Petals Contest: Roses Open Weekend Entry: Week 6. Life in the Nest. Ephemeral Art. Original Photography.

in #petals6 years ago (edited)

Life in the nest.
Your center: Delicate and perfect.
Your protection: Surrounding you with love. She looks down.
Upon your potential. Your challenges. Your destiny. Your ultimate oneness.
~Ally.

Petals is a new Community on Steemit initiated by @adrianobalan and @sardrt. Their catch phrase is simple. Yet it quickens the heart of all those who love and appreciate the beauty of flowers:

Beauty will save the world.

Life in the Nest.

The inner structure of this nest was made from compacted Spanish Moss and it was featured in the arrangements of:

A larger nest of intertwining vines and twigs was made and the Spanish moss nest was placed into the centre of it. Some fresh silvery Spanish Moss was loosly draped over the nest.

The pink bud like roses were arranged in a tall but thin glass vase and placed in the centre of the nest. Looking down into the nest you can barely see the vase. But a surprise awaits the first person who can tell me where the rim of the vase can be glimpsed.

The five white mature roses were then balanced on the outer part of the nest. The piece was completed with small pieces of pale green and cream dried hydrangeas.

Nest of Roses-6642.jpg

Life in the Nest.


The Petals Contests.

This is the sixth week of the Roses Open Weekend section of the Petals Contests: You can see the details HERE.

Photographs of the different flowers can be submitted any day of the week. However the selections for the four categories are:

If you wish to connect with other flower and garden lovers, this is your Invitation to join the @Petals Channel at Discord.


Coming soon:


Photography: ©Alison Lee Cousland.
SONY Mark2 A7: 35 mm:

Creative Commons License
All works are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License


Terms of CC BY-SA.

  • This ShareAlike license will allow you to reproduce and/or manipulate this image even for your commercial purposes.

  • You are required to attribute me, Alison Lee Cousland as the designer/artist.

  • You also need to be willing to license any of your new creations that make use of this image, under the identical terms IE allow others to reproduce and/or build their own art upon your art, as well as granting their right to commercial usage.



T H A N K ✽ Y O U ✽ F O R ✽ Y O U R ✽ V I S I T1 copy.png

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)

Thanks so very much @pixresteemer. 🦋

Copy of MAGICAL MOMENTS nest-1.png

This is so lovely and I just spent my afternoon planting up some more bulbs and flower seeds and lining my window sills dreaming of late Spring and Summer. It is snowing here, so it is my way to 'garden' and dream of floral scents. What a unique and wonderful image.

Thanks Donna. So happy that you like it.

Your window sills will be so beautiful when the warmer weather comes your way. An inspiration for beautiful imagery.

I've just spent the morning planting some late summer yellow and orange marigolds in the front garden and lettuces in container beds, in the back garden ~ And then putting wire around the containers just in case our feral brush turkey spots them. Just as naughty, maybe even more naughty than Fat cat. 🦋

Copy of MAGICAL MOMENTS nest-1.png

This is really beautiful :) It is funny with the gorgeous flowers what I am really drawn to is the "nest" of bare twigs. Beautiful shapes there. The whole is a great composition. Much love - Carl

For me backgrounds are just as important as the objects that appear to be the feature of an image ~ So your comment delights and lifts my heart Carl. Thanks ever so much.

I started making the nests as plant containers and hanging baskets ~ But then it always seemed to be such a shame to completely hide their inner beauty. They are more like containers these days. And this week I'm making one as a hat for Melinda's Shadow Photos: Hats

I'm preparing an article about how these nests are made and then I'd like to make a video using the images. Which is where your music will be wonderful.

Here's a nest without any embellishment for you Carl ~ Except for a few sprigs of lichen at the front. ♥︎⚖️♥︎

1000-6671.jpg

Oh I love it! You inspired me to do a little digital manipulation:

Oh WOW. Your new image is absolutely sensational Carl.

So incredibly inspirational. I edited the original image in Lightroom, made the twigs in the foreground of the image a little warmer, otherwise it would have been close to a b&w image. But what you have done with colour now is so vibrant and alive. It sings so beautifully to me.

In a nanosecond, it made so many things I've been seeking ~ GEL. I've always loved bright clear colour but tend to use the more subtle tones of nature in my image making now. Looking at your image ~ I can feel that being shaken and shifting.

I'm imagining picking up a brush and being able to paint flamboyantly for virtually the first time ever. The Perfectionist has enslaved the Creative Muse for too long. I can't thank you enough. 🙏

Oh yay that makes me really happy to hear that! I was quite pleased with how this turned out, glad it resonated with you as well!!!

It sure did. I keep going back to the bottom left corner. But then it's the sort of painting that you want to keep roaming all over the place with. So brilliant in colour and impact.

I was going to post something pink today ~ But I ended up 'making' something else ~ Totally unexpectedly.

Seeing your expression of the nest inspired me to play a little with Photoshop. Writing about it now. 🙏

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Please check the new rules of the Daily Spotlights!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62345.27
ETH 2427.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49