Bamboo Baby Blanket

in #needleworkmonday5 years ago (edited)


First Grandson ~ First Baby Blanket


This morning I had a conversation with the talented @cryptocariad about something I'd been wondering about ever since I knitted this baby blanket 4 years ago! (it was to do with the side seams in case you're wondering). 😁

It had been about 20 years since I'd knitted anything, when my daughter told us she was pregnant.

It seemed like the perfect opportunity to get out my old knitting needles and give knitting another whirl. I was delighted to discover that I hadn't lost the knack.

I'm very proud of this beautiful bamboo baby blanket. It's soft and warm and thoroughly loved by both him and his mum and I thoroughly enjoyed making it.

I'm planning on doing some more knitting this year to use up my odd balls of wool.

I've been doing a bit of online research looking for some charity projects I could knit for. If you have any favourites, please let me know. 😍


baby blanket.JPG

Be sure to click on the image to view it full screen!

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Sort:  

Hello, my dear.

SO much love and a wonderful work for yor doughter. Amazing gift. I love it :)

I am so glad to read your articles. Unfortunately, I am very busy. We are trying to settle down and have just started our new hobby ;) However, we do not stop thinking about new trips but for now, we just postpone just for a little bit ;)

Big hug and take care

Hello @margaretwise

Good to touch base with you. I'm not around much either these days so you're not missing much.

Hope all is well with you. 💙

You did such a beautiful job on your grandsons blanket! I love the little sailboats! I have never worked with bamboo yarn before but it sure looks soft and inviting! Thanks for sharing your knitting work with us! I think it’s great that you are looking for charity projects to knit for. I think it’s great that we do needlelwork for leisure and pleasure but I also think it’s important to use our skills to give back to those in need ~

Thank you @crosheille. Bamboo yarn is lovely to knit with but i can get a bit pricey.

I haven't had time to do any more research for the charity projects but I have my box of wool up from the garage so it will just sit there looking at me accusingly until I decide what I'm going to do with it. 😂

Unless there are some more boxes I didn't find, I don't have as much as I thought I did.

Hey, @gillianpearce.

Very nice. Soft and warm sounds perfect for a baby. How old is this grandson?

You're calling it a bamboo baby blanket. Is that due to the color? I mean, when I saw the title of the post I thought, "Bamboo?!" Then, I thought, "Well, I've got to see what a bamboo baby blanket looks like."

It looks great, and I'm glad everyone involved is enjoying it. :)

Bamboo is actually what the yarn is made from @glenalbrethsen. The same stufff as bamboo socks are made of. It's very soft and also quite pricey! 😁

I actually made it for my grandson who recently turned four.

I'd quite like to knit him some jumpers but I'm not sure hand-knitted stuff is in fashion for children. No way to want to go to all the trouble of making something and then him not wear it. 😂

Okay, so it's actually made out of bamboo. There must be a soft part to it before it turns into wood. Maybe I should just go look it up before I show my ignorance more. Or maybe I should just continue, since it's probably more entertaining. :)

I can see where you probably wouldn't want to spend a lot of time on something that isn't going to be used. Although, he should wear it proudly because Grandma made it! Guess that wouldn't stop his peers from making fun of him if it wasn't "fashionable." I'm not sure I trust four year olds with fashion sense, but then, my wardrobe could easily be made fun of, too, I suppose. :)

It's not so much the grandson who wouldn't wear it, or his peers that would make fun of him. More that his mother wouldn't put him in it of it didn't meet her exacting fashion standards. I've no idea where she gets if from. Not from here parents that's for sure! 😂

I think you should just buy yourself some bamboo socks and have the experience for yourself.

I love knitting with bamboo!!! How sweet this blanket is! I have bamboo sheets and towels as well. It is hands down, the best sheets EVER!!!

I crochet hats and booties for a newborn giveaway packet and there are a handful of us that knit and crochet hats and scarves for the homeless that wander the streets. There is a big park that they seem to congregate at.

There are also assisted living as well as retirement homes with people who have no relatives. You should see their face light up when someone brings them a new lap blanket or shawl or something warm. It does a heart good to see that.

XOXO

!tip

Thanks for the knitting project ideas @dswigle. I'm looking forward to getting stuck in again.

Bamboo sheets sound wonderful. I'll need to look out for some.

Thanks, as always, for the tip. 😍

Oh my .. @gillianpearce 😲😲😲 whooaa.. I can feel the warm and soft of the blanket just by staring at the picture, so neat and beautiful.. I think because you put all your heart and love too. Because you said before you will take a break from steemmonsters .. I hope to see more of your knitting works too😍

Thanks @cicisaja. I'm looking forward to doing some knitting again. Depending on how long it takes, I'll try and remember to post photographs here when my new projects are finished. 😍

Bamboo yarn is SO soft! I loved working with it to make some baby toys years ago. You mentioned looking for small projects to do for charities- many folks make hats and scarves for shelters and newborns. There are many different groups that collect the knitted items, or you can donate them directly where you see a need.

Thanks for your project ideas @jamethiel. I'm looking forward to getting stuck in. First I need to find my wool stash and see what I've actually got! 😁

That's a wonderful blanket, @gillianpearce !
I've never worked with bamboo yarn; it looks so soft :D

I did a search on 'charity knitting in Brighton' (for example) and found a number of places where you can take things you have made.

I recently started making green hearts to highlight climate change. I will give a few to friends who will hopefully wear them during February :D

So if you have any bits of green yarn, here's a free heart pattern to get you started :)

You could also knit little hats. I've posted photos of some of the hats I've made for Age.

I personally prefer small 'portable' projects that allow me to move on to different things and techniques :D

Thanks for the project ideas @cryptocariad. I looked briefly this morning but didn't have much time to go too deeply into it.

I'm quite keen to make things that are useful, like clothes, blankets etc. rather than things to sell and, like you, I'd like something portable that doesn't take too long.

First I need to find my old stash and see what I've got.

It will be fun to get knitting again. 😁


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you gillianpearce! You've just received an upvote of 53% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts

Please come visit me as I've updated my daily report with more information about my upvote value and how to get the best upvote from me.

Nice work! When I look at this picture, I can't help think that it is missing a cat.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61195.86
ETH 3009.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80