With a straight razor scraping over every inch of my scalp, I listened to the sound of transformation – my hair falling in colorful swirls – down my chest – over my shoulders – onto the dusty, cement floor – each strand carrying with it some piece of my imagined sense of self – my identity coiling itself within my severed locks.

I've felt light-headed, quite literally, and ever so slightly dizzy as the subtlest of breezes runs over my naked scalp – as new sensations ripple in waves from my forehead to the nape of my neck – hot, then cold, then hot again. Feeling both liberated and lost – unsure who I'll find under the easy disguise of hair – eradicating vanity – challenging myself to just 'be' – with bare feet and bald head. Can I learn to love myself without mirrors and makeup and hairbrush? Can I walk confidently without the surface identity I've always known?

Clean slate – clear canvas – I begin anew...


z-headshave-38.jpg

Varanasi – 2 weeks later. Self-portrait


The Shape of Me

Having a naked scalp took some getting used to. Every now and then I'd catch my shadow and my breath, not recognizing the shape of my own head. Gazing into a mirror and clearly seeing my unframed face upon emerging from Vipassana was shocking and awkward at first, but I eventually relaxed into it.

The new growth was soft and cute, showing me the pattern that had always been hidden underneath. It grew in a sweet spiral, meeting at my crown in the funniest convergence of directions that stuck through every scarf I wore – like golden grass on silken lawns.

On the practical side, it was so much easier to travel without having to worry about my hair – without the added need for hair-related toiletries. A side benefit was also a great reduction in unwanted attention – I'd been getting a bit too much of that from locals. Turns out they weren't so fond of bald ladies. I was just fine with that.

I felt lighter somehow – weightless and strong – powerfully fragile and cautiously beautiful.


Having never before experienced the acute sensitivity of a bald scalp, I greatly underestimated the challenge I'd created for myself by entering into Vipassana with a freshly shaved head. That choice led me in directions I simply never would have imagined. Stay tuned for Part 2 as the story continues...


raindrop-promo-thin.jpg

DP-promo-stella.jpg

Sort:  

Oh my word, Zippy - with every word I read and every image I view, it becomes clearer to me that you and I are 'sisters from another mother'! 😁 I have never met another woman who shaved her head completely bald (through choice) before!

You wrote about this experience so eloquently. I found it incredibly moving. I had very similar insights to your own and a very similar impetus for chopping the locks, which I did back in 2005. It was so liberating and so terrifying. I asked my fella to shave off my curls for me and it was a huge moment of trust and vulnerability. It was a vital step in reclaiming my authenticity and setting myself free from vanity (which, let's be honest is usually a mask for insecurity and a seeking of external approval). It was at this time that I also stopped using make-up altogether - I'd been transitioning towards that steadily since the birth of my Raven in 2002. Prior to that, I'd been one of those grrrls who can't open the door to the postman without full-face makeup on!

Aaaaanyway, I LOVE YOU, Zippy - you make me smile, laugh, cry, dance, celebrate, wonder, ponder, and I am so glad your friend captured these amazing images of you parting ways with your comfort zone - they are wonderful and tender and...joyful! Resteeming in celebration of your courageous uniqueness and your beauty and your fabulous freckles, which are a delight and a work of art in and of themselves. Losing the locks really brings them to the foreground, along with that beautiful skull of yours. (I'm guessing you were carried a lot as a babe, not lying down in a crib?)

To finish, here's a shot of MY spiral - soul sisters, for sure:

jay-shaved-spiral.jpg

💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖💖

Wow @jaytaylor – you always make me smile, but you've truly outdone yourself this time. <3

Thank you for sharing more of your own story – I do love the parallels you've drawn between us. It's not a thing every woman imagines, yet it felt like such an imperative right-of-passage – a thing I knew I had to do someday. It taught me a lot. Though it took a moment to get used to, I had zero regrets.

Your spiral is beautiful! So perfectly swirly. :)

steemit-posts-12.jpg

(((((((((((Zippy)))))))))))

Omg Zippers... I just got goosebumps, how do you do this to me... I wrote something today about cages, and here you are talking about exiting yours... intense....

<3

I must be in your head, @meno dear. ;) Goosebumps – appropriate considering how the air felt on my head. So many chills! Thanks for the updoots and resteem! <3

I remember this moment.. and you. Always beautiful

Thank you, love. <3 How cool that we've known each other for so long! Love ya big time, my sparrow friend.

In light of the understanding you probably received after doing this, I am sure you will think me shallow and vain for saying that this was an incredibly brave and frightening thing to do! OMG! You are one of the most amazing people I think I have ever met, and I love how you tackle each stage of your life with such introspection, passion, and aplomb. Wow... 💖

_PYPT-ThanksForSharing.png

I don't think you even the slightest bit shallow, my dear. It was scary and took a whole lotta courage to make myself sit in that chair. • I'm humbled by your sweet reflections, @thekittygirl. Thank you for seeing me.

You have a beautiful head shape and it suits you very well too, somehow you look like very spiritual. I confess I wouldn't be able to, when I was a child my grandmother sold my hair for wigs (trauma) and I really don't cut it, it doesn't grow much, but I don't cut it either. I last went to a hairdresser at 8 LOL. But if you needed too, you had to

Awww, @yidneth! I'm sorry to hear that about your granny. :( I can't imagine. • I realize this isn't for everyone, but it was a great experiment for me. Not sure I'll ever need or want to do it again, but I'm glad for the experience.

It was something you felt like needing and you were brave to do it, I guess it was liberating. 💞 You are beautiful shaven, bold and vulnerable
at the same time. 💞 Childhood little trauma, reason I will end up like a moonhaired grandma with a huuuuge bun lol hopefully.

Thank you, sweetness. I did feel beautiful, though I wasn't expecting to.

WOw! WHat an amazing piece about an amazing experience of amazing bravery for an amazing healing.
I really felt like I was there with you and sometimes as you through reading this.
What a remarkable human being you are!
Namaste

So much love to you, dearest @nathankaye. <3 Your empathic nature is much appreciated – always. xo!

Holy Fishizzels - How stunning is this!!!!

Ah, clearly your beautiful locks could not remotely compare to all the beauty YOU radiate from within.
What an amazing journey indeed!

Thank you, dear @breezin'! I sincerely appreciate that reflection. I certainly don't always feel like what I exude is beautiful, however warm my intentions. Best any of can do is try, right? <3

Be the best person you can be.
And what I have seen - is that your brilliant heart outweighs whatever you consider as not so beautiful ...

ps...you said Fishizzels. I think I love you. ;)

Much Love Right Back At You!!!

I came here to let you know that your pirate booty is in your account! and ended up staying to read this because I never got to it from PYPT!!! What a powerful story!!! I'm so glad that you got to have these beautiful photos to memorialize the occasion! and your journal - absolutely stunning language :)

I'm glad to know I touched you – with both my story and writing. <3 I hope you come back for part 2. ;)

you are beautiful with no hair

I have been meaning to go to Vipaasana for a a while now. This inspires me :)
This was so well put, I was rivetted throughout the article ✨😊
Reminded me of my bald head days when I shaved it off with my 1 year old during his mundan ceremony.

Yes! You should just do it! I'm glad I've inspired you. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62487.83
ETH 3340.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46