September Morn

in #naturephotography5 years ago (edited)

Look at what you've done; Why, you've become a grown-up garden


IMG_1351.JPG

Picked a peck?


Here's my latest garden update, inspired by @zekepickleman ! Last of my Chocolate Pepper... I suspect. Tiny one, but not sure there's enough growing season still out there, for it to come in. Orange tomato (I forgot the name of it), a couple of Plum, San Marzano Tomato, and one Yellow (I know, I know, looks Orange), Pepper.

IMG_1329.JPG

The Raspberry bush is FULL STEEM AHEAD! Each day, I pick a couple of bowls now... about a quart. This bowl above, gets rinsed of the protein scrambling about, and then, frozen.



IMG_1352.JPG

The smaller bowl, goes into the fridge, for fresh onto yougurt in the am for anyone who wants.Not bad for a little plant from a quart pot, purchased a few years ago?


IMG_1340.JPG


IMG_1341.JPG

IMG_1342.JPG

IMG_1343.JPG

As you can see above, plenty more Raspberries for the picking each day for the foreseeable future. I suspect lots of fresh daily, and enough to freeze. A decent batch of Jelly shall happen this year - watch for the post! Last year, I made a couple of 750ml bottles of Raspeberry Liquer, and they are not done yet, so, time for some jam or jelly.



IMG_1344.JPG

IMG_1345.JPG


the Grape Tomato still have about a dozen left, to harvest. Not much else.



IMG_1346.JPG


Last of the San Marzano Plums, and in the background, an orange cherry tomato!


IMG_1347.JPG


In the foreground, in blue pot is Appletini Mint growing, and the blue pot behind, is one of many types of Basil.



IMG_1348.JPG


As I've mentioned before, the Chocolate Basil growing...and it seems to be going green?

IMG_1349.JPG

The last of my sweet Yellow Pepper, I also see some small ones, but I suspect the cold will stunt them before they fully mature.
IMG_1350.JPG





For those who heard me talking, this is one of 3 Hanging Strawberry plants, around my gardens. Used to do them in pots, but, it turns out, all I was doing was growing strawberries so that squirrels and rabbits could take on bite of each piece of fruit and leave the rest...


So, what's left? I'll water, and harvest... in the late fall, I will make some jelly, and hope to post those pics and a write up.
Next spring, I'll do a larger raised bed, so that I can plant my Beach plum plants. I'll also add another table, to use for more potted garden plants.


It's always easy, btw, to talk about what I will do! Actually DOING IT, now.... that's the hard part!




Always, I strive to give back
To the animals and birds around me
to put more plants in than I take out
And be a good steward for the world around me!

All Photos by Bluefin Studios.
More of the Garden Stories and Photos


thealliance_468x60.jpg

MonkeeSupporter.png

Small Welcome Wagon.png


Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

If I can manage to inspire an all star like you even minimally, it has been a good day for steem.

I think you may have learned me a lesson the easy way instead of finding out the hard way! I was going to add a box of strawberries next year. Thinking about what you are saying, I should just add a mini hot tub in there with the strawberries and turn it into a proper rabbit party.

I may just macguyver up a hanging strawberry patch and grow something else in the box. It will be called”Bluefin Garden” as my chicks seem to like to name the gardens.

Damn nice work man. We should collaborate on a hot sauce in the future! Sell it for steem.

Posted using Partiko iOS

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just resteemed your post!
Check the new contest I just launched.
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

oh that's nice, by the way bluefin, do you have a garden or farm?

thanks for sharing at #pypt server

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for sharing and engaging with Pimp Your Post Thursday.
You’ve earned SHADE tokens

Was nice to hear about the garden on #pypt. Those raspberries look awesome. I have one bush in the back which has slowly grown, and I'm hoping to get some raspberries next year.

I'm very interested in seeing your hanging strawberries. I have a large strawberry patch on the ground, but have been trying "vertical" or "hanging" gardening as of this year, with very limited success. I might need to transplant some of those strawberries into my hanging pots.

For me, the key is good soil.
In the last photo above, (bottom pic) you can see one of the hanging pots. we use the coconut husk lining, and then, the soil is good, compost, plus whatever the plant come with. It's about 16-18 inches (a little under half meter) in diameter, the hanging pot. the thing with the coconut, is great drainage. AND, I try and water the Raspberries and strawberries most ever day... some days, if it is hot, water early morning and later, close to dusk.

Thanks for sharing and engaging with Pimp Your Post Thursday.
You’ve earned SHADE tokens

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 2 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 2 SBD worth and should receive 222 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

A lovely article that reminds me of childhood where the veggie garden was huge and the plants including metre high green pea plants was a norm. The African gardener was a fount of knowledge and knew all the ways to rid the veg of crawling protein (love that!). I learned from him how to love to til the soil and still do in a small way with herbs in my retirement.
I'll be following you....see if you make all that nyummy stuff!

That misshapen tomato is funky looking.... I gotta say I'm somewhat envious seeing photos of people's veggie gardens; living in the inner city, we have no room for something like that, just some herbs in pots.

Thanks for sharing and engaging with Pimp Your Post Thursday.
You’ve earned SHADE tokens

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55049.50
ETH 2307.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30