The Bitter-Sweet Nature of Life

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)

1ljehkxtb2.jpg

I tend to think that over time, everything in life becomes Bitter-Sweet.. a lot like a glass that's half-full and half-empty (at the same time).

Sometimes the sweet part of something is over-emphasized, and sometimes the bitter part of that same thing is over-emphasized, but everything that is Sweet has a Bitter side, and everything that is Bitter, has a Sweet side.

This is emphasized fairly well in the Philosophy of Yin & Yang.

I am not sure if anyone can relate to this, but a lot of my earlier hardship in life, was caused by chasing the sweeter things in life (i.e. Happiness, Security & Love) while expecting that I could completely get rid of the bitter aspects of life - it doesn't work, and I think all of mankind would be better off if everyone knew this.

A balanced life that is often bittersweet, is the absolute best case scenario in life, and anything and everything else, is just a temporary experience.

Life is a mixture of good & bad experiences, see it for what it is:

  1. Bitter-Sweet

NOTE: I think this is what I was originally trying to say in my post, The Pursuit of Happiness | Better than Happiness but I was able to write it here in a simple format. @galenkp and @glenalbrethsen also gave me some ideas based on their work.

Thank you for reading this 🙄✌

Source(s):


IMG_20181231_180537_702.jpg

The prevention, reduction and elimination of suffering makes the happiness we experience, more enjoyable, healthier and sustainable.

~ @chrisrice


About Me:

Good Evening from the Philippines

Money & Investing

1st Time - Invested in Steem

3 Mistakes to Avoid | Investing in Steem

Steemit / Dapps / Blockchain:

How to Make Money on Instagram (or YouTube / Twitter / Twitch / Medium)

What is Your Favorite Dapp for Creating Steem Accounts?

Morality / Spirituality / Religion:

The Pursuit of Happiness | Better than Happiness

Marriage / Relationships / Love:

The Word 'Love'

Sort:  

I believe that the best version of a person's life needs to be designed and created. I also think there is nothing wrong with aiming high and falling short; The "Aim for the stars and hit the moon" sort of mentality.

Life itself is certainly imperfect as you say and many people consistently, and quite futilely, seek perfection which is never really attainable. I prefer to enjoy life without the pressure of seeking perfection and with the understanding that the best moments I have in life are simply perfect enough rather than perfect. Forgoing perfection for perfect enough brings more satisfaction and less regret. At least, I have found it to be the case in my life.

Posted using Partiko Android

Excellent pointers @galenkp Thank you for contributing in the comments. Your perspective and ideas make sense 😊👍🏻

I think the bitter aspects of life also become less bitter @galenkp when we realize that perfect enough is good enough, and that a result with pros and cons is still much better than a result with an overabundant amount of cons.

I have worked to design and create a perfect life, but a Bitter-Sweet reality is what I came to realize. But that doesn't make it bad.

I am sure that I could enjoy some bitter-sweet chocolates, and as long as there are enough good things in life (and even if there isn't) see no reason to shun, hide or avoid the unavodiable bitter aspects of life.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62601.60
ETH 2452.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64