Three times lucky!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #nature7 years ago

Well technically its not three times , but this is the third time I write about my endeavours in the woods around my home.

And this time we got lucky.


I had more or less lost hope that I would find any significant amount of mushrooms this year.

Yes the season is far from over but It hasnt really been any good so far, but then this sunday we went out and Boom!

They where all over the place. in a little more than 2 hours we collected more than 6 kgs of mushrooms. mainly Bay boletes and Porcinis/Penny buns but also a few yellowfoot

we have spent the time from then until now, drying and preparing all of it before it goes bad, because this weekend we are going back out to see if there is anything left :-)


Im EvilHippie, a compulsive creative and jack o' trades. If you want to know more about me, check out my introduction post here

If you like what you see, feel free to upvote, follow and resteem
or you can check out these recent posts

nice print on my new printer
first print on my new printer
I got a new printer!
my winnings from Mikko
a walk in the woods
A drawing of an elf

Sort:  

LOL! The mushrooms are pretty cute and huge too! What did u do with them?

the big ones are best for drying. I slice them thinly and put them in the oven at 50 dg celsius for a couple hours. The others I use in sauces or soups or just fry them in butter and eat them on toast

OMG.... sounds delicious! :O I love portobello mushrooms on my hamburgers.

wow - so great when you find so many - and excellent ones at that! I am sort of jealous: just the other day I spent a pretty penny to buy porcinis on the market. Maybe I ought to go out and search (I live in Austria, and within about one hour drive I would be in the woods where they grow). I cook them Vienna style, in a creme fraiche sauce.

Whoa that's a nice haul :)

yeah it was app. 5 kg cleaned and we were out again this weekend and found similar amounts. We will be out again next weekend as well. Then we shold be good to get us throught the winter and spring.

Great post and I wish steemit had a sticky or pin option because this is one of those special posts. ??

thanks. glad you liked it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63643.10
ETH 2582.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75