🎶 Open Mic Week 53 - My Top 5 Judges Selection 🎶

in #openmic7 years ago

Here we are at open mic week 53, a new year has begun and as always we have an amazing amount of talent entering the contest.

As word spreads each week I see more and more new faces, not too mention all of the familiar long time faces that have been here since the beginning.

It's awesome to see how this contest brings people together with a shared love and passion for music, the community is growing and is just so supportive of one and other.

Without further delay here is my selection for open mic week 53:

This week's top 5:

1st Place - @melavie - Simply falling

I really loved this duet, both of your voices complemented each other perfectly - creating such a sad, beautiful and haunting tone to the song.

Simply constructed it's not about fancy vocal gymnastics, this song's focus is all about the tone - it sends shivers down my spine every time I hear it.

The duo were accompanied by simple guitar, that served to enhance the enchanting vocals - I just love the harmonies used in this song, it gives the song such depth and emotion.

A truly lovely faultless performance, if you haven't already do yourself a favour by checking out this entry it was amazing.


2nd Place - @elliotjgardner - Heartbeats

A great song choice for @elliotjgardner, it suits his voice perfectly and is beautifully accompanied by beautifully tonal acoustic guitar.

Gentle soft and simple, but all the better for it - some songs need to be belted out others just need to flow naturally, this song does just that.

A beautiful rendition of a song and in my opinion far better to the electronic original, this version allows the listener to feel the depth of the lyrics without being distracted by the noise of the track.

I love his entries, each week something new presented in a new way - I can't recommend checking him out enough.


3rd Place - @addiesworld - Stay with me

What can I say I am quickly becoming a massive fan of this girl, every week she enters I am blown away not only by the quality of her voice but also the unique style she brings to her music.

A soft and gentle entry this week, the bittersweet meaning of the song was conveyed beautifully through the emotive vocals and soothing guitar accompaniment.

She makes each song work for her range and give them all her own individual flair, making them work for her perfectly - I truly recommend checking her out.


4th Place - @kjablonski - She Said

Every week when I hear her voice I am amazed by what she can do, vocally her entries are phenomenal - she has insane vocal control, allowing her to do achieve beautiful and unique sounds through her original music.

As for the original music, her songs are brilliant no two songs sound the same and yet all have that classic @kjablonski sound - I just love to listen and sing along with her whenever she enters.

It's just beautiful and sad and sweet and everything I want in a song, emotion, meaning, story plus amazing vocals to provide inspiration and a challenge to those who listen.

I haven't heard an entry from her that I didn't enjoy, an amazing talent I'm thrilled to be able to hear and see enter each week - if you haven't already do yourself a favour and check out her work.


5th Place - @carlgnash - Back up

Wow I love this song so much, it is interesting and unique in so many ways - the melody is sublime and so enjoyable to join in with.

I love the vocals they are just so emotive and textured in the best possible way, I love the unique tones and beautiful melody - sweet whistling adding another layer and then to finish the song changes its feel completely.

A different and creative construction of a song I just can't get enough of, I strongly recommend checking out his work!


Honourable Mentions:

Some weeks I just wish we could have a top 10, it can be so hard to choose who should place each week - so here are my other special mentions definitely worth checking out.


So there you have it, my selection for this weeks open mic contest - I hope you all enjoyed my selection and if you haven't already, head over and check out these amazing artists for yourself.

A big thank you to all entrants this week, even if you're not mentioned please know your work and contributions are appreciated - you all help make this contest a success each and every week.

Also for all entrants of open mic I strongly suggest you head over to the Peace Abundance and Liberty discord chat room where you can not only access bots to vote on your posts, but you can meet and interact with over 5000 steemians in the channel - this can be a very useful resource to new steemians, but is also a fantastic place to meet and interact with like minded steemians.

Again a big thanks to @soundlegion, @jessamynorchard, @verbal-d for all they do as judges and to @luzcypher and @pfunk for making all of this possible - until next week.

Which was your favourite entry this week?

Like what you've read so far?
Check out my story

or follow me on twitter @krystlehaines
Please consider voting @ausbitbank for witness here

Sort:  

wow, thank you so much for the lovely words, that really makes my day :) I have been feeling ill and weak all day, and this just made me feel instantly better :) congrats to all the beautiful musicians out there :)

Good job on a tough job!

You've got some good picks in your list for this week! I had to go check out their pages.

Wow, I'm on the honourable mentions. Thank you so much! :D

great work @krystle fantastic choices for another great week of open mic. much love to you

Thanks for sharing all videos ,,,sir

Wow nice video. very sweet songs.

Great entries to pick from this week. Thanks for helping. Upvoted and Resteemed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60607.86
ETH 2620.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52