Open Mic Week 53 - "Back up" (original song)

in #openmic7 years ago (edited)

I return to Steemit Open Mic after a one week hiatus - I missed y'all! This one is somewhat unusual for a Carl Nash song in that the majority of the song is in waltz time (3/4). I have only written a handful of waltzes. This is kind of an autobiographical song that I will leave open for interpretation. I hope it resonates with you.

As always I hope you visit the Steemit Open Mic main contest post and give it an upvote and resteem. Remember to spread your love around to the other amazing entrants, and please don't forget to give some love to @luzcypher and @pfunk as well for hosting and sponsoring such an awesome contest.

Back Up - lyrics

Well he kept to himself in his room with a window
Singing his songs to the sea
Dreaming won't wait for completion
Journeys don't stop at the end
Laughter springs out of confusion
Journeys don't end, they begin again

When he slowly emerged from his insect-like wrapper
and shook off his wings in the wind
Lord only knows what possessed him
He flew straight for the sun
Lord only knows what possessed him
He flew straight for the sun

Back, you back up to that wall, yes you back up to it
Back, you back up to that wall, yes you back up to it
Spit your gum out on the ground, now you're standing on it
That's a bad idea, don't you do it, a bad idea
Put your back into it, if you do it, you might as well try
Put your love into it, if you do it, you might as well try

Check out my FREE upvote | resteem | follow service


Hey you made it all the way to the end of my post! If you have a recent post that you are proud of, please drop me a link to your post in the comments at my (tongue in cheek) FREE upvote | resteem | follow service.

Cheers - Carl

Sort:  

Whistling like a songbird!

I noticed that string scratch in the middle of your fingerpicking, I've never heard anyone do that, so cool.

My man! I knew you had a discerning ear from your spot-on mix downs on your tracks but I have to say I am impressed you noticed that. Those kinds of techniques really need a mic close to the fretboard to come through properly in a recording, I didn't think it came through well when I listened to it so good ear!

I have tried to add a lot of little rhythmic grace note elements to my fingerpicking style - various slaps of thumb and palm and nuckles, muted strokes, and scratches along the strings as you noted.

Hey @carlgnash, I'm listening for a third time now, thank you very much. I want you to know I’m spotlighting this song of yours in a post called “The Top 11”. It’s a curated list of my favorite entries in this week’s open mic. You have my vote for this weeks' best!

Wow! Thanks @cabelindsay! That means a lot to me! Hey can you do me a favor and drop the link to your Top 11 post in the comments at my Upvote | Follow | Resteem Service post? You rock!

Sure thing! Here it comes.

Well that was great, I am now skipping around singing:
Back, you back up to that wall, yes you back up to it
Back, you back up to that wall, yes you back up to it
I even just made a fantastic little dance step that goes with it....

@vachemorte if you want to make me a truly happy man you will upload video proof

Imagine the James Brown little side step with the spin and then the split... just better!

I really like your compositions. Keep the music alive.

Cheers !!!

Thanks @atulmittal that means a lot to me coming from you!

well you did it again @carlgnash !! awesome lyrics and brilliant music !! resteemed !

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by gnashster from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

@carlgnash Once again you have nailed it. What a great tune! Love the whistling section. I was not expecting the quicker verse at the end.... LOVED IT. Great goove and those lyrics, KILLER. You are a talented man, Skipper carlgnash.

Aye aye Skipper! The whistle was born on PAL, I was filling out the music bio spreadsheet in the Music chat channel and I put down "whistle" for my third instrument (I play a lot of instruments so this was a hard choice). That made me realize I hadn't busted out my whistle chops yet in open mic. I added the whistle section just for open mic, that has never been a part of that song's performance before!

I spend a lot of time whistling ;)

RE the quicker verse - when I played this song live with a band we would jam out on that quicker section for a while, that song was always a crowd pleaser and a good way to get people up dancing - the transition to the fast section always seemed to have a galvanizing effect on a crowd :)

Thanks for your work as well! Followed @carlgnash

Awesome tune man

Yeah, Wow - The finger scratching was the very first thing I noticed... Still wondering how you managed that... Loved the uptempo ending as well... Great stuff, Carl!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87