Steemit's Official Open Mic Judge @Verbal-D's Top 5 Entries For Week 54 (Original Blog)

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)


Steemit Open Mic Week 54

My Top 5 In Order


As one of the 5 judges, and as an original artist also, I aim to represent the best original artists in this contest from our wonderful Steemit community. I am keeping my ears open for cover artists as well, don't worry but creating an original song is indeed impressive, especially if executed and performed well. Best of skill and performance to you all next week. This week was filled with so many wonderful guitarists and had a lot of entries, so much so that I added two more slots to my honourable mentions list, and there were still many talented performers who entered, so forgive me if I didn't list you, I definitely heard everyone's entries. See you next week!



1. @dreamrafa's "Scape Route" Original Improv
You really cannot deny skill like this when you hear it. @dreamrafa is a veteran and highly talented, speaking seemingly effortlessly through his guitar and it is just mind-blowing to see how crafty and complex his playing can be. He is truly an inspiration in our Steemit Community and is a force to reckon with. Thank you very much for your consistent awesomeness and mean guitar shredding abilities.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@dreamrafa/steemit-open-mic-week-54-scape-route-improvisation



2. @kjablonski's "Let It Go" Original Song
You are a top notch performer, classy and very well poised as always. You consistently provide beautifully structured original songs and display your talents with ease as well. You too are no pushover in our Steemit Open Mic Contest, and you set the bar high for all aspiring original artists who aim to sing and play and instrument as well as you do. It is near second nature to you, and the passion you sing with easily carries you to the top list as you carefully place nuances and emotions with each word you release. You know what makes music so moving and impacting to a listener's heart and soul, and you can give a concert at any time and have everyone zoned in. Thank you always for your talents.
https://steemit.com/openmic/@kjablonski/steemit-openmic-week-54-original-song-let-it-go



3. @tamsguitar's "Fusion Blues in A" Original Improv
You are another guitar veteran who deserves much recognition, acknowledgement and appreciation for all the beautiful and wonderfully sounding entries you have shared with us over this year's plus worth of Contests. If a guitar was a globe, you'd be a highly sought after geographer and geologist. You know your way around a guitar and the way you play the blues is near flawless. Your high caliber performances are either sharpened natural talents, or countless years of hard work and dedication, or a fusion of both. Either way, your prowess in this music field is unchallenged, and I look forward to more of your entries in the future.
https://steemit.com/openmic/@tamsguitar/steemit-open-mic-week-54-fusion-blues-in-a-guitar-improvisation-20171013t235851626z



4. @lucybanks's "Howling by Ry X" Cover Song
For someone who has had a hangover in last week, and now a cold in this week's performance, you certainly have a gift of music when you begin to sing. Your tone quality and texture is very captivating and easy to listen to. The cover you chose fit your voice very well and was complimented by the accompaniment of your nice smooth guitar playing. Please keep continuing to perform and share your music. Your passion also shows how dedicated you are with what you present each week. It is truly inspiring to hear your love for this artform and can't wait to check out more of your original songs as well. Great cover.

https://steemit.com/openmic/@lucybanks/steemit-open-mic-week-54-howling-by-ry-x-cover-by-lucybanks



5. @zhusatriani's "More Than Words" Cover Song
@zhusatriani, your playing was excellently displayed with the right amount of gentle accompaniment to your friend Lynette Lee's very nice voice. This was a solid and moving performance from you both and your chemistry with music was unmatched as a duo. You both held your own, yet intertwined your talents and gifts well to execute this cover song to its highest vibration. Easily sounds polished like a radio record and very smooth throughout. Thank you for sharing this with us.
https://steemit.com/openmic/@zhusatriani/steemit-openmic-week-54-more-than-words-cover-featuring-lynnette-lee





Honourable Mentions


My Top 7 In No Particular Order



7. @wishmaiden's "Moonlight Serenade" Cover Song
https://steemit.com/openmic/@wishmaiden/open-mic-week-54-cover-of-james-bay-hold-back-the-river


Thank you for viewing and reading this post in its entirety, I hope you enjoyed it for what it's worth.


All Gifs used from Giphy.com

Next Post coming tomorrow

Sort:  

I’m blown away by the kind and encouraging words you have given, as a songwriter it means so much to have that level of appreciation. Thanks again @verbal-d 🙌🏻

You are most welcome @kjablonksi, you make it easy to give back such appreciation, and I am glad to do so when I can.


This post was resteemed by @steemitrobot!
Good Luck!

Resteem your post just send 0.100 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo. We have over 2000 followers. Take our service to reach more People.

Pro Plan: just send 1 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo we will resteem your post and send 10 upvotes from our Associate Accounts.

The @steemitrobot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in steemitrobot's feed.
Some of them are truly great. Please upvote this comment for helping me grow.

Some awesome music again.

Thank you very much, I appreciate it.

Excellent rundown of last weeks entries "D!" It's clear that you have a way with "words" within both your music and your reflection thereupon. You rock, "D!"

Thanks so much @passion-ground, I appreciate you bro. Glad you enjoyed this breakdown for this week, it was quite amazing to hear everyone.

five, I have five siblings.
are you the fifth child or have five siblings also ... ??
I like 5

Nice, congrats, I too also have 5 siblings, but I'm not the youngest, not the 5th.

oh means we have something in common.

Ah @verbal-d!! Very kind words again! Thank you so much, haha the cold and hangover are gone now :D

You are very welcome, glad to hear you're much better, now your music performances will have less impediments and opens up more possibilities for new entries.

Great job my friend! Love your picks , im following some of them as well ! Good luck everyone ! Upped and resteemed🎵🎶🎼🎸🎸🎸🎵🎶🎼🎸

Thank you very much my friend, glad you enjoyed these picks. There were simply too many good performers this week, I love seeing everyone improve and get better as well. it is a beautiful thing!

Yes im sure it is !! And your very welcome !👍👍👍💕💕💕

Thanks @verbal-d! You are the man. I really appreciate you getting this in on time each week. I appreciate the amount of work it takes to go through them all. Great job. Resteemed.

You are most welcome, I appreciate you as well bro. Yeah I know how important it is, so I definitely try and stay on top of this, putting out good feedback in enough time before the selected winners are posted.

Awesome picks as usual @verbal-d ... not an easy job to be a judge!

Thank you very much @meno, I appreciate your kind comment, and you are correct, this week was more difficult than the previous ones.

This is strange. I resteemed your post but do not see it on my blog even after refreshing the page. Hmm. Never seen that happen before. I also resteemed the other judge's posts and they show up but for some reason, your post did not.

Here's a screenshot of the resteem on your post you made 19 hours ago from this comment.

verbal_d_resteem.png

and here is a screenshot of my blog not showing your resteem.

verbal_d_missing_resteem.png

Has this happened to anyone else before? Anyway. I wanted to post this because in my earlier comment I said I resteemed your post and I did. In case anyone checked I wanted them to know I wasn't just saying I resteemed it as some people do.

Strange. Anyone know how to fix this or report it?

Its happening a lot lately, not only with reestem but redeeming and even posting... I guess it have to do with the problem steemit.com had lately...

Really? This is the first I've heard about it. BTW, congratulations on placing 1st in Open Mic this week.

Yeah man thanks!... Yep, i just got trouble trying to make a comment, there are some glitch here and there around... Dont know why, i guess its just the guys updating steemit.com...

Thanks for trying bro, I completely agree with @dreamrafa, Steemit has been glitching with commenting, redeeming, resteeming and even posting, sometimes losing what I have prepared, so make sure to always copy and paste your post before you submit it. Hope the updates smooth everything out soon

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66552.34
ETH 3451.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65