Upvote me, I Upvote you | Follow me, I Follow You - an ETIQUETTE guide for beginners by beginners (no experience necessary)

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Did you hear that? I PAID FOR FOLLOWERS!

Lemon Juice to Lemonade



When I did my very first post, I explained that I joined Steemit because of my disdain for conventional social media. I was just coming off of paying $300 to facebook to get my wife's cake business followers. Did you hear that? I PAID FOR FOLLOWERS! I was actually very disappointed with the fact that I was spending money for people to like her page but not necessarily be a patron to our business. When I was exposed to Steemit, it was original content that I saw which caught my eye. This to me was a new platform with people pumping out genuine shit. @papa-pepper wild-man series is better than animal planet. @canadian-coconut creates, curates, and resteem sensitive parenting issues. @healhtyrecipe pumps out some amazing dishes that makes your mouth water. @grow-pro is a newcomer that blogs about being a stay at home dad and entrepreneur such as myself. The point that I am making is that these people may or may not read this post. They may upvote or may not upvote this post, I will still follow them and engage because I truly enjoy their content. I am interested in what they will do next or what they have done if I happened to miss a couple of days.

Rewind



Remember Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and whatever else is out there?
Well some of you click the like and share button with no monetary incentive at all. You gladly advertise for multi-national conglomerates. You'll follow a celebrity's page in hopes that they notice you. You comment and forget that a PR firm runs their accounts.

Now Press Play



Now that you are on Steemit all of a sudden you have lost interest in clicking the like or retweet/share button unless the person who created the content is following you. There are people that have invested great time and their own money into building this community. I know how you feel. When I first got here, I wondered why in the hell people I was reaching out to weren't responding. It wasn't until I reevaluated my reason for coming to steemit did I start enjoying some success. I started writing about my interests and following curators and creators of my genuine interest. Being genuine and original will give this platform it's universal appeal. It will have resources for people of various interests.

STEEMIT ETIQUETTE CLUB

  1. First rule of steemit is YOU DO NOT ASK for FOLLOWS
  2. Second rule of steemit is YOU DO NOT ASK for UPVOTES
  3. Third rule of steemit is YOU DO NOT ASK for RESTEEMS
  4. Fourth rule of steemit is to ONLY STEEMIT if you MEAN IT
  5. fill in the blank
  6. fill in the blank
  7. fill in the blank
  8. fill in the blank
  9. fill in the blank
  10. Tenth rule of steemit is to FOLLOW @XTRODINARYPILOT

Ocean


There is a reason we call users minnows, dolphins, and whales. Steemit is like a big ass ocean. Fortunately some of the people that was here before us have left a road map to follow. There are tons of resources to help with getting follows, upvotes, and resteems. The most important is to create original, captivating content, no matter what it is. Here are some of those tools and users that I have found to be helpful for me and others:

Find out who Followed, Unfollowed, or Muted You by @shaunmza
Steem Stats by @Jesta
@minnowsupport and the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel.

WelcomeToSteemit.com / http://welcometosteemit.com/
by @trevorlyman
Steem Tools by @roelandp
@sykochica has great minnow and newbie info.
@timcliff has a wall full of advice. Some novice some expert.
SEEK and YE SHALL FIND or just google that shit.

Other Helpful Posts by @XtrodinaryPilot

I showed you how to pay rent with STEEM
I showed you how to turn STEEM into CASH

 Animation graciously donated to @xtrodinarypilot by @xtrodinarypilot  

STEEM ON & I WILL TAKE YOU PLACES

...mostly in Texas LOL 

Sort:  

I just used the "Find out who followed you/unfollowed" and it got Jerry Springer up in here! I unfollowed a bunch of people that dissed me! lol
Thanks for this post! lol

Yeah when I found out about that tool I was like

let's see who's tripping
I found a dude that has 3000 followers mostly bots, and following just 5 but he has no $$$ and no good posts. It was comical.

that is wack. I am going to hit you up on discord. I need to make an account first tho.

xtrodinarypilot#8410

word. Mine is captainobviou3#1296

Filling in the blanks:

5 Upvote what you like
6 Reply to stuff you like
7 Upvote comments and replies from others
8 Reply to comments
9 Don't plagiarize, spam, or troll others

Best advice ever @goodguygreg btw my brother's name is Greg, Don't know if I can characterize him as a good guy lol.

Nice idea... @xtrodinarypilot upvoted and followed....please do same to me....thanks

GREAT POST BABY!!! You're giving gold for pennies!!!

Always follow rule number 10!

Indeed, I wouldn't have it any other way.

Speaking of the Wild-man series being better than animal planet, I'll have to look around your place when I'm down and see what I can find. I was thinking about doing a TEXAS EDITION of that series anyway!

If we don't find anything, just take the pythons out of the terranium

Thanks @xtrodinarupilot for sharing the love man! You're awesome, but you should know that! My bad, I literally just learned how to find mentions on Steemit. I wish I would've seen this when you put it up, I truly appreciate the support. **STEEM ON ** 🔥🚀

no biggie. I still have trouble finding mentions. That's a major social flaw

Agreed! I think two features I'd love to see (I'm still new, so might've missed):

  1. A way to favorite authors - there should be a way to see recent favorited authors works - for some authors you just don't want to miss their content.
  2. Mentions should be easier to find or a notification of some sort. I had no idea you posted this and I follow you!
    Hopefully we see some changes in the future.

BIG THANKS for the support and I'm like an elephant - I never forget. I look forward to paying it forward, backward and every which way! Thanks again @xtrodinarypilot 😎

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68846.60
ETH 3872.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66