You think you're the only one with procrastination? You're wrong!

in #philosophy6 years ago

I have a lot to say about procrastination and executive power.

The reason is that I am a serious procrastinator, I can understand the struggle between "do" or "not do," and time to time defeated by my inferiority complex.

How to know whether your execution is weak and have procrastination?


source

Look at yourself before you go to bed every night. See if you had completed the list of plans; see if you go to bed in a relaxed and satisfying state or with anxiety and remorse state.

People who are weak at execution tend to think about the things that are not completed during the day, and then impetuous, guilt. The next day still repeat the previous day rhythm, thinking about will do it after two hours, will do it in the afternoon, will do it after dinner.

In the long run, in the heart, formed a sense of resistance to the task, become more and more arrears and anxious, the more anxious you are, the lazier you become. This is the realistic portrayal of procrastination.

Take me as an example, I used to take part in an academic paper contest, the form of the competition is to do powerpoint report, the deadline is set on 18th of the month. I plan to start at 10th and then finish it in two days. Because the next few days, I will be busy practicing debate and classes, so only can do it during the spare time.

On the 10th, because that day, there are extra classes and club meeting, I completely forgot about the task. When I get back to my dormitory around 10 pm, I just remembered, but I was too tired, so thinking it’s fine to delay one day, will do more tomorrow, and then rest assured and sleep.

On the 11th, the first thing I do when I woke up in the morning is switch on the computer. Using the booting time, I went downstairs to buy breakfast, and eat before I start. So while having my breakfast, I played some mobile game, surfed Facebook and watched some videos.

After having my breakfast, I found time passed quickly, some anxious, then hurriedly launched the power point, followed by Spotify, while listening to songs, the lyrics and MV appear in my head.

In this way, after the playlist looped for a few times, it is already 11:30 in the morning.

My brain suddenly switched to “foodie mode,” if you don’t let me eat, I won’t work. I don’t have any idea to design the content; then I asked my roommate to have lunch together.

We had our lunch for around one hour.

Back to the computer again, I realized that I had done nothing the whole morning, I started to feel anxious and guilt arises spontaneously, complaining about my efficiency is too low, I slowly unwilling to continue to do the power point, may be worried that the afternoon is still inefficient, may be tired of this boring task.

I think since I can’t do anything now, why not take a nap and do it with a higher vitality after wake up.

Just like that, I slept until six o'clock in the evening, woke up by a phone call, from my friend, ask me to join him for dinner, and when I came back, it’s already nine o'clock. I looked at the computer with the blank powerpoint, my heart regrets extremely, two days have passed, I had done nothing, let alone practice debate.


source

In my heart, I feel more disgusted by this task, don't want to do, but also do not know how to start. I have no clue, so wash rinse hurriedly go to bed.

The third day, the fourth day, and the fifth day, I also live in struggle, with no inspiration, and also doesn’t like the feeling of escaping. In such anxiety impetuous mood, the completion of the task volume did not exceed half of the total task; the quality is also terrible.

On the sixth day, I realized that I could not delay it on anymore, and I had to do it. I then force myself to finish it, or I can’t do other things. I put all the thoughts into it, don’t think about how bad it will be, and don't think whether I can win it, abandon all distractions, only concentrate on the screen.

Looking information on the internet, column framework, just like that, a picture of idea slowly completed, slowly no longer anxious and impetuous, until the completion of a sigh of relief.

In my heart, the task that can be done in one day can delay until the sixth day, procrastination is really terrible, but that "start" or "not start" struggle is more terrifying.


source

This is something that happened to me, until today, it's still happening. I wrote this because I wanted to tell you, you are not alone, those confused time you experienced, I also experienced, everyone will experience it. There is a way to get rid of procrastination, which is action.

I want to give you some advice on execution and procrastination, and I hope I can help you in those painful times:

You can't be doing two things at once

As I mentioned earlier that I was doing the powerpoint while listening to music, which would lead to inefficiency, unless you are really good at multitasking, be sure to do everything wholeheartedly and devote all your thoughts to the present so that you can improve your attention and make things more complete.

If the efficiency comes up, the time to finish this matter will be shortened a lot, things that need the whole morning to finish may only need few hours to complete.

Take action Immediately

Do what you want to do immediately, you don’t have to weigh the pros and cons to do it. This will only make you more than worry about the results. Many people choose to delay, and the reasons are mostly afraid to start.

If you are always thinking, even if the task you do may not be able to complete by today or in the future the result is not what you want, then simply don’t start, then you will never get the results you want. If you try to start, the possibility to get the result you wanted is still very huge.


source

Learn to Reject

Most of the time we delay and not start may be caused by the external environment. For example, when you are going to study, a friend wants you to play ball, you are too shy to reject, so you go along.

You want to study but because some outside factors cause you failed to start the task you set for yourself, so forming the procrastination. If next time you are ready to carry out the task, if there is a phone call or friends ask you to go out, learn to reject, do not delay for the so-called dignity.

After that powerpoint incident, whenever I am doing something important, I will mute my phone to prevent external factors disturb me, and then reply to them after I am done.

Be confident

When you are doing something, try not to have any psychological burden, do not think of retreat when you just started, if you think so, you have failed most of the part. The mood and mentality are very important; you have to always maintain self-confidence so that the chance to complete one thing will increase, believe in yourself is the most basic ability.

Before doing anything, I would habitually think, if I don’t do well, I should not be successful, practice shows that the more I think like this, the result is worse. It really is.

On my first day of my university, the president told us that in all of our abilities, executive power is the most important.

A man always thinks but not do; then he must have nothing. But a person, if he just does without thinking, he will be more or less have some achievements. For successful people, they are good at execution and good at thinking, so to achieve the unity of thought and work, it will be able to go farther.


source

I don't think procrastination can be changed at once; it takes a lot of tempering. You need to know yourself enough to motivate yourself to take the seemingly hardest first step, saying that when you decide to travel, you are already halfway through the journey. So when you take the first step, you may have conquered yourself.

There are things that others can’t help you, you can only try and challenge, but when you really get rid of procrastination, you will find the world suddenly enlightened, the key is that you need to have courage.

follow

PREVIOUS RELATED POST
Growth is the process of turning the cry into silence
You care too much because you are too free
Don't forget yourself for someone else
I work hard so that I don’t have regret
Trying to achieve your dreams?
Ten things I need to remind myself

Sort:  

Greetings @walkinharmony! Your post was chosen at random and was resteemed as part of Shareables' campaign. Enjoy your free resteem!

If you wish to stop receiving this comment, please do unfollow us.

By upvoting this notification, you're supporting our campaign in Steemit. For more information about our campaign, click here!

@Shareables, we resteem anything we find shareable. Always strive for quality content. Go on express and harness your blogging potential!

God bless from us @Shareables!

This post has been curated by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60913.22
ETH 2643.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58