Working out a crochet pattern from a photo ...

in #needleworkmonday6 years ago (edited)

I saw some photos of ‘room shoes’ by chance online while trying to find a postcode and thought I could make a pair without the pattern. I am aware that would make me a pattern hacker, but I' can't resist working things out.

I worked feverishly and quickly and managed to complete the first one in no time.

I was delighted to get to this point without issues. I know it’s not perfect, but to me it was like being able to work out a sudoku :D

The photo above shows you my wooden crochet hook size 2.5mm which I got as a ‘freebie’ gift in a crochet magazine.

I own a couple of metal fine hooks of the same size so I found this wooden one quite hard to use in comparison. I think the ‘hook is not deep enough’ so I kept on having to undo the stitches as it picked bits of the yarn rather than the whole 'thread'. Anyway, it was fine in the end.

I've put a photo of the magazine and goodies below (and this is not an advert) so you can see what came with it. I always wanted to get those clips but they were too expensive in the shop so I felt it was a good buy to get it all together : magazine with patterns, kit to make an amigurumi, crochet hook and the clips ...

How could I not be tempted to buy the mag with all those goodies ?

I’m totally unlikely to make the amigurumi monster actually but I may adapt it and shorten the arms and use a less ‘silly’ face on it.

Incidentally, the magazine has generally nice patterns but they all tend to go for thicker (seasonal) yarn.

The 4-ply (fingering ?) light green yarn I have used for my slippers is a lucky bargain buy from a charity shop. It doesn’t feel itchy at all and I got it because I envisaged trying a lacy leaf knitted scarf pattern like this one.

I've actually weighed my finished slipper and it’s only 14 g so I will be able to send the pair to my sister who’s recovering from a foot injury… She’s normally the recipient of crocheted socks I’ve made with slightly size variation ...
Of course I will tell her to just wear them while resting not for walking about as she could worsen her injury if she falls !

Above is a photo of my finished ‘slipper’ and all I need to do now is possibly put some (shirring) elastic so it doesn’t come off.

I quickly started on the second slipper following what I did on the first one. As you can just see I began it like a granny square - I don’t know whether the proper pattern is like this because I haven’t seen it unfortunately.

One day I may even be able to buy that lovely book ( at a reasonable price from somewhere here in Wales )... In the meantime I shall try and continue with the second slipper.

In case you’re wondering, here’s the photo that inspired me - I need to trace it back to Amazon I guess… I wonder whether I could buy the book as a kindle download.


Source

Thank you for reading



effort by @cryptocariad


Thank you to @crosheille and team for hosting !

Sort:  

They look lovely - kudos for you for the "reverse hacking" :)

I use wooden needles but not that small ones - they tend to break. Wood only from 4 mm up for me.

Have you considered using an additional elastic thread - I sometimes used that instead of a ribbing at the cuff of socks, just like taking the yarn double. It's a bit fiddly to work with and while you can't see it there is a certain shine to the parts where you used it.

Oh, yes, that's exactly what I meant by that 'shirring' elastic, @muscara... Something finer would be better so I can just include in a row of single crochet to finish off that section :D

Thank you so much for finding that information, @akipponn 😘 I shall book mark that page :D

So now I must look out for books by Reiko Fukushima !
It's a pity I cannot download the book on Kindle but at least I know the author now there may be other books I could buy on Amazon UK

Did I already told you that I loooove Japanese craft magazines (I think I only told @akiponn) Sometimes you can find the patterns of these magazines on Pinterest as jpg... it is perhaps only half legal. But I thought I tell you, as the magazines are hard to get in Europe and mostly they are expensive.
The simply crochet magazine is also beautiful. I always find their photography so tempting and their layout is amazing. Sadly, if you buy this magazine in Germany the goodies are not included, and it is also crazy expensive.
But now your slippers! Wow! Congratulations for working this pattern out. They look so lovely (perfect japanese style) These are a super nice present. As I am not so into making socks/slippers (because of the second sock syndrome) I have never used 'shirring'. I have used a strip of crochet to close the slippers over the instep like a ballet slipper (I don't know how to name it...)

I'm sure we've chatted re websites before, @neumannsalva ... one day I'll visit Japan and go completely broke after buying so many mags and yarn there ...
Thanks for the idea too... I'm really tempted to find that fine elastic just to see how I can incorporate it into projects :D

I see an elastic post for next week 😅😅😅😅

Everything will have elastic from now on, @neumannsalva 😅😅

YEEEEYYY I make all my skirts with elastic as the waisband. I love this (and I hate waisbands without stretch). So elasticity rules 😊

I love that Japanese designers seem to combine knitting + crochet more often than we're used to. .I love it - I already have yarn waiting for a tunic where you use both.

Part of the tunic could actually be knitted on the knitting machine, @muscara :D
The crochet edging design is really pretty -- challenge on ! 😅

You do know that you can knit socks etc. 2aat = two at a time? tempts with two lovely circular needles

No more second sock syndrome!

😅 That's advanced knitting for me, @muscara, but it does make sense because any minor alterations would be done at the same time so there's more chance of making them identical.

You mean alterations Luke "Oh sh*t, I should have started the increases three rows ago!"?

The second thing syndrome is only one problem... the real one is my knitting style. My fingers hurt if I knit normal western style and you cannot knit combination style in the round. This is also the reason why my sweaters need so long, as I only can knit in the round for a very short period, cardigans are much easier on my hands.

room shoes... sounds so comfy. looks like they came out well @cryptocariad

Thank you, @steven-patrick... very light and dainty for sure :D

The crocheted room shoes are a delight, they look comfortable and fun. The yarn works well for the project. I hope you can find the book online somewhere.
That is a good haul for a magazine, decent stuff and I hope you enjoy playing with it all!

I normally go past all those wonderful magazines and sigh, @jamethiel... Such good stuff !

These are gorgeous!! I like the term pattern hacking. You did a brilliant job in your hack. The color is perfect too! I need to learn to crochet!

Thank you, @kimmac... I think crocheting is really useful when doing finishing knitting and machine knitting garments (plus making crocheting garments of course).

If you're interested in learning, you could have a look at @crosheille's crochet lessons. There are three episodes so far - the instructions are very clear to get you started :

Episode 1
https://steemit.com/needleworkmonday/@crosheille/3iroy2z3

Episode 2
https://steemit.com/needleworkmonday/@crosheille/rrzbq0xb

and

Episode 3
https://steemit.com/needleworkmonday/@crosheille/vjr9pg0u

Thanks! @crosheille makes great stuff too. She just posted a photo in my comments of a hat she made for her daughter. It's beautiful!

I sometimes use crochet instead of sewing knitted things together. Works well and it's nice + soft.

Thanks so much for your sweet compliments!! ☺️

I hope you give crocheting a Go! 😉

Awww thanks so much @cryptocariad! I appreciate the shoutout! ❤️

I look forward to getting back to it and making more! 😊

Haaa pattern hacking!! 😅 Wow it amazes me how you can look at something and copy it like this...you’re pretty amazing!! Even the design in the pattern looks very similar! Cute! I wouldn’t have been able to resist the free kit with the magazine either lol! I have never seen those clips before, interesting.

I have never used straight wood hooks like that before but I have 2 bamboo hooks that I LOVE! They are somewhat soft and comfortable enough for my fingers. I would like to get every size crochet hook in bamboo.

Thanks for sharing with us~ 😊

It's a pleasure, @crosheille... I think that because the hook was so straight it was rather slippery, but I managed and I am tempted to get some more although, as @muscara says above, they could get broken quite easily - I must crochet 'less feverishly' 😅

Haaa right! 😄

They look great, just the thing for keeping your toes warm when you're sitting ... knitting 😊 (or crocheting). I like the leafy pattern you're using. Is that a current magazine? I might look for it in Smith's when I am out.

I think it still is the current magazine, @shanibeer... I am afraid I couldn't resist the freebies, but please note that the slippers I made are not from that magazine.

The patterns in the mag are for thicker yarn - though there're a pair of crocheted socks that I'm tempted to try as we've had some frosty mornings already here and they'd be great to wear in my wellies :D

I understood that the slippers were your own creation :)

:D I saw the photo and got to work on them straight away, @shanibeer.... So I made them

  • still to photograph the second one and put elastic around each and now, thanks to @muscara, I know of that fine elastic to use, yay !

I love your slippers. I really like the design that you used. I also get inspired by seeing what other's have created. Artists use photo references all the time when creating their own original works of art. I think that as long as you give the original person credit and you are not attempting to make them to sell to others that you are ethically fine. (in my non- legal opinion) :)
Great job!

Thank you, @jluvs2fly... You're right... You learn from good design and this design is like a good cooking recipe - it will still work even if you change the ingredients slightly :) And you're right too as I'm not planning on selling them :D

to knit a pattern without a template is difficult. Great that you managed to do it! Slippers are very cute !!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60699.39
ETH 2655.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59