Why The Hardest Part Of Doing Anything Is To Get Started

in #life6 years ago (edited)

The way to get started is to quit talking and begin doing.

- Walt Disney

pexels-photo-936094.jpeg

Have you ever wanted to do something but didn't feel like doing it, but once you started, it felt really easy all of a sudden? Doesn't matter what kind of work it is, this strange thing seems to happen with everyone. It often happens for me when I'm supposed to exercise but I'm too lazy to get up (don't tell me you guys don't do that too lol), but once I do get up, it's quite the hustle; or when I can't figure out how to start my article but as soon as I do, my fingers just kinda glide over the keyboard until I've finished writing.

Why Do We Procrastinate?

pexels-photo-269155.jpeg

Let's be honest, we all procrastinate at some point. Some people do it more often than others and if you're like me, you do it all the time. Even though there can be multiple reasons for procrastinating, serious and unserious, laziness seems to be the most common one.

People often put off their work altogether because it's either too heavy to begin with, or they run out of time. There's a really easy way to break this habit down. All you need to do, is divide your work in smaller groups and begin with the first one. Soon you'll find out that you're done with the majority of the work and you were stressing out for no apparent reason.

Delaying Work Makes It Harder.

town-sign-1865304_960_720.jpg

It's highly likely that once you go back to doing the work that you delayed before, you're not gonna have the same level of energy that you would have had if you started the work earlier. Our brains are designed to lay more emphasis on unfinished tasks than finished ones, but hold onto it for long enough, and your brain will start identifying it as an unimportant task which will make you feel unenthused to do it later.

So the best way is to just get started at the very first moment. Your excitement alone will help you to complete the task quickly. Besides, isn't it better to just get the burden off of your chest as soon as possible instead of letting it stress you out and ruin your potential?


Continue reading:


Thanks for reading! If you'd like to see more content soon,

Follow Me: @ayushjalan

Sort:  

I doubt if it is easy to break this habit just by breaking the work into smaller parts. It will require a huge amount of commitment to breaking the work even in smaller parts and initiating the first part. :)

Well it depends on the kind of activity you're doing and whether or not if you're interested to do it in the first place. If it's something that you dislike doing but still have to for some reason, then it's obvious that your morale will go down and your performance will decrease greatly.

true, people build up resistance to doing the work and the more they do that the harder it becomes to start, so the best thing to do it just begin as quickly as possible

Absolutely! Better to have it done before it starts to mess with your head.

Literally just made a blog post talking about resistance and procrastination, you might like to check it out!

Congratulations @ayushjalan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I know exactly what you mean. In fact, my "word" for this year was ACTION because I always talk so much about what I'm going to do but never do it. However, my procrastination comes from fear of failure. I worry so much about the end result, being criticised or judged and it really holds me back. Well, I'm trying this year and each day it's getting a bit easier! Like you said, you've just got to get started! :)

We all fear failure, we just don't share it with others. But if you ask me, I would rather try and fail than fail because I didn't try at all.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57630.83
ETH 3105.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33