Would You Enjoy Living In A Metaverse?

in #philosophy7 years ago (edited)

Would You Enjoy Living In A Metaverse?


"A virtual-reality space in which users can interact with a computer-generated environment and other users." Wikipedia


static1.squarespace.jpg
Photo from Google images

Would you enjoy living in a metaverse? A life where you choose your reality at any time of the day? Where you are the designer of your own destiny? Where you're in complete control, yes, a life where you are the hero? A life where you have the power to make everything be like whatever you want it to be? And be whomever you want to be?
Through mixed reality tools it will feel real, you can go wherever you want whenever with whomever. Sounds like magic right? Well, futurists says it's a certain probability.
What would such a society be like? When the whole world gets connected to the cloud and come online in such a metaverse? Will it set humanity free? Will we no longer be trapped in our misery when we can fully express and be ourselves?
We will be able to escape our bodily limitations, yes, escape our biological jail.

Well, whatever makes life more exciting and feeds my curiosity I'm up for it. And If we are going to live for a looong, long time, even turn immortal it really has to happen. If not we might even die from boredom or commit suicide because of it. And we also need to get out in space, manipulate matter and crack all the codes of science then life is about to get really really exciting.

We can't prove that we aren't live in a metaverse already, can we? Perhaps we are and have always been just software? That this what we think is real isn't. That is all just simulation made by an advanced civilisations long time ago.
Well, we wont fint out before we get smart enough, will we?

Science is magic, magic is science.

What is real? And is real and reality actually a thing? If it's all just simulated isn't that just reality then? What defines reality must come up for debate sooner or later. What if all there is is a simulation? Or must there somewhere be something out there which is not then?

What are your thoughts? Would you enjoy living in a metaverse? Do you think it's all just a simulation, that we are all computerised? Curious to hear your thoughts!

See you around <3


As always,

A big thank you for reading!

Love,
@yrja

Want to learn more about me? Read my #introduceyourself post here.

Btw, I'd really love to get to know you so feel free to drop me a comment below or add me on facebook! :D

Watch some of my videos here
Trying out a driverless car
What does the future hold for young ambitious people?
What is aging anyway?
Will Robots Replace Doctors?

Sort:  

Yes, I want to live there !!

Haha me too! Thanks for dropping me a comment :D

Thank too! :D

Hmm this is pretty much a crossover between The Matrix and Surrogate!

I think reality is a very relative thing. Even within tbis world my (perception of) reality can differ a lot from yours. And if you bring context into the equation is raises complexity even more. And thén you ask the question, what about a virtual or alternate one? Well even there it boils down to perception. For one such alternate reality might become their primary reality while for others it might be nothing more then a weekend escape. This also makes me think of the movie Inception, in which people voluntarily go into deep dreams to perceive the reality of living 3 years in one night.

Personally I think no matter how good the alternate reality becomes, we will always have to deal with our current one. Even though this one might or might not already be a simulation...

Thank you for dropping me such a wonderful comment! It is a very relative thing totally.. I really love playing around with it...! <3 Hehe love your thoughts, I have absolutely no idea how life will be if I get to live.. forever he he he or at least for a couple of hundred years..
See you around!

Oeh, taking your earlier post about immortality into account and mixing that with an alternate reality... Now thát becomes interesting!

An eternity in an alternate reality 🤔

Almost sounds like a cool title for another philosophical blog post!

Oh for sure!!! Thanks for the tips! Super cool title and I guess that could be a super cool post. Perhaps I should write it he he! Thanks for commenting and sharing thoughts Love that :D Have a wonderful day!

Nice posting. Upvoted and followed! :-)

Yes I have definitely already considered the possibility that we are already living in a simulated reality.

People talk about the possible future of AI and the question of whether once completely self-aware it will have a soul... But my question is, are we already AI and just don't realize it.

Thanks for sharing! :-)

Yes, we might already be AI, at least if we are simulated... If all this simply is computerised by someone/thing else we are pure.. AI... Just with limited capacity.. And I believe that soul and consciousness is a part of it. So people arguing about that AI can never have soul, empathy and consciousness blabla I actually believe is wrong. But that time will tell!! J Thanks for commenting and sharing thoughts, much appreciated :D Have a nice day! :D

Thank you for the great feedback on my comment.

I noticed many years ago when I was still just a kid that so many things seemed to just be redone and redone and redone, over and over and over, and I began to question the idea of infinite creativity and the concept of infinity itself.

I'm still questioning it. In so many ways the world I see around me is like a movie remake, done over and over. Seemingly different players etc but the same concepts and stories over and over and over...

I may be mistaken but in my observation it really seems that this world is finite.

Yes right now it is, because we are not smart enough.. But I think with AI, we can see a major shift. We might not understand it all but at least we will get an upgrade on life... We never know whats outside the universe but perhaps one day we will know... that we were all just living in... Westworld ha haha

Thanks again for your very Intelligent response!
You are now officially my favorite connection on here! :-)

Glad to hear that :D There are some smart people around in this community! Thats why I like it here :D And thank you for your reflective comments :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63207.78
ETH 3068.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87