Steem Basic Income Giveaway (Idioms)

in #newbiegames6 years ago (edited)




Unsplash

Wow, last week's "Idle Questions" got a better reception than I thought... I was wondering if going into the potty was going to turn away people, but no, many people rose to the challenge of figuring how much toilet paper they use! However, it is time to revert back to a slightly more serious topic, well, in comparison!

For quite some time, I hosted a Dutch Idioms contest on my blog, but after a while there wasn't enough interest to keep it going and to continue the prize payouts. Anyway, it was done in part to help me learn the idioms that I keep (and still keep) tripping over in Dutch. However, a comment (by @theironfelix) in the last round of the SBI contest reminded me of how funny they were.

Every language or country has it's own idioms, which make perfect sense to the native speakers of a language (or natives of the country), but when taken literally can be complete nonsense! Being a native English speaker from Australia, I am familiar with most of the slang and idioms of my own country (although, there are state specific ones that I probably wouldn't understand). Since moving to The Netherlands, I've tried (and continue to try) learning Dutch, I guess the best you can say for my language skills in Dutch is that they are functional... mostly. My oldest daughter makes fun of me and my accent, and I'm sure that sometimes I can be just plain embarrassing in front of her friends! Somehow, I find myself in the same position that my father found himself in when he immigrated to Australia without a complete command of the English language, karma sucks!

So, I'm curious about the idioms of your country and your language! Give me three examples (or more!) of idioms that natives speakers in your country would understand, but are likely to be completely misunderstood by others!

Also, there is a steem-bounty on this post, I will upvote decent interactions between commenters so they have a larger share of the bounty! Please don't upvote yourself!

My Examples


Unsplash

I remember this one as a child, hearing my mother telling her friends that she would "give them a ring!".... and I was always left wondering why she would just hand out jewelry to friends and sometimes strangers?

Other Australian Idioms:

"Like a shag on a rock" - Literally, it means like having sex on a rock... it means to be exposed, to stand out (badly).

I feel a need to make a small correction here. A "Shag" is a water bird in the Cormorant family - often seen with their wings extended in the sun, standing on rocks.

Thanks @sparkesy43 for the correction!

"What a Crocker!" - To screw something up, to do it badly. Crocker rhymes with "shocker", a shocker is something that is badly executed.

"Thongs" - Well, I think the Americans screwed this one up for us... these are what you wear on your FEET!

Well, these are just a few examples, I have many, but I don't want to hog all them for the fellow Australians that might enter this contest!

Rules

  1. Upvote if you want, it increases the payout and then I can hopefully sponsor more people.
  2. Resteem is NOT neccessary, but the more people see this, the more the people will be likely to be sponsored.
  3. In the comments, give 3 examples of idioms from your country/language that you don't think others would understand properly!
  4. I have added a small Steem-Bounty to the post, so that everyone who replies with a valid entry will get something back. If I give your post a small upvote, it is valid (also, subscribe to @dustsweeper for maximum benefit!).
  5. I will be sponsoring as many people as this post pays out in liquid SBD/STEEM. Also I will kick in at least the required amount to round up to the full number. Winner is by random generator after a shortlisting of quality comments!

Steem Basic Income

One of the first communities that I came in contact with at the beginning of my time at Steemit was @steembasicincome. As a beginning author, Steemit can be a daunting place. It feels like you are posting into an abyss with no ability to grow. Steem Basic Income gives you a guaranteed vote on one post a day, thus giving you a small but cumulative over time support to your account.

With this post, I want to help sponsor people who might not even have the spare 1 STEEM that is required for registration. So, when this post pays out, I will sponsor people depending on the payout of this post. Basically, I will round up the SBD payout from this post and then that will be the number of people I will sponsor. (So, if the payout is 2.3 SBD, I will sponsor 3 people).

Last week's winners

Last week paid out 0.823 SBD and 0.460 STEEM, so I will make it 2 shares.

Congratulations to:

@romeskie

@veekeeme4




The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman


Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189


Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones

LEAVE THIS PART AS IS



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://www.gamerjokerbreadder.com/2018/07/17/steem-basic-income-giveaway-idioms/

Sort:  

From Norway here. We have a lot of different idioms that are absurd in other languages.

  1. "Skjerp deg" - literally means "sharpen yourself up". It is something that you tell someone when they are acting bad
  2. “Takk for sist” - Thanks for the last time is something that you tell people you haven't seen in a while. But there is no time period and you can say this word no matter how long ago you met the person
  3. Glad i deg - means glad in you. Is a middle thing between "nice to meet you" and "love you". Love you is too much to tell your friend, so you use this word instead

Good ones, these have similar analogues in English as well!

1 ) Screwed the Pooch
Meaning: Made a mistake. No, we’re not fucking any dogs, if anyone was curious.

2 ) Like Water Off a Duck’s Back
Meaning: Not a big deal, of little consequence.

3 ) Take a Load Off
Meaning: Relax, chill out.

Thanks for hosting another creative SBI giveaway @bengy, cheers!

Ha ha, I wonder how many people get confused by the first one!

The winners and the new round (Your Hobby) are here:

https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steemitbasicincomegiveawayhobbies-nq4gbm3coc

Nice, thanks for tha heads up <3

    • Do you want some Dead Horse on your Dog's Eye? - Rhyming slang for "Would you like some Sauce on your Pie?"
    • Dry as a dead dingo's donger - Literally means to be dry as a deceased Dingo's penis. Implied meaning, I'm very thirsty.
    • About as popular as a fart in an elevator - Means very unpopular

Ah, some great Australian ones here! I haven't heard them for quite some time!

the dingo one is great! 😂

I'm trying to figure out if a dead Dingo's penis is especially dry. IF so, who found that out?

Chinese sayings :

此地无银三百两 (cǐ dì wú yín sān bǎi liǎng)
literally meaning : "there are no 300 silvers (buried) here"

Means, the silver is actually buried here, yet I tell you there are no silvers buried yet, is indirectly telling you YES there are silvers buried here
( for full meaning, look here )

  1. 空中楼阁 (Castle in the air) kōng zhōng lóu gé

空 means the sky or the air. 中 is in the middle of. 楼 is a building, 阁 means a cabinet or chamber. So 空中楼阁 means the house built in the sky or a castle in the air. It's a way of criticizing someone's daydreams or impractical plans.

  1. 对牛弹琴 (playing the lute/qin(musical instrument) for the cow) duì niú tán qín

对duì means face to; 牛niú is the cow. 弹tán means to play, and 琴qín is the musical instrument. It usually implies that someone speaks or writes without considering his audience. He tries to explain deep truths to a dull person or speaks elegantly and far above the listener's understanding. More often than not, the speaker or writer has over-estimated his listeners or readers. In these cases, the idiom chastises the audience rather than the speaker.

Love them and great pictures! I especially like the last one!

My favorite one from your language is how 'have you eaten' really means 'how are you'.

Hahahaa well this is very fun contest and I like reading some of the comments. It is amazing what people and places has for their idiomatic expressions and since I didn't see one for my country (Philippines) yet I will give a couple.

Ilaw ng Tahanan - translates into Light of the house which actually means the mother of the household or simply the mother.

Which in turn

Haligi ng Tahanan - translates into Post of the house to talk about the Father. It could be because the father is often considered the foundation of the household.

Makati ang paa - translates into Itchy feet which is not about someone having athletes foot but rather a great desire to travel or having wanderlust.

Bungang araw - Translates into Fruit of the Sun which sounds awesome but is actually a skin disease called prickly heat which is common during summer.

This contest has been placed in the Steemgigs Contest Channel which has over 5000 members and will be presented in a compilation post on the weekly Talk with Terry Show is every Sunday 12:00 AM Manila Time/ 16:00 GMT 0 Time Zone.
I will endeavor to join all contests left there or at least make a small upvote and add on the compilation post.

Steemgigs Contest Channel link
https://discord.gg/ajnWGxJ


This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Light and Post of the house! That is amazing! In English, we also have the itchy feet one!

Thanks Bengy I will make sure to promote it and join!

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

We'll call these southern US idioms.

  1. In a coon's age. - meaning a long time. "I haven't seen him in a coon's age"
  2. 6 of one, half dozen of the other - meaning either is fine. "which'n do ya want? 6 of one, half dozen of t'other"
  3. I do declare - being surprised or excited "I do declare, I h'aint seen you in a coon's age"

Bonus
Three sheets in the wind - your drunk
Madder than a wet hen - pitching a fit mad (lol, really mad and acting like it)
Showing your butt - being or acting stupid
Happier than a hog eaten slop - Really happy

Do you know this one? (Learned it from my sister's southern boyfriend but don't know the meaning)
"He could eat corn through a picket fence"
And what about "shittin' in high cotton" ?

Lol, yes i know both...
The first one means someone had gaps in their teeth or missing teeth. "His teeth were so messed up, he could eat corn through a picket fence."
The second means doing really well, when cotton gets tall it produces more cotton, so more money. A lot of people say sitting in high cotton, meaning making a lot of money from a business.
Hey you spelled learned wrong..... in the south it is learn't......

Your balance is below $0.028. @dustsweeper is now disabled for your account until you transfer new funds. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

Ha ha! These a great! Some I already had heard of, probably g from films, but the others are completely new to me!

lol, you can also add "Cotton pickin" to just about any phrase and make it work, just add it as an adjective. It's usually used to indicate you are frustrated with something.
that cotton pickin car's broke again
wait just a cotton pickin minute
that cotton pickin egg suck'n dog did it again...

Bless your heart. ;)

Yep, that's the get out of anything card.
You can say just about anything, even if it's mean and follow it with Bless your little heart, and it's ok because you were just trying to be "nice"
Bless their little heart, they were clumsier than a crosseyed coonhound.

I've read through all the comments. So many fun idioms!

Here are a few more from Brazil:

  1. In Portuguese: "Vender o almoço para comprar a janta."
    Literal translation: "Sell the lunch to buy the dinner."
    Meaning: used when people have very little money and are having trouble to pay their expenses. So, it's said they have to sell their lunch to be able to pay for their dinner. An equivalent idiom in English would be, "Live hand to mouth."
  2. In Portuguese: "Nadar, nadar, nadar e morrer na praia."
    Literal translation: "Swim, swim, swim, and die on the beach."
    Meaning: this is used when someone works very hard to achieve something, only to fail miserably just when he/she's about to reach the goal. It's an analogy to survivors of a shipwreck who make a last-ditch effort to swim, swim, swim to the surface, only to die when they finally come out on the beach.
  3. In Portuguese: "Como um peixe fora d'água."
    Literal translation: "Like a fish out of the water."
    Meaning: to feel totally out of place, like you don't belong there. In English, an equivalent expression would be, "A square peg in a round hole."

There are so many strange idioms here, but I drew a blank and had trouble even to gather these three... maybe I should take note when I remember other ones, for a next contest, who knows... trying to explain these idioms is a nice exercise too.

Thanks! The first two are quite new to me although we also say fish out of water in English as well!

:D Really? When I looked up how to say the third one in English, I didn't find the literal translation mentioned and thought it wasn't an option. The literal translation usually isn't an option :P .

I'm from Mexico though I've spent most of my time in the United States. Here are some idioms that I know.

Arroz con popote - lit. trans. - "rice with a straw". If you say someone eats/likes rice this way it implies that they are homosexual.

¿Se te hizo polvo? -"Did it turn into dust?" - You can ask someone this for example if they finished eating something fast because if it was dust it would blow away and be gone, which would explain why their plate is suddenly empty.

Sudé la gota gorda - "I sweated the fat drop" - Actually means that the person sweated a lot, usually because of some really hard work.

These are pretty lame in my opinion so here's a bonus one my mom told me:

Con un clavo sacas otro clavo - "With one nail take out another nail" - means that if you are upset about a failed romantic relationship, replace it with a new one.

Hahaha!!! The first one made me choke with laughter!

The others are also great!

Another great idea @bengy! :) I guess these would be Canadian? :)

  1. My father always said, when we kids were complaining about something, quit chewing the rag. I don't know what it even means, but as a kid, I just knew it meant to stop whining :)

  2. Hair of the dog. When someone wakes up hungover, apparently it helps to have a drink (yes, alcohol:), and people say, "oh, I'm just having the hair of the dog" :)

  3. Get your ducks in a row: means to get yourself organized

I'll have to come back and read through all of these comments too! Good fun :)

I had thought that chewing the rag was just idle chatting? At least in Australia, maybe in the Canada it is different! I'm surprised my wife didn't know the last one, I thought that was quite common in the English countries!

Whenever my dad said it, I never got the feeling that we were idly chatting :) I'm surprised your wife didn't know it either...I wanted a different choice because I thought that one was a given, but I just couldn't think of another one :)

Yeah me too, I have a very Western vocabulary and use of idiomatic expressions and have always thought the chewing the rag was like chewing the fat and is idle chatter.

I'm from Brazil. I will translate to english these expressions:

1- "The Snake is Going to Smoke" (in portuguese: A Cobra vai Fumar): Meaning that the current situation is going to be very bad and significantly worse soon;

2- "Killing the Dog by Shout" (in portuguese: Matar Cachorro a Grito): Meaning that someone is passing through a very hard and difficult situation or/and moment;

3- "End up in Pizza" (in portuguese: Terminar em Pizza): This mean that some problem, investigation or judgement will end up unsolved, probably leaving the main ones responsible for the problems off the consequences of creating it at the first place.

Lol I had in my head an image of a man on a pizza as an unsolved crime hahha

Ahahahaa!!!! These are hilarious! No one would understand those!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67363.69
ETH 3247.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66