You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Working out a crochet pattern from a photo ...

Did I already told you that I loooove Japanese craft magazines (I think I only told @akiponn) Sometimes you can find the patterns of these magazines on Pinterest as jpg... it is perhaps only half legal. But I thought I tell you, as the magazines are hard to get in Europe and mostly they are expensive.
The simply crochet magazine is also beautiful. I always find their photography so tempting and their layout is amazing. Sadly, if you buy this magazine in Germany the goodies are not included, and it is also crazy expensive.
But now your slippers! Wow! Congratulations for working this pattern out. They look so lovely (perfect japanese style) These are a super nice present. As I am not so into making socks/slippers (because of the second sock syndrome) I have never used 'shirring'. I have used a strip of crochet to close the slippers over the instep like a ballet slipper (I don't know how to name it...)

Sort:  

I'm sure we've chatted re websites before, @neumannsalva ... one day I'll visit Japan and go completely broke after buying so many mags and yarn there ...
Thanks for the idea too... I'm really tempted to find that fine elastic just to see how I can incorporate it into projects :D

I see an elastic post for next week 😅😅😅😅

Everything will have elastic from now on, @neumannsalva 😅😅

YEEEEYYY I make all my skirts with elastic as the waisband. I love this (and I hate waisbands without stretch). So elasticity rules 😊

I love that Japanese designers seem to combine knitting + crochet more often than we're used to. .I love it - I already have yarn waiting for a tunic where you use both.

Part of the tunic could actually be knitted on the knitting machine, @muscara :D
The crochet edging design is really pretty -- challenge on ! 😅

You do know that you can knit socks etc. 2aat = two at a time? tempts with two lovely circular needles

No more second sock syndrome!

😅 That's advanced knitting for me, @muscara, but it does make sense because any minor alterations would be done at the same time so there's more chance of making them identical.

You mean alterations Luke "Oh sh*t, I should have started the increases three rows ago!"?

The second thing syndrome is only one problem... the real one is my knitting style. My fingers hurt if I knit normal western style and you cannot knit combination style in the round. This is also the reason why my sweaters need so long, as I only can knit in the round for a very short period, cardigans are much easier on my hands.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67614.76
ETH 2610.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73