The EcoKnowMe: If the Economy cared for People and the Planet (my intro, edited)

in #permaculture7 years ago


If you are reading this, you probably consciously or unconsciously  know that you are a part of the 'Economy'.  What is the 'Economy'  and  how do you feel about it?  Can you point to it? Or is it an idea we all  believe in and pretend is real?  Sure, there is a stock market,  multi-national corporations and resources and services being exchanged  all over the world, everyday.  That's the economy, right?  The  collective movement of goods, services, information and all kinds of  value exchanged inter-personally or internationally?  I get it.  It is  both real and conceptual but in order to talk about all these  activities, we need a vocabulary to describe what we do with each other  and agree to rules on how we exchange stuff.
I'm not an economist, but I live in the world like everyone else and I  am trying to understand this system I have been born into and make the  most of it, but in my few decades on this Earth, there are many things I  do not understand but presume can be and even improved in my lifetime.   One such idea is the Economy itself and after years in private school,  university and various courses in Yoga, Permaculture and the like, I  felt conflicted.  So many alternatives and solutions seem to be already  available that help people to meet their basic needs without needing to  subscribe to a system that demands that you hand over your best hours,  peak mental performance and life energy towards either a job or career  that neither fulfill you or take care of your health or best  interests... all while raping the planet to give you things you don't  need or try to make you happy but are somehow meant to compensate for  the crummy deal you've agreed to.  Sounds great right?
Does your country care about you and your Dreams?  Do you get to enjoy a  healthy environment, reasonable housing and access to affordable  nutritious food?  Is it easy to just exist or are you expected to pay  for even the most basic needs which increase in price each year?  Are  you empowered or imprisoned?
These are the questions that make me pause.  After taking a Permaculture  Design Course with Geoff Lawton at the Permaculture Research Institute  in Australia, I was faced with many ideas that conflicted with my  previous world views.  After taking the course and beginning the process  of digesting the ideas presented, I was confronted with the realization  that life is not that difficult and the problems can actually be  solutions.  You name it.  Climate change, food insecurity, collective  health, pollution and countless other problems all seemed to be  resolvable thanks to this new design science I had been empowered with  and now felt confident could be applied to the many ails facing humanity  today,
So, I came up with this silly idea called the EcoKnowMe.  The Eco is for  Ecology, environmentalism, Earth Care etc and the acknowledgement that  the economy is actually an extension and exploitation of the the natural  ecology which sustains us.  Know for Knowledge or a knowledge based  economy rooted in the exchange of the most empowering ideas to help  humanity meet its needs through education and openness. Me is a twist on  the 'my' of the 'Economy'  It means to shift the focus from ownership  and ego based pursuits and redirect those energies to one of personal  stewardship, life-long education and personal improvement.  Your  greatest Wealth with always be your Health and Wisdom accumulated over a  lifetime of Self-Actualization.  There is only one 'You' so you might  as well enjoy dealing with your own uniqueness and find a way of using  your skills and special talents to help others.      We are all  connected and our ability to relate with one another harmoniously  dictates how well things will go for everyone.  If we are fighting over  natural resources just to make ends meet, things will turn sour pretty  quick.  If we learn to meet our collective needs in a way that doesn't  damage or exploit the environment or our humanity, that could last  forever.  Hence, Perma-culture. This probably all seems like a pie-in-the-sky idea and I just ask  that you apply the same criticism to the ideas we already unwittingly  subscribe to each day, hoping for a better alternative.  We live our  lives as though if the economy is failing, so to shall we.  But it's not  the economy is it?   It's the people and environment we depend on. After finding Steemit, I decided I would redirect my interests  energies and passion towards a project that might be as silly and  unrealistic as the so called 'economy' that somehow expects infinite  growth on a finite planet.  So, I intend to use this platform to share  my ideas, dreams, intent and vision for the future while hoping to  inform the masses of the many cool and inspiring solutions I've come  across over my years of searching and study as it relates to health,  home, humanity and any number of topics (yes this is me keeping it open  ended in order to leave space for infinite possibilities, yes it's  vague, but let's just see where this goes shall we?).  So here's the  idea I've been chewing on.... I hope to see if I can redirect my  interest in social media to this platform and  see if I can both help spread good ideas, but also help others do the  same.  If I make a bit of cash, the idea is to limit my cut to 20% and  redistribute the other 80% to like minded causes in order to strengthen a  global movement towards a more sustainable and sane future.  Though I must admit I am new to Steemit so I'm not sure how to do all that, yet.
I promote the works and good ideas of myself and others and try to  create the world I wish to see by making the old one obsolete.  I meet  my needs and teach you how to do the same.  No, I don't want to be a  millionaire nor do think we all need to be dripping in bling in order to  feel content, but I do think it is reasonable for all people to have a  decent life with opportunities to realize their potential.  All we need  is a decent place to live, clean air, water, good food and good health  to pursue our interests and passions.  Let me give an example of one  idea that changed the game for me to give you a sense of where I am  going here.


Earthships.  Created and refined by renegade architect Micheal Reynolds  from the USA, Earthships are the product of his development of  'Biotecture' an alternative to Architecture which places more  consideration on the forces acting on buildings and the people who  occupy them.  Think about it. A house has enough water raining on it  each year to meet its water needs, enough solar energy to meet its  heating and cooling and probably power needs.  If you include grey water  processing and black water management, you can grow food, air, medicine  while cleaning water so it can reenter the environment in a manageable  state.  This is exactly what Earthships do, all while using recycled and  reused materials like tires and bottles.
There is a great documentary called 'Garbage Warrior'  that explores  this idea and Micheal Reynolds journey to gain acceptance to his ideas  and municipal permission to build his structures.  My favorite part of  the Documentary, is when a family is interviewed and they discuss how  they built their home and how their young daughter fully understands how  the house works and takes care of them.  But the sweetest part came  when the  father described the feeling he had waking up each morning  knowing that there were thousands of gallons of harvested rainwater,   food growing in the botanical cells and garden, no power bill, no  mortgage, no heating or cooling bill and a safe comfortable environment  to raise his family.  If he lost his job, he knew he could survive.  The  house took care of him and his family.  Everyone has a home, of sorts,  but few of us can say that we are actually taken care of  by the  structures or landscapes we occupy.  Earthships and Permaculture are two  ideas I have mentioned and if you dive into those rabbit holes you  might see what I mean in terms of their paradigm shifting powers.
I hope to share more ideas on this platform and inspire others to do the same.
I think a better world is possible and with enough support maybe we can  stop thinking in terms of our involvement in the 'Economy' and more in  terms of the EcoknowMe.  They are both imaginary...  What kind of World  do you want to imagine?
As Pablo Picasso once said 'Everything you can Imagine, Is Real". Look forward to seeing where this goes, 


Happy Dreaming, Co-Creators :)


@ecoknowmK


http://earthship.com/

http://www.geofflawtononline.com/

https://permies.com/


Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit @ecoknowme :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful tips to get you started:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58394.86
ETH 2618.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39