You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Basic Income Giveaway (Idioms)

in #newbiegames6 years ago

Another great idea @bengy! :) I guess these would be Canadian? :)

  1. My father always said, when we kids were complaining about something, quit chewing the rag. I don't know what it even means, but as a kid, I just knew it meant to stop whining :)

  2. Hair of the dog. When someone wakes up hungover, apparently it helps to have a drink (yes, alcohol:), and people say, "oh, I'm just having the hair of the dog" :)

  3. Get your ducks in a row: means to get yourself organized

I'll have to come back and read through all of these comments too! Good fun :)

Sort:  

I had thought that chewing the rag was just idle chatting? At least in Australia, maybe in the Canada it is different! I'm surprised my wife didn't know the last one, I thought that was quite common in the English countries!

Whenever my dad said it, I never got the feeling that we were idly chatting :) I'm surprised your wife didn't know it either...I wanted a different choice because I thought that one was a given, but I just couldn't think of another one :)

Yeah me too, I have a very Western vocabulary and use of idiomatic expressions and have always thought the chewing the rag was like chewing the fat and is idle chatter.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58948.02
ETH 2507.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47