Hobby On The Road - Finished Main Rose

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

Hi my Steemit #needleworkmonday friends!

I am so glad to be writing this little post, as I've finally finished my main rose for the dress I am making in Irish Crochet technique.

Ta-dah!

1806_MainRose_IirshCrochet-1010497 (Copy).jpg

As you may remember from my previous post about this rose it's a different kind of process - you have to attach the work to a cushion and crochet very close to the surface, looking at the 'bad' side of the flower, in order to achieve the required shape.

I had to leave my work for about 2 weeks as I was going on holiday (more about my trip later, it was in the beautiful Seville) and resumed my work at this stage...

1806_MainRose_IirshCrochet-1010477 (Copy).jpg

...a few tea breaks, two days and two nights later...

1806_MainRose_IirshCrochet-1010482 (Copy).jpg

... I finally finished the main body of the rose.

One challenging part was making those holes you can see on the outside petals:

1806_MainRose_IirshCrochet-1010480 (Copy).jpg

...somehow, no matter what I did, they just didn't come out the size I wanted them to be.

1806_MainRose_IirshCrochet-1010486 (Copy).jpg

Although when I turned the work around (as you remember from my previous post, this flower is crocheted looking at the work from the inside side), the overall picture looked fine. So I just left them as they were.

One more step was to crochet around each petal of the flower, so as the work would have a defined finish.

And after that I was supposed to sew on sparkly beads all over the rose.

1806_MainRose_IirshCrochet-1010493 (Copy).jpg

But having thought about it, I decided I'll just sew on a few beads in the centre of the flower at the moment, since any kind of sparkle on clothes can visually make you look larger.

1806_MainRose_IirshCrochet-1010494 (Copy).jpg

The author of this dress seems to have sparkly beads all over the dress, but I will wait until I finish the dress completely, and only then sew them on so as to have them in key locations, just enough to tease the eye...

For the moment I'm just so happy I'm one step closer to completing the whole dress... :D

Get a hobby, enjoy your life!

All photos and text is my original content.

Crochet is my favorite hobby since I can take it on my trips.

If you liked this post, let’s connect – leave a comment or follow me at @vliet , I’ll check out your profile as well.

You can also find me on my travel blog www.curioustovisit.com or Facebook Page HERE

By the way, I sell these funny crochet mugs on Etsy HERE, but if you want, you can pay for them with SBD. Contact me privately on steemit.chat, if you are interested.

coffeecrochetmug_front (Copy).png

Sort:  

WOW ! It looks amazing @vliet So much patience : admiration and bowing ... 😊

Yay! Congrats @vliet! So beautiful! So much work into it. I salute you!

WOOOOW! Amazing work 😍 so beautiful

Looks beautiful! And so very intricate 🌹

Woweee!!! Just Beautiful!! It looks so delicate...I know it took a lot of patience. Just looking at the little holes you had to crochet in...yep patience! You did wonderfully and I LOVE it! The color is gorgeous too!

I didn’t know that sparkles make you look bigger. I learn something new every week.

I love the mugs. I might have to get the one that says “Easily distracted by crochet patterns”! Lol This just happened to me yesterday. I went on Pinterest to look up a recipe for my husband and then got totally distracted and started looking at AND pinning crochet patterns!! 😂😂😂

Are you on Discord or Steem Chat?

Ahhahah! Crochet patterns on Pinterest are my most successful distraction tools as well! :DDDDD

Thanks for your comments @crocheille ! Yep, patience is the key to so many things in life, and this rose was one of them... :)

Yes, shiny materials and sparkles on clothes can make one look bigger, if used over generously, that's why I am going to leave them until the very end...

I'm on steemit.chat as vliet

Haaaa!! That’s a good way of putting it

most successful distraction tools

Lol!! That’s so funny!

Sparkles or not that rose is Beautiful!

Congrats on the Curie vote!! Whooo Hooo!!! 😃🎉👏🏽👏🏽👏🏽

Okay thank you! I’ll be contacting you on there soon ;)

Hi vliet,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

Thanks so much for your upvote! You made my day :DDD !

Exceptional project!!! I still love the soft pink and your crochet is superb. Congratualtions for being choosen by @curie This is well deserved!

Thanks @neumannsalva !

I also find that soft pink is a really beautiful colour, plus it easily matches with other colours, especially various shades of green.

Never heard of Irish crochet before - it looks interesting and surely you made an impressive rose!

Hi @muscara , for me Irish Crochet is the most beautiful kind of crochet, you can find lots of amazing creations on Pinterest.

Oh my goodness - this is stunning, @vliet! The details in this rose are amazing. 💖

You made this beautifully well. Wow, just imagining the dedication and attention to details you must have invested into this piece to make it turn into this. Wow I love it so much! The colour and and the mugs too are nice, I'm partial to red mugs tho🙂

Thanks @wondermaey ! it certainly takes lots of patience, but now that I see the end in sight, I just keep pushing forward :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57893.29
ETH 3130.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44