Finishing a bracelet, and a new yoga strap.

in #needleworkmonday7 years ago (edited)

For my previous post in NeedleWork Monday, I had wanted to post something (I want to be in it!) but wasn't sure what. I picked up a couple of woven bracelets I'd made before and thought I'd post a photo of those.

Then I figured, that's a bit boring on its own, and started a new bracelet so I could show how it's done. I was so glad I went to the extra effort. The post was picked up by the marvelous @curie group: thank you!

I didn't have time to finish off the bracelet, though, so today I'll show you how it turned out.

Generally, the weaving takes a couple of hours, so I usually watch TV or listen to something. When it started to look 'long enough' I began testing it around my wrist, to see when there was enough to go around. I stopped when it was about 16cm long.
20171026_140430.jpg
I should probably have stopped at maybe 15cm - it turned out a bit loose.

Then, I took all of the yarn off the wheel and tied it in a loop around knot, just like we did at the beginning.
20171026_142745.jpg
To fasten the bracelet, you can just tie the two ends together, but I decided to use a button.

If you're into needlework of any kind, I bet you have a bunch of old buttons and fasteners laying around. A quick search netted me a small container and an old bag, both filled with buttons.

I looked through them for a button that matched and was the right size. If you choose a big button, you can just make the space between the knots at the start bigger to accommodate it (easier if you plan for that when you begin).

I used a large needle to help me thread three strands through the button,
20171026_143642.jpg
then looped a second knot on the other side. Now, you can use the space between the two knots at the beginning as a buttonhole.
20171026_144406.jpg

Lovely. I actually wore it around for a few days. After I'd been doing some gardening, I noticed it was gone. I have a feeling that it's down the bottom of the garden refuse bin, underneath all the prunings. As I said earlier, it was a touch too long and it seems to have slipped off. I'm a bit sad that the star of my most successful post, ever, went missing so quickly, but now I have an excuse to make another!

A few weeks ago, @bedoodle showed us her crocheted yoga strap. I have been attempting (poorly) an online yoga course and made me a strap too.
20171106_214647.jpg

Happy needle working!

PS: All photos in this post are original photos taken by me, on a Samsung Galaxy S7 phone.

Sort:  

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 88.0% @glitterbooster upgoat, thanks to @beachhermit
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @beachhermit to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.
Qurator is proudly supported by @reggaemuffin, vote for him as a witness here.

I’m so sad you lost your bracelet. Dang it. Your yoga strap turned out great! Keep up your (Yoga) practice! It will pay off.

The yoga strap was a great little project. It didn't take nearly as long to make as I thought it would. It's a bit curly wurly - I had to do quite a bit of work to get it to sit like that and not curl up into ringlets like Shirley Temple's hair. I might try doing another in heavier wool. Thanks for giving me the idea!

Congrads on the curie upvote! I like the colours of your yoga strap. I'm trying a youtube yoga class too..it is hard to do the moves and look at the screen at the same time!

Cool! Which class are you doing? The one I'm doing is called "The Science and Practice of Yoga" and it's run by the University of Texas, Arlington, via Edx

I had just the same problem as you! Supposed to have my forehead against the floor and sneaking a peek up to see if I'm supposed to have moved yet. I managed to get my daughter to join in a session and there I am on the floor, while the class has moved on and my daughter is up in a warrior pose and laughing at me.

In this course, they spend time showing how to do each pose - including modifications you can make if you have pain or other problems doing the pose. So, it's becoming a little easier to just follow by listening.

I am doing the 30 day yoga challenge for beginners by Fightmaster (thats actually her last name) Yoga. I looked at a few different ones on Youtube and I like her class because she doesn't go off topic when you're struggling to hold a difficult pose...and lots of them are difficult for me! That link you sent looks interesting...I saved it to check out later.

I was so excited for you to get noticed by @curie!!! Way to go and Congrats!!! 😃 That’s so sad you lost such a cute bracelet but the good thing is you can always make more. Thanks for sharing the steps of your work. I really like the color combo of the yoga strap.

'Tis better to have made and lost, than to never have made at all. So said some famous guy - or something like that. I have another tale of loss coming up the next time I manage a needlework post. Love ya!

Lol well whoever said it I like it! You had fun making it and sharing the process so it was worth your time. Looking forward to hearing more! 😉

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by BeachHermit from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Congratulations @beachhermit! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @beachhermit! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This post has received a 1.32 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @beachhermit. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Hi @Beachhermit,

I'm @joshua-golbuu, or Josh for short and I just joint @TeamAustralia a few week ago (I moved from the islands of Micronesia to Australia to study and live here).

I just wanted to drop a note to say hello. I don't have many recent post because I just finish my last exam yesterday, but I very much like to get to know everyone in our team. Hope we will meet on Steemit 🤙

Btw. I super love nature and I'm a beachboy myself and use to play with hermit whenever I visited my grandma's place by the beach, so I love your steemit handle @beachhermit 💖...very cool. 👍

here is my re-intro with more details: https://steemit.com/teamaustralia/@joshua-golbuu/from-micronesia-to-australia-my-journey-re-introducing-myself-to-teamaustralia-and-to-everyone-in-steemit-after-my-exams

Peace ✌ & 💖 love!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58672.01
ETH 2437.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44