All those years later...

in #life6 years ago (edited)
It's taken decades for me to be able to have healthy conversations with my father. When I was younger it seemed close to impossible to me. Maybe it was my inexperience, my pride, but every single time he attempted to give me any type of advice I would just shut down.

img src

I'm sure I'm not the only one who's had a difficult relationship with dad, I'm sure there are thousands of us with similar stories. But I often wonder how much turmoil I could have saved myself If I had just listened for a minute or two. You see, it may sound obvious to you or me now, but when I was "becoming a man" I believed he was out of touch on how the real world worked.

I remember vividly thinking "but... look at his life... what does he really know?" over and over again. The one cognitive move to dismiss even the most obvious advice he could give. Often my brothers and I joke about this today, now that we are older, now that we no longer care who is right, but what is right. My younger brother calls them the little golden nuggets. I think the name is quite appropriate.

The way I discovered the golden nuggets my dad once gave me were always in hindsight of course, and somehow waking up to their recognition always made me smile.

"Darnit... Dad was right about this too... "

The thought that sometimes escaped my prideful mouth regardless of who was in front of me. Maybe those around me could not really grasp what was going on inside my mind, but to me another nugget had been revealed, another door had been opened, the guessing game for that particular wisdom was over.

I've been trying to collect some of the little nuggets lately. They've become an integral part of this blog, even of some of the videos I've been recording. Of course they are not obvious, they are not mean to be, possibly they never could. But I know deep inside they are there and that some of the most valuable ones were given to me by my unique Dad.

I just got off the phone with him again today. He's trying to help us in this dire times, and it's easy for me to recognize his intentions now. It pains me to admit they were not obvious when I was young, not obvious to me at least, but now they are.

Anyways... I guess I'm feeling gratitude for having him around, with all his flaws and all his gift, and for giving me those crazy psychology books to read too, even if the powerful messages arrived twenty years later.


• Are the people on Steem Fake nice?
• Us the forgettables
• Murphy's law was it?
• Follow up Video - Not Poor Anymore?
• Not Poor Anymore? - A tale from another time

Sort:  

My father was a rebel through most of his life. He passed away last year and while he never really gave me any advice or wisdom I learned a lot by paying attention to how he lived his life. My small bit of wisdom to you is to keep that relationship with your Dad in good standing. Years from now you will be glad you did.

Yeah.. it just took a long time for me to see it this way. BUt, its not late, not by a long shot.

This is so difficult, i have 3 grown children 2 boys 35 and 30.....They will always be my boys..... both of my sons are very head strong ( like there Mother 😇), and i really just want the world for both of them. I can talk to them, but i realize that they really want Dad to tell them that what THEY have decided is CORRECT. So how do you guide them, they have there own life to live? I try to listen and occassionally interject my thoughts and opinions. I am not all knowing, i have made mistakes. The problem i have is when i see a crash ahead for my sons i would love to stop the impact, but you can’t, not always, you just need to be Dad just be there.......

Resteemed 🤔

I think this is part of the cycle of life right? I mean, it seems to be the case... When we are teengers our rebellion is at its peak, when we get old, we understand those with some grays on their beards.

It's difficult, no doubt. But, it also has an element of beauty...

Very true, i need to just remember this. Sometimes i just want to open my mouth and my wife reminds me that they are adults.........They will repeat this with there kids. 🙄

very good bro

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60061.12
ETH 3196.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45