Steemit Open Mic Week 72 - "RISE UP" - collaboration bw @benleemusic + @danieldyemusic ORIGINAL song

in #openmic6 years ago (edited)

A VERY special Open Mic entry this week - a live collaboration between Daniel and myself on my song "Rise Up".

I was at my home in CA and @danieldyemusic was at his in OHIO but the magic of music brought us together!

I hope to see more and more of these types of collabs and experiments happening with my new Steemit friends!

Enjoy.

Sort:  

Man, this is brilliant. This is my favorite entry of the week. I'm going to have to listen to this multiple times. Maybe one day I can jump into The Fray of your collabs.

Wow thanks so much. Very kind!

Wow... Im bowing down in reverence to you boys. That was heart warming and exquisite. Thank you for the live gift!
It has just blown my mind even further open for the future potential of the Steemit platform!
@benleemusic your Aya album came as a real gift when it came out. I used In The Silence track for a guided "dreamscape" meditation I once ran, and it was the perfect medicine for all of us in that group.
Thank you for walking your own path and keeping it real!
So much love and respect!
(Ps. I did buy the album! ;) hehe )

wow so cool! thanks so much. lets let the ideas flow and collaborations will come naturally! All the best, Ben

Yeah harmonica @danieldyemusic! Sounds amazing, guys. Cheers @benleemusic

Need a bass player? Count me in! Lol.

lets do it - 4 part split screen with a drummer too?

Dude! Holy cow. I’m in!! Are you using Zoom, or what? @benleemusic

Ill email ya and we can talk logistics

I would be also very interested in how you pulled it off technically

Me too, no horrible time lags etc, do you actually really live next door to each other and hooking up directly via wifi? Lol

For something different, How about I beatbox the drums instead of a kit player?

This is so cool! Great song/collab! Sorry for the newbie sound/recording question, but how did you collaborate on this? Can you explain the steps you took to achieve this? Did you send each other files? Why are you wearing headphones? My son, @walnut1 is in DC and I'm in NJ and it would be great to do a collab like this instead of waiting for him to come home for a visit.

Nothing too fancy! Just sent audio and video to each other and then tracked to them. Then popped them into iMovie, lined the up and did a split screen :)

Thanks! I should have something ready in about 6 months!!!

Ah I see, I thought for the world you had a live hook up, that does explain things, thanks. And well done, great to see people collaborating, good job too. :)

I just came back to this post @popsoz with this same question! :)
Was such good quality I couldnt understand how on earth @benleemusic pulled it off!
Have been trying to work it out for a while now. :p

The magic of computers!

Nice. I enjoyed this. Good luck!

And this is why I joined Steemit -- such an open community! Thanks for sharing this and keep rocking on. :)

Yes! The collaborative possibilities are endless when we meet on the same wavelength!

That was just Stunning.

Heart.

What did you use to connect and record here?

The magic of computers. Recorded separately. Edited together in iMovie

Whaaa?!!! So like we’re you on like Skype or something live together while recording?

I recorded first - sent it to him - he recorded and videod next. Then we edited together.

Wow.! Because it feels like you are completely present together.

Nice job guys, absolutely loving those harmonies!

Congratulations @benleemusic! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Really beautiful song Ben and love the collaboration.

thanks_for_playing_steemit_open_mic.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 62843.32
ETH 3475.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53