Entry for the Pay-it-Forward Curation Contest - Week 32

in #payitforward5 years ago

Welcome to the Pay It Forward Curation Contest, sponsored by the PIFC community you will find at @pifc! There you will "meet" a dedicated group of fellow Steemians hard at work on a weekly contest. Our goal is to find and encourage under-valued contributors of great content to our Steem blockchain.

To be selected, your post needs to have a minimum of 200 words of high quality, original content. And your reputation cannot be above 55. Pretty simple!

If you are reading this, perhaps we are looking for or have already found you. 😊

So, let's get started! My two entries for this week are:

Selection #1: ⭐ @thetreeoflife (34.706 SP) ⭐

We all have our favorite types of content in posts. I personally like those which challenge us to think and are at least somewhat philosophical.

A case in point is my first selection - @thetreeoflife. I was drawn by the title of her post - The Archetypes of Stress, and a Question for the Steemit Community! to check into it.

Stress has been a 'central theme' in my life of late, so definitely was curious to find out what she had to say on the subject. Glad I did!

One image from this post:

(Click the image to visit this post.)

In her post, she is writing to us framed around the classic statement "there are three types of people."

"The subject of this essay has less to do with the kind of 'person' we are, and more to do with the way we handle stress in life. Though, as many of us know, we can all be the best kind of person when things are going along swimmingly. It is, of course, when the chips are down that the phrase she/he is showing their true colors is heard. But, are these our true colors? Is it personality? Or are they just patterns of conditioning, and habitual methods of survival?"

I won't provide "spoiler" details of what three archetypes of people she has chosen to write about, but trust me, it is well worth your time to find out!

In her introductory post, we find out she ...

"... found Steemit through a friend a couple months ago, and decided to give it a try, since I had just deactivated my Facebook account (haven't once looked back!) and decided to start writing again. I am so glad I did!"

... which is definitely my kind of Steemian! There is considerably more to her story in her introduction, so you may wish to read it.

She has been steadily writing passionately about the topics which interest her, producing excellent content and I think is a great newcomer to our Steem Community.

Please check out her work; a fellow Steemian well worth supporting!

Selection #2: ⭐ @goodwithtravels (121.352 SP) ⭐

Another favorite topic is traveling. For me, especially by car and just having reflection time which some call "windshield time" as you roll on down the highway, seeing new places ...

How about combining that with a trip to Steemfest 3?

So, while looking through a lot of posts, my second selection fit this category - @goodwithtravels. The title of his post - So Long Steemfest... Until Next Time - was enough to have me "stop in" to check it out.

I liked the "every man" impression made by it, so kept reading.

One image from this post:

(Click the image to visit this post.)

This stood out to me:

"I'm new to Steemit, having posted intermittently for 3 or 4 months. Unlike many others within the Steemit community, I knew that very few people would have read my page, and that there were others with significantly more interesting (in my opinion) stories to tell."

"I wasn't sure if I'd be interesting enough to last five days at Steemfest, feeling particularly nervous as people scanned my username and started flicking through my content immediately after meeting."

A humble and open admission of some anxiety and concern about what attending might be like for him. The good news is he found all five days to be very memorable, with content enough to fill several posts over the coming days!

I enjoyed just getting an idea of what attending might be like for someone just getting started on their Steem "journey" to have attended this international event.

This young man's vision for this chapter of his life is to travel the world, so I thought you might enjoy getting to know him a bit more. Please give him some support.

Thank you for investing your time to read through this post. If you haven't already, please visit the posts highlighted above and encourage these fellow Steemians in their efforts.

A big “shout out” and a sincere “thank you” to our judges for this week’s contest - @wolfhart, @tryskele, @headchange, and @viking-ventures! And to our great sponsors - @thehoneys, @bengy, @andrewharland, @el-nailul, @stever82, and @thedarkhorse!

All the best to you for a better tomorrow, as we all work together to build our Steem Community! 👍 😊

Respectfully,

Steemian @roleerob

Posted using SteemPeak and “immutably enshrined in the blockchain” on Wednesday, 14 November 2018!

Source: Glowtext.com


Interested to know how I found this community and why I support it? The following post tells you the story:
If you have found this post to be of interest, the PIFC team would love to have you join us. Here are some posts to help you in making your decision:


Entries from previous weeks:

This account is protected by @dustsweeper

Sort:  

@roleerob I have to say, I haven't been here long but the two months I have been around, I've been absolutely blown away by the amazing content on steemit, as well as the incredible community support that is cultivated alllll over this platform. It continues to blow my mind. This is my first time hearing of @pifc and wow, such a cool initiative! I'd love to get involved so I can also PIF! 😊
Thank you again for taking the time to read stuff from a noobie and for your support as well. Much gratitude! ❤️🙏

Xx ToL

My real pleasure @thetreeoflife! As you say, there are many fine communities on our Steem blockchain. I’ve only been here a relatively short time myself (first post on May 14th …), so I’ve run into quite a few, but I am sure there are many more I know nothing about.

”This is my first time hearing of @pifc and wow, such a cool initiative! I'd love to get involved so I can also PIF!”

We would certainly love to have you “join the cause!” My “story” post on why I elected to invest my time (earlier I had invested delegation …) into this particular one can be found in my Chapter Two: My “Journey” and the Pay It Forward Community post. Perhaps you would find something of value in it, if you need more info on making a decision.

If there is anything I can do to help you, please let me know. Until we "talk" again, I hope you have had an uplifting day in your world!


P.S. Also, wanted to say how much I admire you "pulling the plug" on Facebook! 👍 👍

Terrific, @roleerob, I'll be checking that post out!
I feel better without Facebook. That's enough for me to not go back!

Xx ToL

Thanks for your entry. Both bloggers have been upvoted.

Fantastic features as always. I have visited both.

Wow, flattered and excited by the nomination @roleerob! Appreciate the comments too - my goal is to continue to be open and honest on Steemit.
Looking forward to discovering many more Steemians and their content through this medium.

My pleasure @goodwithtravels. Always enjoy "meeting" and supporting new Steemians. We all benefit in helping others.

Looking forward to more of your "journey." All the best to you in your travels! 👍

I am not sure if you noticed that you are the second one to feature @thetreeoflife on this same week. @porters also featured her. 😊 Prior to seeing her here on pifc, I came across here beautiful articles for the #naturalmedicine posts. I remembered when I visited porters' entry and I already upvoted it.

As usual, you have great entries that were well picked and thought off. 😊

aahh finally I made my round to your awesome featured bloggers @roleerob, wondering how the judges will choose when 2 participants featuring the same blogger but different posts.. LOL. but thanks anyway for guiding me to wonderful steemians and I really like their posts, worth to follow!

Great selection and effort! It is great seeing the diversity flow through our community!

Very interesting picks you have here! I really enjoyed seeing Steemfest through the eyes of @goodwithtravels.

Yes @insight-out, like you I imagine, it is always interesting to experience big events through others, when it is very unlikely we'll be able to ourselves.

Thanks for stopping by!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey man! How's it going?

Posted using Partiko Messaging

Hi @roleerob!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.649 which ranks you at #5389 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 39 places in the last three days (old rank 5350).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 370 contributions, your post is ranked at #271.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05