Introverts are not a disease!

in #philosophy6 years ago

Many of my introvert colleagues, complain about all kinds of embarrassing scenes during Chinese New Year.

Every time I went to dinner with my parents, I was rushed to toast with the elders, the scene is really awkward.

Sitting beside me is my aunt's daughter, who just graduated from college, the toast was as long as the movie and without duplication.

When it is my turn, I picked up the glass and froze, the words that came out from me was "um ah ah" and nothing else, the situation is very awkward.

At this time, my mother will help me and said: "Ah, my child, everything is good, the only bad, is that he is more introverted."


source

Every time I have a reunion party or a friend's dinner, I'm always the silent one.

Watching everyone having fun drinking and chatting, I sometimes can enjoy myself alone.

During a classmate reunion dinner, the monitor suddenly called me and asked me to talk about my work.

When I saw that so many pairs of eyes were looking at me, I suddenly panic.

I don’t know where to put my awkward hands and feet, don’t know what type of expression should I show.

Then the monitor incredibly laugh and said: “So many years, you still haven’t changed this introverted character!”

After seeing a lot of colleagues sympathetic, I found that this is really a typical pragmatic society, the personality bias!

Is it wrong to be introverted in this world? Is it a disease?
Is it an unforgivable sin or a harmful flaw? I don't think so.

But there are always people, dubbed "EQ," perhaps "for your own good" as the basis, judge others character.
To be honest, there is only suitable character, no good or bad.

Introverts are not a disease, forcing an introvert to become extrovert is a disease.


source

As a child, you do not like to speak at school; the teacher will write down criticism: “I hope you can become extrovert.”

When you are young, you always alone, your parents will complain: "This child's character is too introverted, is there any way to improve?"

After work, you do not like to participate in a variety of social activities; then some colleagues said: He really tried so hard, but unfortunately he is too introverted.

So when this kind of negative evaluation, after repeated and asserted, you started to become inferior, anxious, and panic.

Because the word "introverted," you have become a kind of inborn flaw, became the eccentric, depressed, the image label of the antisocial in this society.

But is it really so?

British psychologist Laney, through the Personality Questionnaire Survey, the introverted personality described as:
Quiet, detached, introspective, like to be alone, like to keep a certain distance from others (except friends).

It is also stated that the energy of extrovert comes from the outside world, and the introvert's energy comes from their inner world.

An introvert's power source relies on thought, emotion, or idea.
They attach importance to their subjective world, good contemplation, good introspection, and often in silence and wordless, self-empowerment.

Laney even wrote a book, called "The Introvert Advantage," in order to balance the world, comment on the attitude and evaluation of different personalities.


source

So when you're used to silence, when you like to be alone, when you don't want to go to a noisy rally, when you just want to get along better with yourself. You as an introvert still can live a unique self and shine.

Because you just choose to face the world with a more authentic self. You need to know that introverts are not a disease!

The biggest challenge in life is being honest with yourself in a world that tries to shape you.

I also always believe that introversion is not a disadvantage, is not morbid, it is a common character.

I also sincerely hope that introvert can also become excellent, introvert can also live a better self.

You are still here? Great! Feel free to check out the contest and participate because you still stand a chance to win!

Link to Contest

follow

PREVIOUS RELATED POST
Why do we like to blame the people around us?
Always choose to keep growing
Why do you always miss the chance?
You think you're the only one with procrastination? You're wrong!
Growth is the process of turning the cry into silence
You care too much because you are too free

Sort:  

Very nice post. Thanks for sharing 😊
I’m following you now!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63678.85
ETH 2623.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85