Entry for the Pay-it-Forward Curation Contest - Week 26

in #payitforward6 years ago

Welcome to the Pay It Forward Curation Contest, sponsored by the PIFC community you will find at @pifc! There you will "meet" a dedicated group of fellow Steemians hard at work on a weekly contest. Our goal is to find and encourage under-valued contributors of great content to our Steem blockchain.

As an added bonus, please note this is not just any weekly contest either. As we can see in the title, the Pay It Forward community has been at this awhile . That's half a year of faithful, steady effort adding value to our Steem blockchain! 👍 👍

To be selected, your post needs to have a minimum of 200 words of high quality, original content. And your reputation cannot be above 55. Pretty simple!

If you are reading this, perhaps we are looking for or have already found you. 😊

So, let's get started! My two entries for this week are:

Selection #1: ⭐ @jewlzie (40.179 SP) ⭐

Ever face the sometimes daunting question of how to "get more day" out of the "fixed constants" we all have? There is only one of us - 24 / 7 / 365? At work, we often hear the word "multi-tasking" applied to this challenge ...

Well my first selection - @jewlzie - is doing just that. How? Writing movie reviews - specifically, watching a Netflix movie and then writing about it. At the same time, creating a great value post for our Steem blockchain!

With grandchildren, curiosity drew me to the post - Movie Night: Mary and The Witch's Flower (Spoilers!!). Just glancing through it quickly, I elected to read it.

Glad I did!

One image from this post:

(Click the image to visit this post.)

In reading through this post, my eye was drawn to the detail of @jewlsie's review.

"If you're familiar with Studio Ghibli's works such as Princess Mononoke and Howl's Moving Castle, then you should know that one of the animators from Studio Ghibli, Hiromasa Yonebayashi, had directed Mary and The Witch's Flower. Yonebayashi had previously directed The Secret World of Arrietty and When Marnie Was There and now takes on Mary and The Witch's Flower which is based on a book by Mary Stewart called The Little Broomstick. Mary and The Witch's Flower is a Studio Ponoc film which, for those of you who didn't know, is founded by former Studio Ghibli lead film producer Yoshiaki Nishimura."



To illustrate, before even getting to reviewing her chosen movie, here we see she has done research on key artists responsible for making it. Definitely adds value!

"Thankfully I was able to get this review in by the end of this week but I think I need more time than I thought to write everything down. I'm fighting between immersing myself in the movie and making a good, quality, in-depth review. So if any of you could tell me your preference or opinion on what I should lean towards ..."


This Steemian would encourage you, @jewlzie, to make your choice based upon the option which results in the highest quality post on our Steem blockchain! 😉

And to give yourself "some space," to know whichever you choose is likely going to change over time ... But ... I certainly understand "working to a deadline!"

I'll leave the review itself for your reading pleasure ...

Skimming through some of @jewlzie's other posts, we find she is starting college. An English major with a passion for writing perhaps? 😊

Great to find and be able to support "new talent," in more ways than one 😊 Overall, a hard-working Steemian well worth supporting!

Selection #2: ⭐ @atmemestable (86.582 SP) ⭐

Sometimes, perhaps our mood can affect our selection? For me, in choosing my next post, it was pretty basic - I was getting hungry! 😉

So ... My second selection - @atmemestable - hit right in the 🎯 with her Cook With Us Homework: "Vegan Salt Fish" Recipe Featuring Heart of Palm post. I really like fish!

And look at this picture! If you weren't hungry before, doesn't this get the "juices flowing?"

One image from this post:

(Click the image to visit this post.)

Before we learn more about this yummy recipe, @atmemestable has this to share with us:

"I am super excited that the great folks over at Cook With Us have just been accepted by @curie to receive a Curie Community Contribution. (https://steemit.com/cookwithus/@cookwithus/cook-with-us-breaking-news-please-read-this-important-post). This is a well deserved achievement! This announcement was made jointly with the Cooks With Us launch of a new contest season. Yippie! I don't know about you, but I'm ready and raring to go!"



So, she is entering a contest supported by the wonderful @Curie Community. What's not to like about that? Gotta support that effort, right?

"Cooks With Us gave a homework assignment to past and future contestants. The assignment is to "research an unusual fruit or vegetable that may be specific to your country or just unusual (not specific to your country).""



So, here we find what her homework assignment is from the @Cookwithus Community in putting this post together. Sounds like a really great idea to me!

So, stopping before providing any "spoiler" details, please go read this post about this yummy family recipe of @atmemestable and support her efforts to win this contest. She has put together a very nice post here!

In skimming through what we can find about @atmemestable, she lives in North Carolina (hopefully doing OK after Hurricane Florence!), and we find she is honoring her mother, Meme, who was a great cook. Again, an under-valued fellow Steemian very deserving of our support!

Redfish Bonus Selection: ⭐ @macoolette (42.677 SP) ⭐

As a special bonus feature of this week's @pifc contest, founder @thedarkhorse has this to say:

"Time to celebrate 6 months of curation! This week we are going to allow you the PIFC community to help us pick people for the @minnowbuilder program that will be supported with daily upvotes until they become a minnow."

In response, having "met" and gotten to know her a little bit, during Month 4 of my Steem "journey," I would like to nominate @macoolette! She is an IT professional from the Philippines. She is also a great curator and appears to be very steady and consistent (when not dodging typhoons and blocked by hardfork snafus ...) in her efforts to add value to our Steem blockchain.

A key part of my selecting her is based on wanting to support those who are "in it for the long haul." Well, look no further! Between wrestling with giant snakes (you'll have to "curate" with her, for the inside story ... 😊) and more recently gamely surviving the recent super typhoon Mangkhut, I believe we can count on her to "hang tough!" 👍 👍

[Note: If you want to take a "shortcut," you can get a picture of her "snake wrestling" on her recent Get to Know Me post, but ... THEN, you wouldn't be helping her climb the rankings on the CEL Leader Board of @abh12345's weekly post! So, go forth and "curate" ... 😉]

Thank you for investing your time to read through this post. If you haven't already, please visit the posts highlighted above and encourage these fellow Steemians in their efforts.

A big “shout out” and a sincere thank you 🙌 to our judges for this week’s contest - @lynncoyle1, @tryskele , @headchange, and @viking-ventures! And to our great sponsors - @thehoneys, @bengy, @andrewharland, @el-nailul, @stever82, and @minnowbuilder2!

All the best to you for a better tomorrow, as we all work together to build our Steem Community! 👍 😊

Respectfully,

Steemian @roleerob

Posted using Busy.org and “immutably enshrined in the blockchain” on Thursday, 4 October 2018!

Source: Glowtext.com


Interested to know how I found this community and why I support it? The following post tells you the story:
If you have found this post to be of interest, the PIFC team would love to have you join us. Here are some posts to help you in making your decision:


Entries from previous weeks:

This account is protected by @dustsweeper

Sort:  

Thank you so much for highlighting my recent "Vegan Salt Fish" post. For me, cooking is an act of love..the results joyfully shared with friends and family. I welcome the opportunity to share my creations with my Steemit family too. Thanks again for the support. All the best!

(PS: We're doing fine in my area of North Carolina. But, Hurricane Florence rained down utter disaster on many locations around the state.
Recovery will take quite some time.)

P.S. Glad to know this devastating storm didn't harm your family. I wrote a post about the effect on mine ...

Posted using Partiko Android

A real pleasure for me @atmemestable. You did a fine job! 👍

"For me, cooking is an act of love..the results joyfully shared with friends and family."

Excellent attitude and a warm, wonderful sentiment!! Also handed down from Meme perhaps?

Posted using Partiko Android

Awesome entry, @roleerob. Not only did you pick 2 talented bloggers and a motivated nominee, it's obvious that you did some research about the people you present here in your post. To me, that shows dedication and a true interest in your fellow bloggers.
Keep.up the good work!

Far be it from me to argue with you @simplymike! 😉

Seriously, it is nice to "see" you again! And I sincerely appreciate the words of encouragement. I do invest the time, as I am passionate about doing my small part to add value to our Steem blockchain.

It has been awhile since a very meaningful exchange (for me) that you were part of this summer that ultimately led to my decision to narrow my focus to working more closely with the @pifc community. And ... Well ... Here we are.

Thank you for being a judge for us this week @simplymike. And thank you for investing your own time in evaluating one of the many posts you have before you.

Until we "meet" again, all the best to you, for a better tomorrow! 👋

Thank you so much for including my Movie Night in this selection, I'm honored! :) I'm definitely interested in creative writing - especially fiction. I'll do my best to continue putting in the time for quality content and I'm glad to see that what I've done so far has paid off ^^

It was my pleasure @jelwzie!

"I'm definitely interested in creative writing - especially fiction."

Yes, well, I don't claim to be an expert, but I have a pretty good eye for detail and such. And it appears to me you are quite good at it!

Keep up the great work! 👍

Another fantastic entry @roleerob :) I love to see the work you put into each of these; you really seem to get to know your "chosen ones" :) Thank you @roleerob for this and all of your support!

As always @lynncoyle1, I really appreciate your words of encouragement!

"I love to see the work you put into each of these ..."

Thank you for your own attention to detail in noticing. I definitely don't "knock these out," in a few minutes. As long as I am going to be "in here," you can count on me doing what I can to add value to our blockchain. For both of us ... 😉

We're all in this together!

Speaking of which, any update on your efforts to be a Curie community curator?

You're most welcome @roleerob :) As far as Curie goes, I can barely keep up with my "regular" duties here, and it takes a lot of time to go searching for "exceptional" content. So now, if I stumble upon something extraordinary in my regular travels, I submit it and see what happens.

Good morning @lynncoyle1!

"... I can barely keep up with my "regular" duties ..."

Yep! Right there with you ... 👍

"... if I stumble upon something extraordinary in my regular travels, I submit it ..."

I am under a false impression then, as I thought only their "approved" (rigorous process ...) curators could submit a post ...

The time issue always pulls me up short. The limited time I've spent looking into their history, I know I can't get too involved. Maybe someday ...

I certainly have a great deal of respect and appreciation for what they represent to our Steem blockchain and feel honored to have had one of my posts "catch their eye!" 😊

There's a 'bunch' of us who are learning how to be a curie curators, so right now, we can submit posts that get critiqued by the "real" folks and if "they" think it's worthy, they submit it.

You should feel honored that your post caught their eye! And just know, that once you've been noticed, you will quite possibly get noticed again in the future :)

Ok thanks for that clarification @lynncoyle1.

"... us who are learning how to be a curie curators ..."

From what I have seen, you are in very good company.

"You should feel honored ..."

Yes, absolutely. The highlight of my "journey," up to this point.

Thanks again!

Love love love the @pifc so I am doing one this week too. Love @maacoolette and going to See @thememestable your Second entry to. C U soon

Thank you for your support @brittandjosie!

Offcourse that the way the steemisfere works 😉

Commented and upvote both entries @roleerob. I know I don't have to tell you, another awesome job. You are definitely beginning to set a standard!

Thank you very kindly for the support @tryskele. Much appreciated!

Another great picks @roleerob😉 I like you choose @macoolette, if anyone from the pifc need our support.. It must be her! Once she powered up.. she'll be the rocket redfish!

Thank you @cicisaja.

"... she'll be the rocket redfish!"

Yep, a " Redfish Rocket!" Love it!!👍

Posted using Partiko Android

I positively sure about it.. I've been here longer than her and she got everything in 3 months while I'm struggling to create a good quality contents and she's a really good engager, her comments always insightful and true, love it.

I totally agree

I have commented and voted your entries. Great choices as always. It is great to see everyone getting back to normal after the chaos of the fork.

Hi @headchange! Good to "see" you this evening. Hope all is well with you and yours.

Thanks for stopping by and supporting my choices. And, yes, agreed. Nice to get the impact of HF20 behind us. Hopefully, "high over our heads," they are hard at work on their "post mortem" to ensure we never experience another disruption like that one ...

I supported one of your featured bloggers. Another one post is already over the payout time. Sorry for that. I like both of them. I am really interesting about heart of palm.

Thank you @mmunited, for your support of these Steemians. Yes, great "family recipe" from @atmemestable, as well as the story behind it ...

Thanks for your entry. Both bloggers have been upvoted.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63202.55
ETH 3085.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85