Pet Peeves #1: People Who Get Their Own Names Tattooed On Their Bodies

in #peeves6 years ago (edited)

Screenshot-(69).jpg

I'm sure many of you guys have your own list of things that annoy you to the point where it becomes almost impossible to keep your cool. Sometimes it just becomes unbearable to see how stupid someone is being, especially when their stupidity starts to affect your life.

While there will always be serious problems in the world that are to be dealt with, these little ones are no less frustrating and sometimes even more than the big ones as they are a part of our daily lives.

Living in a neighborhood where people determine their self-worth with the amount of attention and number of likes and follows they get on social media, I've picked up on quite a few peeves of my own over the years.

One of which, is people getting their own names tattooed on their bodies. Now just to be clear, I understand that one is the owner of their own body and is allowed to do anything they want to do with it, but as Sherrilyn Kenyon said:

Just because you can, doesn't mean you should.

The Meaninglessness Of Doing It

Tattoos are art, right? And what is art supposed to do? Give meaning and purpose, depict a story, ignite passion, share an idea or a thought, perhaps?

I may not exactly know what art is supposed to do, but one thing is for certain that it's not supposed to be blank or meaningless.

Unless you're an amnesia patient who constantly forgets their own name and needs a permanent tattoo to keep reminding yourself, I really don't see a reason why someone would do that.

Besides, if someone asked you, "What does your tattoo mean?", you wouldn't just wanna answer, "Oh it's nothing, it's just my name", would you? You would want your tattoo to be special and one which describes you as a person.

Peer Pressure

horrible-decision.gif

The only reason (still a wrong one) I can think why someone would actually consider doing something as stupid as this in the first place is because their friends are doing it.

If that's the case, lemme just remind you that you don't have to join your friends in their stupidity, especially when the outcome is irredeemable.

Tattoo removals usually cost a fortune and often a lot more than the tattoo itself and if that wasn't convincing enough, they hurt a lot too. It's like a direct punishment for making a bad choice.

Furthermore, do you really want a permanent mark on your body that reveals any kind of personal information about you, especially when it's something that defines your very own identity? I don't think so.


Continue reading:


Thanks for reading! If you'd like to see more content soon,

Follow Me: @ayushjalan

Sort:  

Some people just respond "It's nothing" when asked about their tattoos meaning, 'cause not everyone can understand it. And it is kinda annoying to tell and explain everything in detail. Lmao.

I have tattoos and experienced it myself, so yeah. It's better to just keep it to myself.

Yeah, I can relate. Even though I don't have any tattoos (yet), I still hate it when I have to explain things about myself to others. But what I can't stand is when people get tattooed for absolutely no reason other than to impress their group of friends. That's just plain stupidity.
If you wanna get tattooed, do it because you want it, and not because someone else would like to see it on you.

P.S. Thanks for resteeming my article :)

@ayushjalan Thank you, my friend, your blog is such an awesome and please support me and upvote me if you like my comment

Source
Leaving comments asking for votes, follows, or other self promotional messages could be seen as spam.

More Information:

The Art of Commenting
Comment Classifications

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53375.38
ETH 2393.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15