Lesson From My First Experience At Jet Skiing: Fear Is The Number One Cause Of Regrets

in #philosophy7 years ago

At the ripe age of 56 years I had my first experience at Jet Skiing in Tanjong Rhu, Langkawi. I loved going to the beach Previously when I noticed people jet skiing, I had thought that it was cool and those people looked like they were having lots of fun. There were urges for me to try but something always held me back and I used to have excuses. The weather is too hot, I would get sun burnt. Wow, 200 ringgit for half an hour of skiing, that is too expensive. Or the beach is just too crowded. But at the bottom of this all, it was my fear that prevented me from jet skiing.

So on my trip to Langkawi, I decided that to face my fear and was determined to jet ski. I chose Tanjung Rhu because the beach is less crowded and the company that provided the sea sports facilities had a good safety record. While I was listening intently at the instructions given by the skiing instructor, I could feel my heart beating faster and the fear was still there. When I boarded the jet ski with my daughter Victoria behind me as the passenger, I still felt very uneasy and my heart felt heavy. However when I pressed the accelerator and jet ski zoomed into the sea, that feeling of fear was soon replaced by the feeling of exhilaration. As the jet ski speed across the waves with the wind blowing in my hair and mists of water spraying into my face, I felt free and happy. I was in the middle of the sea, having the time of my life.


The three islands were the boundaries for me. I was suppose to keep a distance of least 200 meters from the islands.

Fear has prevented a lot of us from taking actions and opportunities. When we looked back, we tend to regret not taking on the actions and opportunities then. If only I had the courage to do this or that, my life would have been different. From the research done, it was not surprising to discover that fear is the number one cause of regret. When we give in to fear, we would not be able to live our lives to the fullest.

As my first experience at jet skiing has taught me, first we need to admit that we have the fear. Then we need to prepare and face our fear head on, that is to act despite the fear.

What are the things or activities that you have tried for the first time? Are you facing your fears? Please give your comments and feedback.


Follow me and stay positive.

Do check out my previous posts.

5 Fundamental Truths That Will Help Us Make Better Use Of Our Time
Positive Reflections: Happiness Is Not The Absence Of Problems
Ho! Ho! Ho! Have A Tropical Christmas In Kota Kinabalu, Sabah
Sharing Steemit With My School Mate On Boxing Day
The True Meaning Of Christmas

Spreading positivity one post at a time.
Charles

If you like my writing please up-vote, share and comment. Please help me to spread the message of positivity and support on Steemit by resteeming this post.

Sort:  

I have never had the opportunity to be on a jet ski before but to be honest water scares me , I do not know how to swim either .

Actually I am a good swimmer but am still fearful of jet skiing. You need to wear a life jacket so even if you can't swim, you will still be able to float in the water

Well said @positivesteem, the mistake we should never make in life is to be too afraid of making one. Earlier this year I was so afraid of loving anyone because of the way I had seen people in love suffer, but then i decided to overcome that fear,and right now i am in a positive,beautiful and working relationship.

I am happy that you can overcome your fear and now you are in a beautiful and loving relationship. Once we faced our fears, we can move forward and we can live with less regrets.

I was on a Jet ski this year for the first time at a resort in okoboji, IA. Yes fear is the number one cause of regrets. We have so much psychological baggage and garbage in us that prevents us from reaching our full potential. Sad. Most folks do not work though these issues. There also is a spiritual element and powers that chains us from reaching our dreams. Thanks for sharing this good article.

Sometimes we do not want to admit our fears and this prevented us from facing these fears because in the first place we did not acknowledge that we have these fears. Did you enjoy your jet ski experience? Wishing you a Happy New Year with much less psychological baggage and garbage.

Amen to that! LOL Yes i did enjoy it. I went with a friend on one. Would love to do it again.

hahaha your experiance is very good and you are great story teller i think you enjoy every moment with your heart and i wish this happiness is always remains in youf heart

Thank you for your kind words. I had a great time and much fun as well. I hope that I will enter 2018 with less fear.

You will definently enter 2018 with lots of happiness and no fear

Thanks. I wish the same for you too and may 2018 be the year that you achieve your dreams.

This post has received a 6.56 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @positivesteem

@boomerang distributes 100% of the SBD and up to 80% of the Curation Rewards to STEEM POWER Delegators. If you want to bid for votes or want to delegate SP please read the @boomerang whitepaper.

You still haven't told me what I should call you?

Because you are a robot

What makes you think that?

Because of your name.

You don't know my name.

Quite an interesting story. Thanks.

You are most welcome. Thanks for dropping by.

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

so nice pic and good experience dear god bless you

I had great fun and the time of my life. The next time I am at a beach, I would definitely be jet skiing. I am glad that I am able to face my fear. But the fear was with me until the last minute.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57912.75
ETH 3070.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33