On Bird WatchingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #nature7 years ago

The National Audubon Society has gone to the birds!



National Audubon Society Logo
Image Source


More specifically for those who are not in the know, the Audubon Society is all about bird watching.

The National Audubon Society was officially formed in 1905 and gets it’s name “in honor of John James Audubon, a Franco-American ornithologist and naturalist who painted, cataloged, and described the birds of North America in his famous book Birds of America.”
Source

As a casual bird watching enthusiast, I have always wondered why it was called “Audubon” and now I know.

My love of looking at birds didn’t start at a young age.

In fact, my first memorable experience with fowl were the times we would feed the geese old leftover bread at a pond somewhere in Indiana when I was about 4 years old.

The reason I remember this so vividly is that one goose took it upon itself to bite my small fingers.

Ouch!

Pain sticks with you I guess.


The start of my seriously casual birdwatching began about 5 years ago.

I was living in an apartment on the second floor that had a small outdoor patio area.

Behind the apartment property was pasture with a tree line break on the fence line.

These trees were the homes of several flying friends.

The usual suspects of North Texas made their appearance there, but also a speck of blue had caught my eye.


Blue Jay


Blue Jay
Image Source


The Blue Jay was the first Non-Chickadee type bird that I noticed.

Soon enough there came the bright eye catching red.


Male Cardinal


Male Cardinal
Image Source


Not long after I noticed his counterpart!


Female Cardinal


Female Cardinal
Image Source


The fun, or funny thing, I found was a website with Cardinal sounds, which when played, attracted the birds to the area.

It worked best to play the female sounds and see all the males respond!

Kinda like some other species we know…

Eventually, I found a small bird feeder that I was able to hang and keep full from time to time.

The amount of birds nearby made sure it didn’t stay full for long.

That and the squirrels.

I hate squirrels!

At my other place of living we again had a green space behind our fence line and again saw the usual suspects.

Now, we have moved again, and this time we have a fair number of trees on our property ranging from small to large.

In our new front yard we have a small tree that I noticed was the home of a bird’s nest.

I put my wife on my shoulders and handed her my phone to snap these pics!


Baby Birds


Baby Birds
Image Source
Baby Birds
Image Source


We made sure not to linger nor to touch.

And so my love of the birds continues.

Even if I can’t spell ornithology without looking it up first…

What do you love about birds? Or what tips do you have for new bird watchers?

What is your favorite bird you’ve seen or hope to one day see?

Thanks!


Stay tuned. Stay interesting. Stay Strange.


Michael


Created by Michael Paine

Follow me @strangerarray and donate because the birds are watching you.


See the latest adventures and creations from my wife Sarah on steemit!

Also Check Out Some of My Previous Post:





Do you want to take out a loan to consolidate debt?

If you use my Credible Referral link, you can get a cash bonus if you take out a loan.


Sort:  

You've been UpVoted via the UpVote Experiment 002 Bot. Depending on my VP & the price of STEEM you should get a $.01-$.03 for your trouble.
Read more about this experiment here.

Thank You - @blueorgy

Well thank you kindly!

So glad I caught this post!
I LOVE SEEING NEW BIRDS ON MY PROPERTY! It's probably one of the most exciting things. I am thankful to have a friend who I immediately text to tell, also.

Some awesome birds on my property are:

  • Mountain Bluebirds (they next in a birdhouse right off our deck! They had TWO broods this year! I now have 12 young bluebirds around almost all the time!)
  • Loggerhead Shrike (The coolest freaking birds! Check out this video you'll love it! So dramatic... haha. I want to go searching my perimeter barbedwire fence to see if I can find any carcasses... Haha)
  • Northern Harrier (not great for the chickens, however... but, really cool anyway).

I think I've seen a Common Nighthawk! And so many more!! I don't know if you caught my past post about these crap nuggets - THEY TOUCHED ME. How rude! Haha.

Anyway, yes, I just got really excited. I love love love seeing and trying to identify all the birds that I see. I've seen so many really cool ones! I hate when I only see them once or twice and am not able to get a real good ID on them tho.

That's some awesome sightings!

Great effort ,keep sharing , upvoted

Thanks for the support!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58300.22
ETH 2638.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44