Petals. PinkFlowerDay. Life is just a Bowl of Roses. Ephemeral Art. Original Photography.

in #petals6 years ago (edited)

Life.
Some will say:
Don't take it too serious.
Life's so mysterious. So live and laugh at it all.
Because after all is said and done: Life is just a bowl of roses.

~Adapted from: 'Life is just a bowl of cherries' by Buddy G. DeSylva and Lew Brown.

The images selected by @petals in last week's PinkFlowerDay Contest reflect the beauty of flowers dressed in pink.

I hope you will enjoy the beauty of these exquisite roses with deep magenta pink centers and the palest of moss green edges, as my contribution to this week's PinkFlowerDay Contest.

This piece was inspired by one of my favourite earthy ceramic bowls, made by Montessa Maack.The small bowl fitted so snuggly into the Spanish Moss nest, that had previously been decorated with a spiral of roses. You can see it HERE.

But first: I placed some white stones in the bowl, filled it with water and arranged the roses in a cluster ~ With just enough space to allow for the mystery beneath the water. Which is one of the subtle things I love to do with my arrangements.

The background is a semi-sheer fabric that has a beautiful rose-like dimensional texture.

1000-6573.jpg

Life is just a bowl of roses.


The bowl was placed in the centre of the nest, which was now bare of all the previous 'decorations.'

The nest was redecorated with tiny pink raphiolepis flowers with dried green hydrangeas. The roses that had previously formed the spiral in 'A Spiral of Roses' were now in the bowl.

1000-6587-2.jpg

Create a nest. Let it be your place of peace.


Soft moss green native grasses were added to visually merge the bowl with the nest and a few more pink raphiolepis flowers were scattered on the fabric background.

1000-6598.jpg

A space where you can live and laugh at it all.


Life is just a bowl of cherries.

The words Life is just a bowl of roses, to the tune of the song: Life is just a bowl of cherries came to my mind to accompany these images.

I only knew this one phrase of the song and I found myself becoming quite curious about not only the song, but also the meaning of the expression: Life is just a bowl of cherries

I discovered that the song was born in the pre-rock era of 1931: In the early years of what became known as The Great Depression.

If you listen to the lyrics, you will be excused for thinking that they are incredibly simple. But by virtue of the popularity of the song in those financially stretched days/months/years, they deeply reflect the thinking of the society at that time.

Because we are only here 'on a short holiday' why can't we stop and ask ourselves: 'Why are we here and where are we going?'

And so: Why work at something you don't enjoy, just to save money, that you can't take with you when you Go, go, go.

And the meaning: Life is absolutely wonderful. Make the most of each precious moment. Although sometimes the expression is used with a twist, when life seems to be full of sour grapes. For instance I could say:

  • I've just seen three new Steemit contests this morning, that I would love to contribute to. I have a lot of comments that need responding too. I'd love to post more regularly. But when will I find the time?
  • I've done a few little doodles with the DADA software. Love it, but need a pen for my tablet, better still a Warcom tablet. But when will I have the money?
  • I need a clear space to begin pastel work and watercolour. When will my studio ever be clear of all the papers that still need filing?

Oh well: Life is just a bowl of cherries.

The song: Life is just a bowl of cherries was recorded and performed by many different artists including Ethel Merman, Doris Day, Judy Garland, Jaye P. Morgan, Bing Crosby and Dean Martin. I listened to them all, but this version by Rudy Vallee with his Connecticut Yankees won my heart. I hope you'll like it too.


Life is just a bowl of cherries,
So live and laugh at it all.
~ Buddy G. DeSylva and Lew Brown.


Petals is a new Community on Steemit initiated by @adrianobalan and @sardrt.

Your photographs of the different flowers can be submitted any day of the week. However the selections for the four categories are:

If you wish to connect with other flower and garden lovers, this is your Invitation to join the @Petals Channel at Discord.


I still wish to describe:

  • How the nest was made.
  • And how I used the images to create my new Cover Image and Profile Image.

Ceramics by Montessa Maack.


Photography: ©Alison Lee Cousland.
SONY Mark2 A7: 35 mm:

Creative Commons License
All works are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License


Terms of CC BY-SA.

  • This ShareAlike license will allow you to reproduce and/or manipulate this image even for your commercial purposes.

  • You are required to attribute me, Alison Lee Cousland as the designer/artist.

  • You also need to be willing to license any of your new creations that make use of this image, under the identical terms IE allow others to reproduce and/or build their own art upon your art, as well as granting their right to commercial usage.



T H A N K ✽ Y O U ✽ F O R ✽ Y O U R ✽ V I S I T1 copy.png

Sort:  

This is soo gorgeous! Beautiful work!

Be happy for this moment. This moment is your life.

So true Hamza. Every moment counts. 🦋

Copy of MAGICAL MOMENTS nest-1 copy.png

Thanks :)

Ooohhh, beautiful arrangement dear! Everything about it is wonderful...colors, flowers, nest...love, love, love it!

I'm so pleased you like this little nest Di. Was lovely to make and then decorate. In my next article In my next article, I'll describe how the nest was made in more detail. 🦋

Copy of MAGICAL MOMENTS nest-1 copy.png

The raphiolepis flowers scattered on the background really make this photograph for me @allyinspirit.

Thank you for taking us through the steps you took to construct it and for the reminder about the petals contests. I had forgotten about those. There is a balance to be found somewhere between being organised and going with the flow! 😍

Although I must admit my life is more peaceful when I just get up and do the next thing without having an eye on the future or too many plans. 💙

🌹♥︎🌹BEAUTY Mate. 🌹♥︎🌹

Beauty as in Beauty Mate in Oz language, has quite a different meaning again, than the beauty of a sunset or rose.

Hard for me to define exactly what it means, because the emotion in the expression of saying You Beauty or Beauty Mate says such a lot too. But something like ~ I really love what you have said/done and you have my full 100% appreciation, agreement and/or acceptance.

I must admit my life is more peaceful when I just get up and do the next thing without having an eye on the future or too many plans. 🌹

I can NEVER keep up with all my plans Gillian. But sometimes I feel this can be a good thing. The Creative Muse finds her time for putting the plans in action though. Sometimes I have to leave something for weeks/months/years ~ But when I finally come back to it ~ It rises a notch ~ Or 2 from where it was before. The time in between has been like a hatching time.

I really like the petals contests. About 80% of my images of flowers are pink. So they never really seemed to fit into the spectrum of the colour challenge.

Besides it's pink flower season now in Sydney with all the camellias. 😊

In my next article, I'll describe how the nest was made in more detail. But before then I'm about to make another nest this week. I can feel it from the tips of my fingers to my toes. Hope you have a flowing and magical week. 🦋

Copy of MAGICAL MOMENTS nest-1 copy.png

Thank you @allyinspirit. A flowing and magical week would be wonderful!

The plan is to visit a good friend in Devon over the Easter weekend so, fingers crossed, if we get some decent weather we'll be out and about exploring. My very favourite thing to do.

There should be some pink blossoms around too. Not too many I suspect as Easter is so early this year. But I'll be on the look out.

Hope you have a wonder full week too! 💙

🌹♥︎🌹GREAT Mate. 🌹♥︎🌹

This is so delicately beautiful Ally ! I love the exquisite pink hearted roses

...This is eye-dainty ^_^

Love it ~ 'eye - dainty'. So pleased to share all the eye-daintyness with you Barbara. 🦋

Copy of MAGICAL MOMENTS nest-1 copy.png

I love those roses, they are gorgeous!

Thanks so much Erika. I think it's their pale green edges that make these roses so special. 🦋

Copy of MAGICAL MOMENTS nest-1 copy.png

I think so too, the color combination is unique.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)

Thanks so much @pixresteemer. 🦋

Copy of MAGICAL MOMENTS nest-1 copy.png

Beautiful flower arrangement! you did a great job!!

Your appreciation is so welcome Helena. In my next article I'll describe how the nest was made in more detail. 🦋

Copy of MAGICAL MOMENTS nest-1 copy.png

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Please check the new rules of the Daily Spotlights!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62579.42
ETH 3010.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.42