Steemit's Official Open Mic Judge @Verbal-D's Top 5 Entries For Week 77 (Original Blog)

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)


Steemit Open Mic Week 77

My Top 5 In Order


U5dr8oM2omDT43VKqDaA2Zn9ig9qbGA_1680x8400.png


As one of the 6 judges, and as an original artist also, I aim to represent the best original artists in this contest from our wonderful Steemit community. I am keeping my ears open for cover artists as well, don't worry but creating an original song is indeed impressive, especially if executed and performed well. Best of skill and performance to you all next week. This week was filled with so many wonderful artists, even amongst the high amount of entries, and there were still many talented performers who entered, so forgive me if I didn't list you, I definitely heard everyone's entries. Also, be sure to check out the other judges' top picks for the week, @krystle, @soundlegion, @passion-ground, @meno, and @luzcypher, who hosts the Open Mic Contest. See you next week! And don't forget to please vote for @Pfunk, @Ausbitbank, & @Teamsteem as witnesses, all three of whom are our biggest supporters equally who help to run, fund, curate, build and expand the Open Mic Contest.


1. @nathankaye's "Silence (Waves Of Life)" Original Song

Easily one of your most heartfelt and deeply touching performances. Music like this transcends the entertainment factor because it has meaninful intentions and an undeniable purpose. This powerfully profound song captivates the listeners with real, raw emotions, backed by a saddening experience of the loss of your dear friend Neil, and is also reminiscent of others who have also fallen victim to their own depressive mentalities. Suicide is by far one of the most devastating situations that can happen to our loved ones and those we care about, or anyone for that matter because we are all valued and connected. You raise the awareness tenfold to all those who come across this inspiring song, and I hope it continues to reach those who it can aid the most in their time of desperation, confusion and need for guidance and hope. The wailing crying you infuse within your long held notes of mourning make this a most haunting experience and awakens empathy immediately. Truly thank you for sharing such a deep song and gem. This is a timeless masterpiece. Looking forward to what you share with us next...

https://steemit.com/openmic/@nathankaye/steemit-open-mic-week-77-silence-waves-of-life-nathan-kaye-original-song


2. @pedromrmourato's "Bang" Original Song

Another phenomenal performance from you and one of your extremely talented friends. Ella Nor was spot on with her conviction, great vocal control, instilled emotion and passionate display of musical skill how she effortlessly delivered those sweet and lamenting melodies of a broken heart. The lyrics were well written and the storyline is all too familiar for the shattered attempts of true love for individuals all around the world. I absolutely love all these originals you all are putting out and you have yet to be oversaturated or tiresome. Please keep up the same energy and continue to raise the high quality standard of the open mic contest. You motivate others to bring their A game and allow others to take risks and breach beyond the limitations they believe they once had. It is safe to say you are bringing copious amounts of talent for our enjoyment and growth, and you and your team of elite level musicians/performers are becoming a favorite to look forward to within our music community.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@pedromrmourato/steemit-openmic-week-77-bang-original-song


3. @honeymoon-1611's "We'll Be Stars" Cover Song

Your voice is as angelic and naturally beautiful as the scenery you have chosen for your background visuals. You rise to the occasion and sing always from the heart, making every entry highly satisfying. I found the lyrics quite poetic and although I may not agree with everything being said, the positive vibes and feel good frequencies are undeniable. Musically, you easily make every cover song your own and that shows your potential ability to make a great original song one day, and it will be a wonderful thing to witness when you share it with us all. There is not much more to say about this pleasant sounding gem, you continue to show you are a bonafide and talented singer/musician. Thanks for another consistent entry looking forward to your next one.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@honeymoon-1611/steemit-open-mic-week-77-we-ll-be-stars-cover-by-honeymoon-1611


4. @eyewritedaily's ”Bonnie Doone" Original Song

You have a great voice and play the guitar well. What struck me about this entry was your storytelling abilities and how you crafted such an approach to a wonderfully inspiring woman named Bonnie Doone. I do not know who she is but if I were to guess, I would think her to be a close loved one of yours, possibly a your mother, or a mother figure. You detail her harsh upbringing in the most subtle but effective ways and also describe your longing for salvation from the devouring flames that jeopardize your very soulful existence. It is quite the gripping story and poetically woven with suspense and hopefulness. Thank you for sharing this great original song and I look forward to your next artistic creation.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@eyewritedaily/steemit-open-mic-week-77-or-bonnie-doone-original-song-or-eyewritedaily


5. @alejandra23's "Let's Twist Again" Cover Song

As I have stated before and as you know, we have watched you grow as an artist and you have given us some wonderful entries since you first joined the Open Mic Contest. I have to say that this is easily one of your top performances. Hardly any flaws can be heard in your 8 takes layered seamlessly over one another. Some young Steemians may not have been exposed to this genre or era of music but you, as a multi-genre artist, you prove you can do it all, from modern pop to oldschool soul and even alternative rock and more. This was such a fun entry, and it sounds so tight technically, and you delivered with the right amount of energy and the harmonies were on point as well as the background percussions. I felt like I was listening to the radio play some old classic jams with my grandmother. Thanks for these feel good vibes, your hard work definitely paid off. I know an entry like this isn't easy to say the least and your tonality and pitch were more than satisfactory. Looking forward to your next entry.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@alejandra23/steemit-openmic-semana-77-alejandra23-lets-twist-again-cover





Honourable Mentions


My Top 7 In A Particular Order : )


1. @ed-the-songster's "Meant To Be Real" Original Song

Easily one of my most favorite songs of yours, one I have heard before from your sis @dreemit and the lyrics are so deep that they definitely hit home on what is happening in this crazy twisted world today. We adapt to our situations and don't regret anything, but learn from our past and do our best in the present to pave a brighter future amongst the evil and deception indeed. This is definitely a winner and one for the playlist of a grounded soul.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@ed-the-songster/open-mic-week-77-original-song-meant-to-be-real


2. @moderndayjester's "Apologize" By One Republic Cover Song

Welcome to the Steemit community and the open mic family. So glad you found us and joined in. Really nice entry, I was not expecting such a fresh and on point beatboxing alongside your smooth piano playing and chill vocals. You gave an all around great performance. Definitely looking forward to what you share with us next.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@moderndayjester/steemit-openmic-week-77-one-republic-apologize-mdj-cover


3. @yoi's "Y Ahora" Original Song

This is such a fun and catchy original song, but with a very important and deep message of appreciating the love someone gives you daily. It is too easy to take one's love for granted and receive the whole time without reciprocating it back, but as this wonderful song states, the opportunity is gone and someone else has taken your place, and now you cannot find another woman who loves as greatly as the one you lost. Great lyrics, your first verse was a bit slow but you picked up speed and momentum from the chorus til the end. Really nice

https://steemit.com/openmic/@yoi/steemit-openmic-week-77-original-song-y-ahora


4. @melavie's ”Feeling Good” By Nina Simone Cover Song

You always bring to life any song you put your musical voice on and it is such a treat. We feel good about you being with us as well so often on this journey of growth and inspiration. Great cover choice, but it pales in comparison to some of your highly acclaimed originals. Yes I said it, lol no disrespect to Nina Simone's song writing, her singing is undeniable, but the relevance of your songs speak volumes to me personally on what you write about in this day and age and the issues we face and tackle individually and together.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@melavie/openmic-week-77-feeling-good-nina-simone-cover


5. @nadabrahmasounds' "Distant Sky" Original Composition

You are a professional musician with the skills of many different instruments, you brought so much ancestral sounds of beauty with this flute. Much respect and it was a serene and captivating performance all the way through. I need to find a place of refuge in the mountains and forests now.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@nadabrahmasounds/steemit-openmic-week-77-hernan-suarez-distant-sky-original-song


6. @dr00min's ”Being Ignored” Original Song

You are definitely not ignored this week, you gave us a really good, creative original song. The conviction definitely delivered the right tones and vibes. You played some nice guitar chords and displayed some skillful songwriting prowess. Keep it up and I look forward to what you share with us next.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@dr00min/steemit-open-mic-week-77-dr00min-original-song-being-ignored


7. @lucybanks "Spanish Sahara" By Foals Cover Song

This was a nice track and I appreciated the layering effects, the concept is great and the risk taking you did shows your versatility as an artist. Since you specifically asked us for honest opinions and feedback, I must say that your smooth background vocals and luring harmonies shined through throughout most of the track, but some sections of your main live vocals were slightly off pitch and when you belted some notes it was a bit forced which made me disconnect from the moments you were trying to create. It happens sometimes when we get caught up in the emotions of the song, something I can relate to. I hold you to a higher standard in a good way, because I know you're capable of delivering a more polished performance as you have shown before. I still recognise your efforts, and as I said to others, this style of an entry is not easy by any means, but with layering comes a difficult task of fine tuning even the slightest fluctuation of quality that may disrupt the experience and balance of many recordings. Definitely looking forward to your next one for sure and see what you bring out.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@lucybanks/steemit-open-mic-week-77-spanish-sahara-foals-cover



Special Mentions


I want to mention more people, but I keep my judging strict for a reason. Many of you inspire me and make an impact. There simply are too many wonderful artists here, which is why open mic continues to grow. Keep playing and sharing please.


Artist On My Radar From Week 77


@petrajordan @joseacabrerav @badcamper @itinerantartist @drewley @art-mess @darrenclaxton @sallyswitchblade @donroberts @wethepatsies @babycrow @williamsreinoso @leomolina @pipomontilla @moontse @digitalopus @untaljames @chrisgoans @dannyhamilton @armoniritmia @pauliecruz @michaeldietrich @rjcha @wilins @timothybusker @marillion @yetxuni @buddhaboy @nirtsfaty @chaifm @dr00min @solburgos @ceparl @gabrielinho @yenibe @tarotbyfergus @operahoser @khoaperation @laleerock @ikasumanera @yonderarrietajr2 @melissakellie @esaug @jaybird @laviq @johannesburghart @heberthjose @silviagoh @teukurobbybinor @maerod @danieldyemusic @pechichemena @raliczfealk @dreamrafa @blackasael @tamsguitar @yulita @yrmaleza @vera.carla @denis.savisko3 @talmid


Apparently a lot of people don't know that I, @Verbal-D, am a Hip Hop Emcee as much as I am a singer/songwriter/beat producer, so I will continue to showcase from now on the song that inspired @Luzcypher to create the Open Mic Contest that we are all apart of today. I hope it inspires you to write original music.


The Official Steemit Song By @Verbal-D, Feat. @Papa-Pepper & @EdgarStudio


A Must Read Rap Verse Of Why I Love Hip Hop



Creating & Sharing Positive, Conscious, & Inspiring Hip Hop To All
Click Green Title Above To Read



More original music from me coming very soon, stay tuned to my profile this week. I'll be releasing more live performances and professionally recorded tracks shortly.


Thank you for viewing and reading this post in its entirety, I hope you enjoyed it for what it's worth.


All Gifs used from Giphy.com

Next Post coming tomorrow

Please Upvote, Comment, Follow & Resteem to show your support

My very own wonderful gif logos provided to me by the generous and kindhearted @papa-pepper & @termitemusic. Thanks again very much!

Sort:  

Wow! I was just turning my phone off to get some sleep (it’s late here in Australia) & I see your top 5 post.
Number 1!!! Not sure I’ll get to sleep now!!!
Now I know Open Mic is not about getting top placement in judges Top 5 or in the contest overall, but thank you so much, bro, from the bottom of my heart, for recognising not just the important message I’m sharing, but also the passion and work that went into it.
And that’s why I think it’s important in this case.
It represents our values as a community when songs (or any art work) that have been intentionally created to convey healing and positive transformation, especially from our darkest times, get recognition like this.
It helps set the bar for what we all must strive for as artists.
I know you understand this better than most.
With immense gratitude in my heart I humbly say thank you and blessings.

If anyone is feeling the pains of depression or anxiety, just know that a good wave of life will come your way again soon, even if you can’t see it from where you’re standing, so please reach out to someone now. There are hotlines with caring people that want to hear from you that can help in any situation. Call them now. We need you here with us.


Congratulations!!!! Beautiful words, voice, guitar, and sound. I finished #4 here, and as you said it's not about ranking, but it's always really nice to be recognized. Looking forward to hearing more from you, Nathan!

Enjoyed reading because this part made many things clear..thnks

Thanks for reading glad you enjoyed it

Good friend

Thanks Appreciate it

You are welcome

todo muy bonito felicitaciones y éxito

Thanks for stopping by they were all great

Thank you so much for listening, and I'm glad you liked the song! I love your analysis of the song. If I could explain this without confusing myself 😝:

Bonnie Doone is the name of a really poor, crime-infested area where I grew up in North Carolina. Years later, I discovered that my parents actually met there (though neither of them lived there at the time).

Anyway, at times it felt kind of like a parent who wasn't very good at it, but tried her best. A broken system left her with little resources to keep up with what the community needed, and while I wore it as a Scarlet Letter growing up, it's more like a badge of courage now. I survived, and I want to empower others who are still there to do the same.

Thanks again @verbal-d! I look forward to getting to know your music as the community grows. :D

Thanks for the fresh explanation, the song makes more sense with that deep insight. You're most welcome as well. Congrats on your 4th place win :)

Thank you, brother @verbal-d
Have a good week :))

I have to admit I'm lucky to have these extremely talented friends, without them my guitar would sound lonely and incomplete! It's a great joy to have the chance to work with the amazing musicians I've been working on lately, it definitly pushes me to be a better musician everyday. Ella Nor is incredible... I really want to see her steping on those big stages worlwide... hope she has the chance to do it someday, because the talent she has for sure! Thank you so much again!

You're most welcome, she can definitely achieve what she wants and that applies for you as well. Congrats on your 1st place win, you both. The open mic community definitely pushes me to improve my artistry as well, let's keep making progress!

Thanks bro, hope your right! I'll put my efforts on it! We should do something together

You're most welcome. And yeah I am always down to collaborate if the idea and direction is right. Appreciate the open invitation, do you have discord?

Hey man, I have discord but never used it. I believe this is my user, Pedro Mourato#7285, right?

I just saw this lol, I will send you a friend request right now, I just talked to @paulobassman as well about asking again for both of you and his' Discord info

Yes, he showed me the songs he sent you, I'll put some guitars on it! I'm liking the vibe

That's great news to hear bro, when you lay some guitars on the tracks let me know. Would love to check it out, Im writing to those and chopping up some ideas for em :)

Thanks so much for the mention! im glad you enjoyed it! sometimes is good to do a trip inside of us, and music is the best channel for that!

You're most welcome, indeed it is I have journeyed far and wide from within, a beautiful growth process

Thank you so much for including me into this list of amazing musicians! I am really humbled when I listen to all this talent here.
Also I wanna thank you for what you said about my own songs. It's really beautiful to read you feel like that about my songwriting. I'll and put out some new originals then. :)

You are so welcome @melavie, we look forward to each of them and the moments you share and create

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94