DIFFERENT CARDS YOU CAN PLAY ON STEEMIT FOR SUCCESS.

in #newbieresteemday6 years ago


A common question I see here on Steemit is new arrivals asking how they can increase their reputation score. Once they have thrown out a few post and realize that getting rich quick on Steemit isn't going to happen, it's a natural next point to move to in regards to a goal on the site. What I have found on Steemit is a lot of people try different strategies to win like in any game. I've come to think of it as suits in a deck of cards that each member of Steemit plays at different points to win. So in this post I'm going to outline the different suits each member of Steemit plays in the game of trying to be successful on this platform.

THE ARTIST:

This is the most common card played on Steemit. Whether it's the amateur writer, musician, photographer, or artist, the most common type of content you can find on any given day on Steemit is being created from an artist perspective. Some of it is good some of it is bad, but the commonality is that you have people piling in in large numbers creating content from their life experiences or imagination. I have watched a lot of these contributors persist and become successful on Steemit. The ones who have jumped in and been consistent with perfecting what they create not only do well in the long run, but also make surfing this site infinitely more entertaining and rewarding for people like myself. It's almost like they grow more skilled the longer they play it.

THE RESEARCHER:

Those who play this card on Steemit are rare but their number is growing. We have people arriving daily bringing years of academic experience to the site and sharing there work. How these users play this card can vary. For instance you can have someone involved in computer programming bring an exciting new application to Steemit and that content plays like a sort of trump card. Whereas someone submitting their work on a subject like biology or history find that it can take a while to fly. Having said that, when those types of posts do fly they skyrocket. I even class those who share their projects in tags like #homesteading as the researcher card, simply because they share their research into self sustainable lifestyles on the site. A good example of a user who plays the researcher card on Steemit is a user named @holothewise. Most of her content is based on her academic background as a biologist/researcher. Her following is small but her posts receive a healthy amount of votes. I love visiting members blogs who play this card as it's extremely rewarding.

THE REPEATER:

This is a real common card on Steemit and it gets mixed results. Like in any game if you play a card the wrong way it can have negative repercussions or positive results. For instance, if I copy and paste something then my post gets flagged and it hurts me in the long turn. But if I take something like a current event in politics or even a researchers work in a field like history and provide an in depth analysis of the subject with examples of their work, then chances are I will fair well if the analysis of the established work is decent. We see this with posts where people are explaining the block chain or with alternative media accounts. The wrong way to play the repeater card is to plagiarize or take something like a market chart and post it with no in depth analysis or content of your own to explain it. Like with any game involving strategy you have to put some serious thought into how you play a card.

THE JOKER:

This is a common card played at different points on this site. Whether it's memes, funny videos, photos, or someone who receives strong votes on their comments because their comical responses to the posted content, a lot of users play this card. However it can be played at the wrong point and hurt a user. I.e. a joke made in cruel or poor taste. Those who play this card through comments don't get rich, but they do build great followings as they are engaging the content and sharing a good sense of humor with the contents creator. It's a great card to play if your new as it gets you straight in the game both playing to win and encouraging others to do so.

THE BEGGAR:

I mention this card because I have seen it played a lot, but rarely seen it succeed. In the game of Steemit it's almost like a card that exist in the deck that takes you to a zero value or behind the starting point on the board. A good example of this are posts that simply say hi, or a picture of something random that has no relevancy whatsoever to anything. These posts never fly. Now some users play this card and it's almost like it exist as a statement of frustration when you see it played. I.e. when you are getting comments that say things like "I voted for you now vote for me." or links to peoples content uninvited in your comments section that's completely unrelated to your post. These are prime examples of the beggar card being played. I haven't seen it succeed yet and it's a bad card to play in the game.

THE THIEF:

Believe it or not this card actually does exist and many accounts play it. A prime example is an account that creates 10 posts a day with something like a market chart from Bloomberg and up vote their own posts. Then the account makes 20 comments and self up votes those, thus draining the rewards pool. Now self up voting a post you have worked hard to create doesn't necessarily mean you are playing this card. I don't believe those who have invested thousands into Steemit up voting themselves on occasions to receive a return on their investment is playing this card either. If you are working hard or have a lot on the line then I don't believe self reward qualifies you as a thief. Ruthlessly bashing the rewards pool for your own gain and showing no support to others does though.

Balance and not showing greed tend to be the defining factors in what makes a Steemit user a thief. I know self up voting is a hotly contested topic at the moment though so always be careful with it so you don't play this card unwittingly. Accounts that do rarely receive any support and probably won't be here for the long term. In short, it's not a smart card to play.

During my time on Steemit I have seen all of these cards played at different points with different results. No matter what card you choose to play what makes most successful here is a consistent approach with realistic expectations. You infinitely strengthen your hand by being supportive and positive with others as well. As long as your not greedy or negative then Steemit is a game where everyone can win to a small or large extent. It's just down to what cards we choose to play.

Well guys, that's it for now. Thank you so much for reading and I look forward to checking out all your amazing content. Many blessings and as always Steem on.

Sort:  

Thanks @mudcat36, have to resteem this as it's one of the most innovative explanations on how to proceed. Strange thing is, I was frustratingly stuck on rep 39 when all of a sudden, over a couple of days, it jumped to 42! One little post about a huge snake my son saw seemed to get the attention of a big upvoter? Anyway, thanks for the advice, still battling with dismal internet but persevering.

If at any point I can give you a hand then shout. Thank you for stopping by and giving my humble write up a read. :)

Great post bro, and you had me laughing at "A prime example is an account that creates 10 posts a day with something like a market chart from Bloomberg and up vote their own posts. Then the account makes 20 comments and self up votes those, thus draining the rewards pool." as I bet haejins ears were burning. :-)

Lol. For sure matey. I figured it was a good simple way to explain things to the newcomers to help them out a bit. I had to let them know what makes a steemit thief as we both know we've got plenty of'em about.

Lol. For sure matey. I figured it was a good simple way to explain things to the newcomers to help them out a bit. I had to let them know what makes a steemit thief as we both know we've got plenty of'em about.

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 6.69% upvote!
I was summoned by mudcat36. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish…
woosh


P.S. If you or anyone you know has been a victim of @grumpycat please know that he has been harming people throughout Sōsharumedia (ソーシャルメディア). Stealing the service that I (and other bots) have provided them and hiding behind a facade of stopping bid bot abuse which he clearly has no interest in.
Sneaky Ninja is a very responsible bot, working directly with steemcleaners, actively pursuing spam and abuse on our platform. If you would like to see what steps Sneaky Ninja has taken to fight bid bot abuse see this post and this post. Also know that I am working daily on other solutions.
If you would like to know my personal take on bid bot abuse and why I do not agree with the 3.5 day rule, see this post

Grumpycat is a villain that must be stopped to protect our freedoms here on steemit!

resist grumpycat
There is a resistance that has formed to counter his tyranny.

If you would like to take an active role in stopping this menace and helping other victims like yourself...
Learn More Here
Kusari-Profile-small.jpg

I have also summoned my love, Kusari to offer some limited help to victims like you.
See Here

Very good post, I liked it a lot, I'll follow your publications

What did you like most about it?

Good question - lol
I started to use those questions myself when seeing such comments on my blog. For some reason, I find them amusing :0)
Way to go, @themanwithnoname!

I used to have fun with the spam comments on my Wordpress blog. That was when it was new to me. I lost the love of having to wade through hundreds of pieces of crap a day, so I got a plugin to look after it.

This was what they looked like. Way better than the crappy spam on here.

http://changethetopic.com/they-seem-to-love-me-overseas/

Lol. I’m receiving comments just like that on my blog. Most don’t get through spam-filters, so I kind of forgot how funny they were :0)

Yeah, I suppose they don't have any English speaking friends to let them know about the tranlation gaps.

I hadn't thought of it like that. Very clever of you. Well done, artist/researcher!

Thank you. I enjoy using comparisons to random things to encourage newbies. There are so many great content creators who flounder about when they start trying to find their niche on Steemit so I figured I'd break it down into categories. Thank you for giving it a read and for your support. Heading over to your blog now to have a browse and throw some votes. :)

Thanks for the mention mudcat :) I was curious and started reading this piece and then was very surprised to find myself mentioned in it!

I'm actually thinking of starting an alt account to fill more of the artist role now too. There's a lot of writing competitions I'd like to enter, but don't want to dilute my science content too much with writing contest Resteems etc. I may in fact also use it for that project you were discussing (writing-mentoring), but let's see how it goes. Need to wrap up this field season and then I'll have a bit more time on my hands!

How's it going with you? :)

Things are good my end. Never ending busy to be honest. If you decide to launch a creative writers account please let me know. I'd love to promote it as well as track it as you produce great content. Give me a shout here or on discord and I'll jump right into supporting you there.

Great post, @mudcat36!
You are pointing out some important lessons in a very orginal way.
This is one of those posts of which I think: “why didn’t I come up with that?” - lol
All thumbs up and resteemed!

Thanks @simplymike. On other notes, I've been trying to find time to squeeze in rebuilding our website. It's torn apart atm so when I get a few days to devote to it it's definitely on the to do list. Glad you stopped by and thank you for giving my humble post a read. :)

Thank you for putting it up

Great post @mudcat36. It's nice to see the types of posters broken down. Definitely gives someone struggling a bit to find their place a new way to look at things.

Thank you for reading. If at any point you need a hand with anything then don't hesitate to ask. :)

Good analysis! thank you!

Yeah, this is a really good post. I have a lot of personal struggles with the thief. I try to romanticize that they have a lot of medical bills or some other great need, but in the end, I usually learn it's just greed. I guess that's the nature of the beast.

I'm glad I found this platform, as it's given me a chance to look at so many different sides to so many different arguments. It's also let me be the artist and the researcher in my two different accounts.

Anyways, thanks for this and the other work you do here.

Thank you so much for stopping by and giving it a read. I'm going to head over to your blog and have a look as well.Am now following and look forward to checking out your work. :)

Well, I hope you like it. There's not much there. Yet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59467.52
ETH 2609.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38