From One Steemit Beginner To Another...Getting Started Part 1

in #newbie7 years ago (edited)

look-before-you-leap-e1492518643472.jpg

Why To Look Before You Leap: Things to consider before making your first Steemit post

BANNER-blue.png
If you are new to Steemit, you are probably doing your best to research and learn as much as you can about this unique platform. This is a 3-Part series. This series' ultimate goal is to help as many beginners as we can, from one Steemit beginner to another. Read More about where inspiration for this series came from.

Part 1 is focused on what you should consider before jumping in with your first Steemit post. I will include several links to Steemit posts that I found helpful in getting started. Also, I will discuss briefly the following subjects......

  • Setting up your profile
  • Digging deep...who are you, and what do you want to write about?
  • Your visual image
  • Introducing yourself

Hammockhouse-Breaker.png

Setting Up Your Profile

The Basic How-To

Click on the circular blank avatar in the upper left corner
Click on Settings
Boom, you're there

Your Profile Image

Steemit requires that you host your profile image on a third party site. I used PostImage as suggested in the Steemit FAQ. Once, you've taken your picture, simply upload it to post image, copy the url it generates, then paste it in the top field under your profile settings. That simple.

Display Name

Maybe you already have a nifty internet handle. Or maybe you need to do some soul searching to come up with the perfect display name. My strategy was to explore the platform and how other users were presenting themselves. This helped me to develop a unique, yet personal name.

About

Here's your chance to define yourself in as few words as you can. To develop this section I also extensively viewed other user's profiles and specifically how syntax and formatting were used. I made mental notes of what I liked and disliked about other profiles, and used this knowledge to create my own.

Hammockhouse-Breaker.png

Digging Deep......Who are you, and what do you want to write about?

I will discuss this topic more in-depth in Part 2 of this series.
Basically what I want to get across here is don't rush in and just start writing. In case you haven't heard, whatever is posted to the internet stays on the internet forever. So, in my opinion it's best to put some intentional forethought into your first posts.

8dfab5c99db69f8440c14457ed8634be--yoga-dog-dog-doing-yoga.jpg


All cultures have various spiritual practices where one can connect to their spiritual intuition. For Christians this is often prayer, or a worship / praise state. Most cultures practice some form of meditation. For some this might mean literal cross-legged meditation, a hike in the woods, a long drive down a country road, a relaxing bubble bath, etc. It doesn't matter whatever practice takes you to a spiritual place, just go there. When you're there, ask yourself these types of questions........

  • What are my natural interests & hobbies?
  • What knowledge do I have that I want to share with the world?
  • How can I change the world with my experience?
  • Is the way I see the world unique and intriguing?
  • How much do I want to “open the personal veil”?
  • What do I want the world to know about me personally?
  • Do I need personal gratification, or is the knowledge that I impart enough?
  • What types of blogs do I find interesting / enjoy reading?
  • What titles do I regularly click on?
  • And I could literally go on and on, but really “Dig Deep” here!

Hammockhouse-Breaker.png

Your Visual Image

I will discuss this subject more in-depth in Part 3 of this series.
Your visual image includes both your profile avatar picture, and how your posts visually look. Always take a new photo for your profile avatar. Using an old photo is just lazy, usually doesn't look very good, and most of the time is obvious that it's old. I had to upload several times until I got it looking exactly how I wanted it. When you are visiting other user's posts, don't just read for content, but also pay attention to what the post looks like. Take note of how users are using markup formatting, headers, breaker bars, and personalized logos and signatures. Check in for Part 3, and I'll show you how to do this too!

Hammockhouse-Breaker.png

Ready, Set, Write!......Introducing Yourself

By this point, you've spent a considerable amount of time reading and studying Steemit. You're probably fairly confident in navigating the platform, and undoubtedly you've read a handful of #IntroduceYourself. Here's where you get to put all of your work together. Using your answers from your Steemit Meditation session, organize a handful of bullet points you want the Steemit community to know about you and what you plan to write about. Write your post from the frame of mind that your #IntroduceYourself is a preview of your future work. Be yourself, trust your intuition, have fun. Remember to include the traditional photo of yourself holding a piece of paper with your display name and the date.
WIN_20170720_180100.jpg

**Just As I Promised.......My Personal Favorite Links to Help Beginners Get Started

Hammockhouse-signature.png

Hammockhouse-Breaker.png
Image Credits
Killer Whale
Meditating Dog

Sort:  

WELCOME TO STEEMIT :) Glad to see more people like you - here join the steemit! Being a steamboat is a great adventure! Here you can win money while blogging! At first it will not be easy, but it is not impossible. So just write it from your heart and everything will be fine. ! Applause! Wish you much luck! Greetings, @ilhampratama!

Thank you so much for this article, @hammockhouse. I was all geared up to introduce myself today, but I have decided to wait until I have read all three articles. My brain is virtually bubbling with everything that I want to convey to the community, but first I want to do a real good introduction. Today I will spend time thinking about exactly what I want to do for this community. I also plan to make a very special sign for my introductory photo. I am looking forward to the rest of this series, because I cannot wait to introduce myself, but I want to do it properly!

Aww, thank you! That's seriously the best compliment I could've asked for! I'll get the other 2 up as soon as I can, and I can't wait to read your #IntroduceYourself

Welcome to Steemit my friend.

I guess you need some help to get going on steemit.

So there you go I will help you out here if any problem do ask me in reply.

selfie-1209886_960_720.jpg

If you want to earn SBD or Steem Power fast, participate in my contest they are free to enter and all of the participants have equal chances of winning.

For More details click link - https://steemit.com/snap-me/@sighanchi/snap-me-selfie-challenge-or-or-enter-contest-to-win-sbd-its-free-to-enter

Welcome Hammockhouse:) I hope you enjoy here as much as i do !! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @khunpoom

Welcome to Steemit @hammockhouse, I have upvoted and sent you a tip. Check my blogs if you are looking for tips on how to earn more Steem and SBD.

Cool, thanks!

Good, clear and helpfull post . I did started without that but i regognise the point one by one. I ll be resteeming this for other new starters, steem on!

Thank you for the compliment, and the resteem!

Hii bro i found a new way to get unlimited. upvote (upvoteforupvote)
https://steemfollower.com/?r=1407 go to this link. website is called steemfollower and login with your steemit ID and POSTING KEY
For clear details watch this 2min video

this website evn has a referral commission

Thank you vary much for your valuable post. It is vary helpful to a new person like me.

This is a really great article. New people join everyday and although there are tools available, they are not always easily accessible. They can tend to be drowned out by new posts. I learn new things on steemit everyday from all levels of users

Thanks so much for the compliment and input!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61142.49
ETH 2928.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67