Open Mic Week 95 - Top 5 Selection and Honorable Mentions

in #openmic6 years ago

We are closing another amazing week at the #openmic my friends. I love how more and more entrants are joining our family with original material.



Without any more delays, here we go:

First Place.-

@breakoutthecrazy - What are you (original song)

I suggest you click on this song at your own risk. If you've had one of those emotional weeks, seek some tissues before clicking. The haunting melodies trapped me, I was an emotional victim and @breakoutthecrazy the merciless ones here.

I'm extremely happy these amazing humans are back, and I'm blown away with their entry.

Second Place.-

@tomashofficial - Sentimental (Porcupine Tree Cover)

In true @tomashofficial style the guitar work on this cover is absolutely fantastic. The emotional delivery of the vocals left nothing to be desired. I'm really glad Tomas tackled this cover, honestly it made me remember this fantastic song by one of the most underrated songwriters of our time (imo).

Amazing work Tomas...

Third Place.-

@ user - El frio(orignal song)

I've got not clue as to what to call this style of music. It's a combination of lounge and hip hop with a tinge of singer songwriter. I seriously have no clue. But, what I can say is that the track and production is absolutely fantastic. The lyrics are deep and full of delicious metaphors.

Absolutely amazing track Juan...

Fourth Place.-

@joseacabrerav - El cuento de nunca acabar(original song)

Aside from the beautiful performance of his original song. Jose has become one of my favorite lyricists. The lyrics of his tunes just hit you right in the feels as they say. I'm going to attempt to translate just the first paragraph here, because I fear that the emotions get lost with the language barrier.

Como sabría yo que en dias tan grises
Navegando en barcos de papel
Pintaria una de esas sonrisas
Que se sueñan por primera vez.
Como el cuento de nunca acabar
Me deje llevar, me fuí sin más,
cuando haces las cosas sin pensar,
ese fue "Mi perfecto plan".

How would I ever know that in my grayest of days
I would be sailing boats built with paper
Painting one of those smiles
That can only dream for the first time
Just like stories never meant to end
I let myself go, I left with nothing
Acting without giving it much thought
and that.. Was my perfect plan.

Granted the rhymes are lost, but I sincerely hope the core message survive the mutation. It's just fantastic writing, what can I possibly say?

Fifth Place.-

@nadabrahmasounds - Untitled Original Song

This track belongs on a movie. That is really how I can describe it. The haunting melody is so catchy, so pleasant, one can't help but to enjoy it with intensity.

I will fail to describe much more than that, you just have to surrender to it.

Honorable Mentions


In no particular order, these are some of the performances I loved this week.... I'm super grateful for being someone who gets to listen to this talent.

@drewley - Original Piano composition


Don't forget to checkout the official Steemit OpenMic judges picks from @passion-ground @krystle @soundlegion and @verbal-d. Winners selected and announced every Monday on @luzcypher's blog page.

My deepest of Gratitudes


I would like to personally thank @ausbitbank, @curie and @aggroed for helping out our community. It's inspiring to see leadership taking the initiative to keep our beloved #openmic alive like this and its to me the biggest bullish indicator that we are on our way to a better, brighter tomorrow.

To our long time patron @pfunk once again, thank you for backing this project as you have for so long. I hope seeing the community rally behind the contest that we love so much made you proud. We have something very special here, and you've been key for it to be what it has become.

Long live the openmic!!!




And that is it for me and week #95, not too late in the day, not like last time... Ready to do this all over again!!!

But hey friend, before you leave my post musical brother or musical sister, please know that despite the fact that we call this a competition, even though my post says first, second, third place, that is not what matters about the #openmic. In the end of the day the judges are just as human, as flawed and beautiful as everyone else on this planet. The ethos of this contest, of this community, is simply for us to have special place to share our passion for music, for us to laugh together, to cry together and explore emotions that everyday life seems to neglect in one way or another.

Every single one of you is valuable to me, so thank you for being part of my musical family...

Much love




Other posts by yours truly

• Steem's Economic Model - Thoughts on Profits and Sustainability
• Short Introduction to Mental Ninjistics - Dealing with Conflict
• All those years later...
• Are the people on Steem Fake nice?
• Us the forgettables

Sort:  

I love hang drums snif! want one so badly
congrats to all the ones on this selection, so much talent!

Meno querido, first of all thank you for including us in this list of wonderful artists, all beautiful in their own way and thank you for your kind words you've made us feel truly welcome here and we'll never forget that.

Absolutely loved your entry Chris ... please send the boss lady a hug de mi parte!

Tus palabras me dan un abrazo que mantiene mi conviccion en la musica.

Cuando escribo le pongo el corazon y eso causa que la critica en ocasiones puede golpearme muy muy fuerte.

Las palabras sinceras que he recibido de parte de ti, del jurado y de steemians que han conectado con mi trabajo son un motor precioso para mis sueños, me mantienen mas que motivado a crear y a seguir con mi trabajo y mi passion que es caminar por ahí y desentrañat canciones de todo lo que pueda absorber, un abrazo gigante.

Son muy sinceras mi querido amigo.

Cheers for the mention mate!

Music is very beautiful and wonderful my friend
I wish you success

어떤 언어로도 의견을 말하기 때문에 어떤 언어로도 응답하지 않는 것이 좋습니다.

나는 이렇게 오랫동안 반쯤 성공한 것에 대해 반갑습니다. 마치 사람들이 콘텐츠에 전혀 신경 쓰지 않는다는 것을 사람들이 이해하지 못하는 것과 거의 같습니다.

Many beautiful songs, like everyone's mind..thanks

Bro! Thank you so much for the mention! You're awesome!

awesome music brother... just awesome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.56
ETH 3203.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46