Irish Crochet Dress - Laying Out the Design & Crocheting The Lace

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

Hello, my Steemit crochet friends!

Can't believe it's @needleworkmonday again and I haven't advanced much with my Irish Crochet project...

I blame the good weather and the holiday season :D

So as you may remember, I am still working on a dress in Irish Crochet technique.

I am now at the stage where I have finished crocheting all separate elements for the dress - flowers, leaves, stems, etc., you can see all of them HERE and now have to lay out the design of the dress and start crocheting the lace.

20180813_163254.jpg

How does the process work?

Normally, according to all the Irish crochet experts, I was supposed to cut separate parts of the dress from a fabric in order to create a sort of platform for modeling the crochet dress, so as the finished product would suit the wearer perfectly.

I decided I wasn't going to go into all that trouble, and simply took an old but well-fitting dress that I no longer wear and started using it as my model (sorry, I don't know the dress-making terminology for that).

Just in case you are wondering, this purple dress will not be part of the finished project, it's only used here for size/length/shape purposes.

So in my first step I have to lay out the 'picture' using main/brightest elements, which will be immediately noticeable.

20180806_111024.jpg
I don't know what that comb is doing here!

The challenge here is to place these elements in the right places so as the final picture wouldn't create the undesirable optical effect, e.g. if the bright roses are placed too much on the sides, I think they'll visually expand my waist. So I have placed them slightly towards the middle.

Frankly, I thought this will be the easiest and the most fun part of the whole project, especially considering the fact that I have bought the instructions and know how the finished dress design is supposed to look like.

... but...

... when I starting laying out the picture, I realized it's not as easy as it seems...

For example, when I started laying out the flowers and other elements on the dress, I realized my elements were larger than those of the master crocheter in the handbook (this is because I used a slightly larger hook 0.6 instead of 0.5 and my inferior crochet skills).

What does it mean for me?

It simply means I need fewer of them, which in turn means I have to rethink the design at least in part.

Another thing I realised after walking around that dress for about 2 days is that, in my case, it needs to be longer, so as I wouldn't look too wide. Which means even more adjustements to the design...

At this stage I am somewhat satisfied with the layout of the neck line, so I've started crocheting simple irregular lace, as you can see in the first picture.

The process of crocheting Irish lace is similar to that which I described in my post about the main rose read HERE.
You have to work on a flat surface looking at the 'bad' side of the dress. All elements have to be securely attached to the surface so as they woudn't become displaced in the process.

All of this makes the process really slow and tedious, as I realize now, although I honestly thought it would be a breeze...

When my mom saw me crouching over that dress layed out on her coffee table, she offered me money so as I would simply buy something like that instead of 'killing myself making it'... :D

Get a hobby, enjoy your life!

All photos and text is my original content.

If you liked this post, let’s connect – leave a comment or follow me at @vliet , I’ll check out your profile as well.

You can also find me on my travel blog www.curioustovisit.com or Facebook Page HERE

Thanks @crocheille for #needleworkmonday !

NWM_logo.jfif

Sort:  

Wow look at this come to life! I can literally see the dress within the dress. I can visualize from your photos what this finished dress might look like. A project like this definitely takes a lot of patience and I commend you for sticking to it. Even when your mom offers you money to just go and buy one!! 😄

I can imagine the challenges you are facing with the placing but keep up the good work! All of your hard work will pay off soon ;)

Many thanks @needleworkmonday !
I actually finished the front neckline late last night, and it seems to be working out quite well, I must say :D

Moms are the best, aren't they?

Yay that’s awesome!! 👏🏽👏🏽👏🏽

Absolutely mom’s are the Best!! 😃

Do or do not. There is no try.

I can understand you taking your time over this stage, there is a lot to consider and once you start working you are committed. I hadn't thought about elements like the placement of the main features and how they will affect the overall visual appearance, or the proportion of width to length. I am sure you will get it right, you're taking your time and feeling your way into it.

Thanks @shanibeer
Yes, I realize now I can't rush it, although at this stage I really would like the process to be a bit quicker...

When it's finished it will look wonderful @vliet... now I'm wondering whether your mum has a hobby like crochet. As most people I know tell me everything I make would be cheaper and easier if I bought it (and my house and life would be tidier and cleaner too as a result). There's something magic special about making stuff and knowing how something is made though. So I could buy a pattern and save myself a lot of hassle, but the challenge is working it out :D

Thanks @cryptocariad !
No, my mum definitely isn't a crocheter, she told me she'd be done with a project like that after crocheting one flower :D
I agree there's something very special about things we make ourselves, I usually wear them forever, even if they are not perfect.
I'd call the 'working it out' part as the most painful and yet the most fun part of all this project!

Wow, @vliet...your project is simply astonishing. I simply love the cascading flowers down the side of the dress. Very artistic! Happy #NeedleworkMonday to you, my dear!

Thanks @crystalize! Hoping that cascading effect will look good on the finished dress.
Happy needleworkmonday (or Tuesday or Wednesday) to you too! :DD

This is amazing! The detail is incredible! You must have a lot of patience!

Thanks @wildwanderer !
Patience is the key here, like in any project.

I so feel with you! The single crochet elements you made are so beautiful and I would be afraid to make a mistake while placing them... but also, crochet is reversible, so no mistake is permanent. Perhaps you should see your dress as a huge work of art, not as a dress. Your work is so beautiful, you could perhaps send the finished dress to an exhibition. And although your mother means well... you cannot buy such a work of art (and especially crochet, because it is always handmade, unlike knitting, which could be made industrial)

Many thanks @neumannsalva !
It certainly does feel like I'm working on something bigger than just a dress, and I have plans of keeping it as a room decoration when/if I stop wearing it for occasions or even in between occasions. :D

Well, concerning buying a dress like this, I could actually have it made for me by the master crocheter whom I bought the handbook from, but I'd have to dish out a few thousand euro first... by mom wasn't even fazed by that!!!
But there's always something special about making a piece yourself :)

Congratulations @vliet! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I habe to damit I went and searched for "irisch crochet" after you showed us all the different pieces cause I couldn't see how that worked. I got a lot of pictures and just scrolled through them and admired the work etc when suddenly there was this dress. With roses. And green leaves. I was stunned.

Dear Vliet, what you are creating there is a once in your life piece of art. I really admire you for that - kudos to you!

Many thanks @muscara , it certainly is once in a lifetime piece, and I do have plans to keep it as a piece of art at home, even if it doesn't look great on me :D

Hello @vliet, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58664.80
ETH 2569.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42