OFFICIAL: Open-Mic | @passion-ground's Top-5 Entries for Week 72

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

Top-Five.png


Summary

...So last week I mentioned that I was taking clear notice of all of the spectacular “instrumental” talent here at the Open-Mic venue. I am thrilled to share with you that one of them has made it into my top-5 this week!

In addition, 3 more of these awesome musicians made into my special top-20 mentions this week. They are in no particular order: @cezanne, @oliverwaterman, and @guifaquetti. Do make it a point to check out each of these outstanding musicians and their instrumental entries for week 72.

In recent weeks, quite a few of you have asked me if I was planning on doing any more music or if I was simply too consumed with my duties as an Open-Mic judge. The answer to both queries is yes and yes. I’d likely be doing a whole lot more music if I weren’t a judge, however, albeit, at a snail’s pace, I do plan on sprinkling elements of music here and there amid the Open-Mic venue whenever I get the chance. This happens to be one such week that I had such opportunity.

At the end of this post I am going to share a shamelessly self-promoting video shout-out to my niece as the two of us cover Bonnie Raitt’s rendition of a John Prine original. Not for nothing, but I would have definitely placed this performance in my top-10 if firstly, it was an “official” entry, and secondly if I wasn’t playing all the instruments in it. I hope you guys enjoy the video as much as I enjoyed putting the entire production together.

So with all of that said, following some further insights as to how I judge, let’s get it on, shall we?

Steemit Open Mic Week 72


Libra-Man SCALES.png

My Process


As one of the esteemed Open Mic judges, it is my job to come up with (or “curate” as it were) a short-list of my top 5 entrants each week. With all of the great talent here, that is by no means an easy task. Sure, tossing in another 5 honorable mentions helps, but not when my weekly list starts out with 100 or more of my favorite entries... You guy's rock - I'm tellin ya!

Yes, I am a Libra – so I have an inherent drive deep within me to be fair and balanced – good qualities for a “judge” if you ask me. That being said, I’m still human – filled with emotion and subjective feelings – just like you. So, in order to mitigate my subjective tendencies to the best extent possible, I’ve come up with a method by which to narrow down my selections in a more objective vs. arbitrary manner.

Here’s how I go about my personal judging process: I first start out with a list of 100 or more of my most favorite entries for the week, and score them (yes, subjectively) in six distinct categories via a spreadsheet. The categories I’ve selected for scoring are in general harmony with those explained by @luczypher in his post titled How We Pick The Top 3 Entries, referencing such.

To get a more in-depth perspective as to how I personally go about selecting my artists, please refer to What I go through as an Open-Mic Judge.

Even though it’s still a “subjective” process – diligently going through each scoring category to come up with a “total” score for each entrant helps to minimize any overzealous subjectivity that I may harbor with respect to any specific entrants.

Quite often, this exercise doesn’t give me the exact results I would personally prefer to see – but that only means that my system of judging is working as intended and designed. With all of that said, here are...

My Top-5 Picks in Order


FIRST PLACE: @trevorpetrie - “Little Bird” - (Original)

Brooding as I was on Wednesday, missing the tenderness of that special kind of love, Trevor’s “Little Bird” hit home and brightened all such darkness I had been harboring that day. Despite describing how he missed such love himself, “Little Bird” shed a glowing light on the desires and hopes that envelop each of us when we find that ever-so-elusive and enduring love with that very special someone we call our own. In this case, it was Trevor’s “Little Bird.” Not simply because of any sort of Valentine’s Day theme, but solely in honor of his brilliant composition, performance, and stunning (3-Mic) audio quality, Trevor has earned himself my number 1 spot here in week 72.
https://steemit.com/openmic/@trevorpetrie/steemit-openmic-week-72-original-song-little-bird


SECOND PLACE: @abelfernandez – “El Mismo Dolor” - (Original)


His subtle guitar intro begins rather innocuously but nonetheless quite pleasing to the ear. Soon thereafter, it becomes abundantly clear that the vocal melodies @abelfernandez creates and executes are something quite special. Throughout the balance of this impassioned performance, in concert with excellent audio quality and vibrant musical dynamics, Fernandez convinced me in no uncertain terms that he very much belonged in my number 2 spot this week.
https://steemit.com/openmic/@abelfernandez/steemit-open-mic-semana-72-cancion-original


THIRD PLACE: @danshawmusic – “To Love Somebody” - (Cover)


Three things I love: / 1. Dan Shaw’s vocals, / 2. Eden Michelle’s artistry, and 3, early Bee Gee’s music. Now that’s a perfect trifecta worthy of placing 3rd in my book! To my ear, the first note Dan sings initially appears ever-so-slightly astray. However, in the very next moment, when Eden breaks that first incredibly spot-on chord change, the whole darn thing just comes together and rings true to perfection throughout! In the final chorus, when Eden takes the main melody allowing Dan the opportunity for some great vocal embellishments, well, now that was just icing on the cake, and thereby clinching their number 3 spot.
https://steemit.com/openmic/@danshawmusic/steemit-open-mic-week-72-to-love-somebody-the-bee-gees-dan-shaw-cover


FOURTH PLACE: @javierdunn – “If You Go” - (Original)


Javier has been on my radar for the last few weeks for sure. This week, his original composition “If You Go” just got to me. His guitar playing is brilliant throughout the entire performance. The melancholy storyline calibrated amid his melodically pleasing lyrical constructs easily draws the listener toward translating this song into something that is readily recognizable and relatable. It sure resonated with me, I loved it, and that’s why Javier is here in my number 4-spot here in week 72.
https://steemit.com/openmic/@javierdunn/steemit-open-mic-week-72-original-song-if-you-go


FIFTH PLACE: @adreini – “On a Brisk Day” - (Instrumental Cover)


So here is just one of the amazingly talented instrumentalists that I’ve been speaking about these last couple of weeks. I noticed @adreini right from when she first started entering the Open-Mic several weeks ago. One of the things that set this performance apart from some of the others was the lengths she went to in order to create and record each of the three parts that comprise this rather fun and entertaining performance. For her brilliant musicianship, creativity, and the pure entertainment value therein, I’ve proudly rounded out my top-5 for this week with Adreini’s “On a Brisk Day.”
https://steemit.com/openmic/@adreini/steemit-open-mic-week-72-on-a-brisk-day


Honorable Mention.png



My Top-5 Honorable Mentions in Order:



Fifth: @rial17 – “Memories” - (Original)
https://steemit.com/openmic/@rial17/steemit-open-mic-week-72-original-song-memorise


SHAMELESS SHOUT-OUT

Special Mention: @passion-ground & Co. – “Angel from Montgomery” - (Cover)
https://steemit.com/openmic/@passion-ground/steemit-open-mic-week-72-or-new-passion-ground-cover-or-unofficial


Thank you for reviewing my selections for this week’s Open-Mic contest. If you find this content I’ve curated entertaining and of value to you, then please consider up-voting and/or re-steeming it.


NEW Open-Mic Team.png

Peace, Love, and Justice for All


A Very Special Shout Out To:

The following 20 artists who were very much on my radar, each within a splitting hair of making it into my overall top-10, and whose performances I loved, cherish, and respect most assuredly. This special list is very much an extension of my most honorable mentions.

They are - in no particular order:

@sebastianhughes, @cezanne, @art-mess, @nathankaye, @pechichemena, @juliolunar, @williamsreinoso, @zipporah, @elisonr13, @mrprecious, @oliverwaterman, @wilins, @mightyjoenolan, @edenmichelle, @storycharlemagne, @guifaquetti, @stanhopeofficial, @kayclarity, @beeflomein, and @vera.carla.


Another Special Shout Out To:

The following artists whose performances I very much enjoyed this week.

They are - in no particular order:

@rodolfoyanez, @teukurobbybinor, @jgvinstl, @chimtivers96, @silviagoh, @acousticsteveo, @pboss123, @yulita, @melodeons, @roman.musica, @funkmedia, @innerdialogue, @etemi, @steevc, @digitalopus, @lyon89, @tfeldman, @shaktisun, @chrisroberts, @miguelarl, @jotadiaz12, @val.halla, @jetperalta, @marcusings, @alejandra23, @cabelindsay, @jo-el, @popsoz, @mcmusic, @claratymusic, @prayer11, @lk666, @rockchickjen, @coruscate, @malvarezmusic, @adviuniversity, @fax4u, @andrewmarkmusic, @miguelblanco, @honeymoon-1611, @gabrielamenesesg, @ljv, @orrslaw, @tarotbyfergus, @yrmaleza, @betzaelcorvo, @mrbloom, @abyni, @proxytech, @senzenfrenz, @solburgos, @tonicro, @johelconh, @puralife, @operahoser, @dominiqueguitars, @bennettitalia, @soykatonline, @wethepatsies, @dreamrafa, and @stephantattoo.

Much love and thanks to each and every one of you who have touched a part of my heart and soul - not only this week but forever!


Sort:  

@trevorpetrie song was awesome ! great picks this week my friend love your ear! always a nod from this end :) and that danshawmusic love her voice

Wow - Thank you so much, Bonnie - Love your ear as well, - like no other... Big love, girlfriend! :-) Thank you!

Thanks @passion-ground. Nice picks.

Here's the new team pic.

steemit_open_mic_team_new.png

I still look like the "oldest" one... Ha-haaaa! All kidding aside, this is great, man... I love it Luzcy! @Meno is going to be such an asset to the Open-Mic brand! Great choice! Much love, brother!

Thanks for the mention @passion-ground! Also @beeflomein has the best handle on #steemit and a very nice natural vocal style.

You got it, Joe, thanks!

we create our first video in the 72 week, so we wanna plays some tunes each week, amazing contests!

beyond honored to make the list! thank you for listening and caring and sharing. that's what it's all about! THANK YOU!!

Your entry this week was simply outstanding, man! Thank you!

Well done @javierdunn :) Great song!

This is the new thing I look forward to doing every week now.

Words alone cannot express my gratitude for you and everyone who works on the open mic challenge!

Wow, bro -what you just said carries a lot of weight, and I most certainly appreciate your sentiments. Thank you, my friend!

Nice choices bro i like your highlights and the shameless shoutout, believe it or not, I was already planning to do the same for my post from now on forward to highlight more music from me and others within the post :) great minds think alike and differently as well

Thank you, bro... You are always at the vanguard of creativity within the realm... for that I am ever-so-grateful! Much love, brother "D!"

Hey there @passion-ground! I'm almost speechless! I'm incredibly honoured to be your #1 pick! I'm so glad this song was able to bring you some brightness when it was needed. I had practically shelved this song and hadn't played it in over a year. It's always meant a lot to me but I'm so glad to be able to share it with the Steemit community. Thank you for your tireless efforts. Cheers!

Glad you dusted this one off the shelf, Trevor - it's truly a gem! Thanks, mate!

Always happy to see my name on your picks lists!

Last week we couldn't make it, but here we are trying our best! Hope you like it and thanks always for the great job you guys are doing!!!
https://steemit.com/openmic/@brendahcaroline/steemit-openmic-week-73-copenhague-vetusta-morla-la-nina-ingravida-cover

Totally looking forward to checking out your entry for week 73 - thank you so much, Brenda!

Thank you so much for the very special shout out in the top 20!
I'm honoured.
You and your neice are a formidable combination! What a powerful voice she has and your guitar work compliments it perfectly!
Blessings, good vibes and thanks for your hard work with going through all of the entries! Must be an immense task!

You are quite welcome, Nathan! We are honored to have your incredible talents showcased here at the Open-Mic venue! Blessings and good vibes in turn. Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 54917.96
ETH 2851.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.21