UpVote Experiment #002 - UpVote'em All!

in #experiment7 years ago (edited)

After running my 100% Upvote Experiment I was already itching to run another fun experiment but wasn't sure what to do. Yesterday after running some tests on a UpVote bot it came to me. Instead of doing a small amount of 100% UpVotes I would instead go the opposite direction and do as many as possible at a very small percentage. This will not only let me give a small boost to as many posts as possible (especially with the recent lack of voting) and answer a few questions along the way like is it more profitable to spread your votes out or be more direct?

social-experiment-advertsing-tugboat-group-vancouver.jpg Source

The Experiment

It's pretty straight forward

  • Create UpVote bot that attempts to UpVote every new post (non-comments)
    (every 3 seconds)
  • Add code to comment on as many as possible explaining the experiment
    (every 20 seconds)
  • Add fail safe on errors so the bot continues to run without interruption
  • Run Bot for 24 Hours
  • See What Happens!

The UpVote Bot

from piston.steem import Steem
import os
import json
steem = Steem(wif="WIF")
for c in steem.stream_comments():
try:
if c.is_main_post():
vote = c.upvote(weight = 0.03, voter = "blueorgy")
print("UpVoted post by @"+vote["operations"][0][1]["author"])
reply = c.reply("UpVote Experiment Comment", title='', author='blueorgy')
print("Replied via "+reply["operations"][0][1]["permlink"])
except:
print("...")

Right, Lets Do This Thing

I will start up the bot momentarily



Remember To Vote blueorgy for witness!
https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Sort:  

The experiment has been completed.
The final bot UpVote was here at 100%.
The bot was run for 24 Hours.
Results post to come!

nice @blueorgy . How i can recieved upvote? Congratulation for your contribution for Steemit Community.

Cool. I was just upvoted by your bot, thanks! I have 10 witness votes left and I was wondering who I should vote for so I shall vote for you now. :-)

Holy shit 672 views your famous dude but no checking steemit and its always good to see familiar faces!

I love this?! Thanks for the upvote by the way ;)

Thank you for upvote @ blueorgy
It is nice that someone gets votes on his article.
It can also contribute to more votes.
A tink is definitely you get a lot to your blog who is curious about who you are.
But blogs exist to be read so what then.

Gives you 100% upvote

I agree with @somethingsubtle. However I am also intrigued to see what you learn with this experiment. I also like what you said about being able to uncover some potentially great authors.

Isn't an unengaged upvote just as bad as a spam one?

Doesn't a bot like this just encourage empty votes without any of the social value attached that Steemit actually requires?

Aside from that, thanks for sharing the code. Good to see a python library already out for Steem.

I agree. Even i know nothing about the steemit engine, and how much space it takes such content-ignorant upvotes + comment, still to me it looks more like a new way of spamming.
I may be wrong, though. I'ts just my subjective opinion.

Oh I agree with what your saying. The only "auto upvotes" I do are for a select number of authors who I trust. I am just running this once for the experiment otherwise I don't use bots anyway. I will also being looking through where my comments ended up out of curiosity, maybe ill land a couple potential great authors 😉. You should write a full post on your thoughts about this experiment and the overall use of bots, might be a good read.

Maybe I shouldn't have shared the code? lol

Thank you very much I have just been upvote by your bot
Much love

You da bomb!!

Potential new authors you say? You know when I first seen your bots message it looked a bit like spam if I'm being honest, hopefully it was lucky for both of us that I read before I assume ;)

NOT ALL BOTS .. are 'created' equally !! - ))
and, YOUr'S .. is a FUN little BOOST .. thanks !! - ))

lovelovelove )))
greb'Z )

.. here is a FUN BOT i made - )))))))))))

.. a NINJA - ))
and, upside down .. it is a PLAN_eT "SEE(D)" !! - ))
ha ha - )))

Still don't fully comprehend how all of this works, but I appreciate the help you are providing. I can tell you are diligently trying to make this environment the best it can be!

There is a python library, but @blueorgy is not really using it. :)

I'd highly highly recommend using the "official" library. Piston, which is used in the code above, is abandoned, I believe.

Wow. IMHO this is the worst kind of spam. I hope you learn something useful after voting dozens of spammers like this one: spam article upvoted by blueorgy.

Ahh the algorithms are taking over!!!!! Run!!!!!

very true blueorgy, spread out more small upvotes is better way for the whole community.

Awesomeness ! Looking forward to some up votes from your bot !! And finding out how your experiment went ! It would be nice to find the sweet spot as well for a lot of us !! 👍👍👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63463.10
ETH 3243.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.45