OFFICIAL: Open-Mic | passion-ground's Top-5 Entries for Week 104steemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic5 years ago

Top-Five.png

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Two Years of Open-Mic – FORK-YEAH!

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

All Forked Up.png

Despite all of the numerous fork-ups surrounding HF20, the Open-Mic still managed to deliver some super incredible music to mark two successful years of uninterrupted operations on the Steemit platform.

I hope and trust that things will soon be back to normal and that the Open-Mic, Steem, and Steemit will continue forward on a steady and positive trajectory from this point forward.

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Next Up, a few words about our Sponsors

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Please, VOTE for These WITNESSES...

IMPORTANT: Before we move on, please don't forget to vote for @Pfunk as witnesses! @pfunk is our biggest supporter, and plays a major role in helping to fund, the Open Mic contest each week.

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

After a temporary dip back down to the 21 level, @pfunk has fought his way back up to #19 on the witness list! Let's keep him there, shall we? Better yet, let's keep him climbing up the ladder toward number 1!

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

In addition to @pfunk, I am also adding @curie, @fulltimegeek, @helpie, and @aggroed to my short list of “must-vote-for” witnesses who support the platform in general, and Open-Mic venue specifically.


You can vote for each of these witnesses right now by going directly to this link: https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

With all of that said, following some further insights as to how I judge entries, let’s get on with it, shall we?

Steemit Open Mic Week 104

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Libra-Man SCALES.png

My Process

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

As one of the esteemed Open Mic judges, it is my job to come up with (or “curate” as it were) a short-list of my top 5 entrants each week. With all of the great talent here, that is by no means an easy task. Sure, tossing in another 5 honorable mentions helps, but not when my weekly list starts out with 100 or more of my favorite entries... You guy's rock - I'm tellin ya!

Yes, I am a Libra – so I have an inherent drive deep within me to be fair and balanced – good qualities for a “judge” if you ask me. That being said, I’m still human – filled with emotion and subjective feelings – just like you. So, in order to mitigate my subjective tendencies to the best extent possible, I’ve come up with a method by which to narrow down my selections in a more objective vs. arbitrary manner.

Here’s how I go about my personal judging process: I first start out with a list of 100 or more of my most favorite entries for the week, and score them (yes, subjectively) in six distinct categories via a spreadsheet. The categories I’ve selected for scoring are in general harmony with those explained by @luzcypher in his post titled How We Pick The Top 3 Entries, referencing such.

To get a more in-depth perspective as to how I personally go about selecting my artists, please refer to What I go through as an Open-Mic Judge.

Even though it’s still a “subjective” process – diligently going through each scoring category to come up with a “total” score for each entrant helps to minimize any overzealous subjectivity that I may harbor with respect to any specific entrants.

Quite often, this exercise doesn’t give me the exact results I would personally prefer to see – but that only means that my system of judging is working as intended and designed. With all of that said, here are...

My Top-5 Picks in Order

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

FIRST PLACE: @pechichemena – El molino - (Original)

Pechiche has been on fire lately! Despite this being a product of a short poem inspired by the various muses that enable a song to come to life, “El Molino” can just as easily translate into a song of many meanings. The production value, execution, melodies, and vocal harmonies are splendid! This composition amongst many others, is a keeper for sure, Pechiche!
https://steemit.com/openmic/@pechichemena/steemit-open-mic-week-104-el-molino-original-song

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

SECOND PLACE: @shookriya – Steemit Open Mic Check - (Original)

With his low-key creative genius, Shook surprises us yet again with a special tribute to the two-year anniversary of Open-Mic. Quite honestly, rap was one of the last things I expected from Shook, however, “Steemit Openmic Check” is simply brilliant! From the crafty lyrics to the various layers of a Shook-styled jazzified-funk, his rap and groove captivate the listener throughout. The production value, percussion, vocals, and entertainment value are quite rich. The haunting horns offer a unique and melodramatic finishing touch to the entire piece. Check it out --- Check 1 2 1 2.
https://steemit.com/openmic/@shookriya/p9w3l9lt

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

THIRD PLACE: @dianakyv - Can't Help Falling in Love - (Cover)

With brilliant accompaniment from @enriquemarval, Diana has done it once again! This time, she has taken a classic from Elvis, the King of Pop, and made it her very own. Diana’s vocal performance is simply wonderful. Her voice is pure, angelic, and replete with all manner of exquisite nuance and inflection. I can’t help falling in love with Diana week after week!
https://steemit.com/openmic/@dianakyv/steemit-open-mic-week-104-can-t-help-falling-in-love-by-dianakyv

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

FOURTH PLACE: @mariajruizb – Smile - (Cover)


With extraordinary musical accompaniment from @danieledosd2, Maria’s vocal rendition of “Smile” is stunningly beautiful. The shift in pitch mid-way through was executed perfectly. The loving care and passion in which this classic is presented and performed had me smiling quite warmly through and through.
https://steemit.com/openmic/@mariajruizb/steemit-open-mic-week-104-smile-by-mariajruizb

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

FIFTH PLACE: @elisonr13 – Pongan música country y un poco de blues - (Original)


The first treasure found in this entry is the quintessential trademark exuberance and passion that Elison is best known for. The second and by far - the most valued treasure that one takes away from this composition and performance - is the never-ending optimism, hope, and fun loving faithful inspiration in the message that Elison delivers to his countrymen and women - and by extension to us all. Nobody gets paid for crying (at least they shouldn’t) so like Elison says, better we celebrate instead!
https://steemit.com/openmic/@elisonr13/steemit-open-mic-semana-104-pongan-musica-country-y-un-poco-de-blues-original-music

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Honorable Mention.png

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

My Top-5 Honorable Mentions in Order:

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Fifth: @tarotbyfergus – How Are You, Cat? - (Original)
https://steemit.com/openmic/@tarotbyfergus/steemit-open-mic-week-104-how-are-you-cat-original

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Thank you for reviewing my selections for this week’s Open-Mic contest. If you find this content I’ve curated entertaining and of value to you, then please consider up-voting and/or re-steeming it.

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

NEW Open-Mic Team.png

Peace, Love, and Justice for All

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

A Very Special Shout Out To:

The following 20 artists who were very much on my radar, each within a splitting hair of making it into my overall top-10, and whose performances I loved, cherish and respect most assuredly. This special list is very much an extension of my most honorable mentions.

They are - in no particular order:

@cabelindsay, @funkmedia, @enazirma, @veganpetite, @rodrigo98, @carlosrada, @tfeldman, @klynic, @mayneth, @mfxae86, @siomarasalmeron, @josevallera, @drewley, @esaug, @lk666, @graceleon, @miguelblanco, @ceheiberg, @almagatuna, and @steevc!

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Another Special Shout Out To:

The following artists whose performances I very much enjoyed this week.

They are - in no particular order:


Due to the issues surrounding HF20, There were not enough entries to round out my usual shout-outs; however, I would like to draw attention to a very special tributary entry from 12 rather talented Open-Mic artists from all across the world!


https://steemit.com/openmic/@passion-ground/a-special-tributary-open-mic-entry-from-the-creative-music-community

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Much love and thanks to each and every one of you who have touched a part of my heart and soul - not only this week but forever!

Separator for Steemit Posts.png

Sort:  

Que alegría ver a Diana, María y a Elison por aquí, los tres son unos duros! Les deseo lo mejor...

<3

Indeed they are...
Thank you, Fernando!

Gracias por tu apoyo hermano. Me alegra ver los meritos que recibo por esta composición en especial, gracias muchachos, @passion-ground y @fernando.lubezki. Feliz inicio de semana.

You are very welcome, Elison...
I loved your song and performance, brother!

Gracias Fernando por tu apoyo amigo!!!... que grato es que guste lo que hacemos!!! un abrazo!!

It's been amazing to be part of this musical community for 2-years now and the music on Steemit Open Mic is thriving and inspiring. I'm so happy to be doing this with all of you. Thanks for bringing your talent and love to the platform. Long live Open Mic!

https://steemit.com/openmic/@luzcypher/steemit-open-mic-week-104-winners-see-who-won-open-mic-and-join-us-this-week

It's good to know he's back. My friend. This week I'm with the engine on: D

Thank you, Edward...
It's good to be back!

Yeah man :) honestly I don't know where the rap came from either. I don't have a guitar right now so my song writing is being seriously challenged. I had a lot of fun making it though. Those forms were a bit haunting eh? Good description. Thanks for the props brother

Posted using Partiko iOS

You got it, brother...
Thank you!

Hola @passion-ground quiero decirte que me siento muy contenta por haber tomado en cuenta mi trabajo y haberme colocado en el top 5. Un abrazo. Felicidades para todos los amigos que fueron clasificados y a los que estuvieron también en mención honorable.

Hola Maria... I am glad you are pleased...
Thank you for pleasing us the way that you do with your beautiful artistry!

Oh God! Thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you, what a beautiful comment. What a thrill to be part of your top .... Congratulations to all.

You are very welcome, Diana...
Thank you for sharing your extraordinary talents with us!

Thanks so much to take me in consideration. It's a pleasure

Your performance was great, Carlos...
Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75