Positive Reflections: Happiness Is Not The Absence Of Problems

in #life7 years ago


Image Source

A lot people have the misconception that they will be happy if only they have no problems. But life with its ups and downs, soon or later we are bound to encounter problems. The place where people do not have any problems is either the mortuary or the cemetery because they are already dead. Since in life, we are bound to encounter problems, does that mean that we cannot be happy?

First and foremost we need to answer this basic question, “What makes us happy?” We are happy when someone gives us a present, things work out the way that we planned, when it does not rain when we go jogging, or when we are given a pay raise. If we define happiness this way, it means that our happiness is dependent on external factors which are beyond our control. Happiness then becomes a hit or miss thing dependent on external circumstances.
To me happiness is a choice and I can choose to be happy even if I have problems and things do not go the way that I planned. When I defined happiness this way, whether I feel happy or not is within my control and my happiness is not dependent on external circumstances. And if happiness is a choice, why would I not choose to be happy. Events and things that come into my life are beyond my control but how I choose to respond to these events and things are totally within my control. I can choose not to let problems make me unhappy by seeing problems as learning opportunities to improve myself. So in whatever circumstances that I am in, as long as I can see the silver lining in the cloud I can be happy.


Image Source

I must admit that I used to be very sad that I have an autistic son. But when I reflect back on this situation, I realized that I have received so many blessings as well. For sure it is very challenging to raise up an autistic son, at times it is also very stressful and there were nights when both Roselind and I can hardly get any sleep. There were also times of anxiety when Jonathan, my autistic son was unwell and but he could not tell us what was wrong. But this whole experience has molded me into a better human being, one that is more patient and has more empathy compared to previously. Having Jonathan has also made me re-examine my life, to decide what is most important to me. Therefore I can honestly say that I am happy despite the fact that I have an autistic son.

So do you agree with what I have written? I would love to receive your comments and feedback.

Follow me and stay positive.

Do check out my previous posts.

Ho! Ho! Ho! Have A Tropical Christmas In Kota Kinabalu, Sabah
Sharing Steemit With My School Mate On Boxing Day
The True Meaning Of Christmas
Color Challenge Friday Blue: Temple Of Heaven, Beijing
God Is Always There For Us (An Original Poem

Spreading positivity one post at a time.
Charles

If you like my writing please up-vote, share and comment. Please help me to spread the message of positivity and support on Steemit by resteeming this post.

Sort:  

This is an extremely inspiring message. Our happiness lies in our own hands. Only when we are able to take ownership of our own happiness can we be truly happy. A good day to you @positivesteem.

Very well spoken. We are responsible for our own happiness. And with the mindset I outlined in my article, it is possible to be happy everyday.

This is very inspiring @positivesteem ! I love your positivity. I totally agree with you that happiness is a choice. You're blessed because you have Jonathan, my brother was also autistic I know how he became a blessing to us! 😊

Thank you for your kind words. I am trying my best to spread positivity here and I am glad that it works. We are all responsible for our own happiness. Jonathan has been a blessing to me and my family. I am following you now.

Thank you for following me, appreciate it. :)

You are most welcome

Happiness is a little bit overvalued in this times we live... Nothing wrong with being sad from time to time 😎

I am in touch with my feelings and that include sadness. But we need to move on rather than being in a state of sadness.

Wow. I was blessed reading your article.
True happiness comes when we decide to be happy.
Thanks for sharing @positivesteem

Happiness is indeed a choice. It is our responsibility to build our own happiness. Thank you for your words of encouragement and support.

There are a few things I would like to add if you let me. I agree that happiness is the choice, but why can not be happy in every circumstance? So if this is a choice why do not we make this choice? I think the answer to this problem lies in the meaning that we give to happiness. In other words, we give more importance to happiness and satisfaction than necessary. I believe that sadness is as perfect as hapiness. I think fear is also a perfect mechanism. Actually, I believe that correct and wise behavior is not always being happy, but always balanced. I resteemed this post. Thanks for the lore full of wisdom.

I believe that we all should be in touch with our feelings and that include sadness as well. But after being sad, we need to move on. Happiness to me is the attitude which even if something bad happens, but I am able to see something good out of it, I am able to move on, instead of being stuck in a rut.

Very inspirational @positivesteem ! thanks for sharing it in my @popcontest ! Keep staying positive my friend your family is doing great this way ! upped and resteemed !😀💕✌👍

Thanks for dropping by. You are doing great work with your contest and do keep it up.

Awe thanks ! and your very welcome @positivesteem ! I just put up my 3000 followers , and 1 year and a 1/2 On Steemit Update post ! in case you want to check out ! Wishing you and your family all the best in 2018 !! Steem On !🎇🎉🎇🎉🎇👍👍👍💕

At 35 this is still something i'm working towards but I needed this added inspiration. Thank you!

I am happy that you are inspired by my post. This something that is not easy to do for me as well but I am constantly working on it and making a clear choice to be happy,

Great words you talked about. God bless you..

Thank you for your compliments and for dropping by. We have the power in our hands to make ourselves happy. Happiness does not depend on external factors.

What you are describing is resilience. You've found that your circumstances are not what make you happy and that what you do in response to those circumstances is what makes you happy.

Resilience is the ability to overcome obstacles to reach a goal. I think that one must make up his mind to see progress as a source of happiness, too.

I could not have said it better. And it is this attitude which has keep me going so far.

Hello @positivesteem
We have given you our still tinnie-winnie upvote!
You have been spotted by @positivesteem to possess rare gem!

So what can we do than to seal the deal, give you our tiny upvote and celebrate you, for everyone has something to offer.

We welcome you to the #untalented family. Feel free to come around for its a home with us. Flaws allowed, so relegate reservations and play with that beautiful mind of yours, let's tap into more hidden aspects of you. No average, no bum, just awesome you and the best version of YOU is a gift to humanity everytime. Stay awesome!

Join the steemgigs community on discord

https://discord.gg/CGuPyyT

#untalented is a branch of @steemgigs. If you would like to offer your service in building the dreams of other steemians, you can do so under #steemgigs.

However, if you want to experience full blown freedom and grow in confidence about your gifts and talents, share under #untalented.

We aim to create historical moments in the genre of touching lives and you can support us if you desire, by voting on steemgigs for witness. Simply click here

https://steemit.com/~witnesses

and type steemgigs in the first search box.

Just incase you find any level or form of gifts, talents, attempts at out-of-the-boxness, or any steemian low in confidence about their abilities, worth, etc; please don't let it slip emptily by.
Kindly call on me! Simply reply to any such post and add @steem-untalented or #untalented to your reply and i will be there to upvote, acknowledge, strengthen and encourage them.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @positivesteem to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57808.87
ETH 3061.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33