Steemit Open Mic Week 139 Siciliano from Violin Sonata BWV 1017steemCreated with Sketch.

in #openmic5 years ago

This Siciliano is originally part of Johann Sebastian Bach's Sonata for Violin and Harpsichord (BWV 1017). I made a transcription of this Siciliano for organ. It is not note perfect to the original. The bassline is just the lowest note of the original harpsichord part, omitting the rest of the broken chords. The right hand part of the harpsichord part has become the left hand part in this transcription. But to make it somewhat easier to play and to fill in some of the missing notes of the original left hand part I changed some notes here and there. The violin part, unaltered, has become the part for the right hand. The result is actually very nice, I think.

The recording was done with the Hauptwerk software and the sampleset, made by Voxus, of the Müller organ in the Sint Bavokerk, Haarlem (http://www.voxusorgans.com/en/product/haarlem).

For anyone interested: the score is available on my site: http://partitura.org/index.php/johann-sebastian-bach-siciliano-from-violin-sonata-bwv-1017/

Sort:  

That was some nice performance you got there, @partitura. I already watched your videos and you still never failed to amaze me. As I said, classical music for me is timeless. They tend to draw your emotions while listening to it. Your piece now, by the way, is kinda sad. If I may interpret the tune, it tells of something like hopeless romance. My heart tends to melt while listening to it.

Hope to see again your videos. Cheers sir!

Thanks for letting me know how it impacts you. This piece is in c minor, one of the most dramatic keys there is. This piece never fails to move me. Which is actually tricky when you play it. Keeping the concentration on the playing is quite hard for me in this piece.

Hi partitura,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Yay, another organ player! I'm so glad to see you, I only know two on Steem but I bet you know them. I see you recorded this wonderful sonata in Haarlem. I've been to the Netherlands but unfortunately not to Haarlem, I heard it's very nice there.
However, I had the pleasure to visit Delft and was lucky to visit both of the churches ans in one of them (can't remember exactly which one it was) the organist was rehearsing and I could listen to him plating. Listening to your wonderful music and knowing you are from the Netherlands made me remember that.

Haarlem is a beautifully city, as is every old Dutch city. And almost every city has several churches with beautiful organs. It's a good country to live in when you love organ music... 😀

Posted using Partiko Android

I was planning to go visit it but only had three weeks in total and I was based in The Hague. Maybe next time, i hope there will be a next time as I loved your country and there's plenty to see :)

Hi @partitura,
are you for some reason from the Netherlands? I think I heard an accent here :P
I am not really listening to organ music a lot but I have deepest respect for people who can actually play it :) - How long do you already play?

Thank you for sharing your music with us :)
Max

Yes, I'm very much from the Netherlands. Main reason being I was born here.... 😀
I started playing the organ some 35 years ago. As things go, I got older, got a job, wife, children and somewhere along the way quit playing. I started again 5 years ago, and I think I can say that my playing is now better that it was ever before.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you partitura! You've just received an upvote of 37% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.


ANNOUNCING 2 MORE DELEGATION BOTS! Hey guys, if you like getting a constant supply of upvotes from @artturtle, you should definitely check out @tommyknockers and @thejollyroger for even more! Both these bots run on the same technology as @artturtle and so work the exact same way. Currently @tommyknockers grants up to $0.10 upvotes and @thejollyroger will add another $0.01 on top of that. These bots just launched so newcomers are getting 100% upvotes. Check them out and start growing your posts today!

hi @partitura
I have to be honest and tell you that I don't understand anything about music, but I really envy those who know how to play and produce these wonderful sounds !! I love Bach and your version is wonderful !! but what is a Sicilian? the music is this your job or do you do it for passion?
congratulations on your curie vote and thanks for sharing your work !!

Thanks for the nice compliments. I am not a professional musician, only an amateur. It's more a passion than a job.

A Siciliano is a music so form or genre, often included as a movement in larger pieces of music. It in slow 6/8 time, often with a dotted rythm. The Siciliano I play here is just one of several Bach wrote. A famous one is the Siciliano from the flute sonata BWV 1031. I intend to play that one next week.

Posted using Partiko Android

Resteemed, your post will appear in the next curation with a SBD share for you!


Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community on Steemit as it appears to be of interest to our community. We also support jazz and folk music posts!

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.


The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio or follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto!

Delegation links: 10SP, 25SP, 50SP, 75SP, 100SP, 150SP, 200SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60723.46
ETH 3353.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51