Success always comes at a prize.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #print3d7 years ago

Hello fellow steemit 3dprinting enthusiasts. I hereby present the succesfull print from my new Wanhao duplicator 7. Yes that is a matchstick head in the photo. the print is app 10 mm high and 19mm across(at the base)

I ran my new printer again yesterday evening. it was a small print. Since my last print wasnt a big success, I wanted something that would finish quickly.
I made a quick mockedup slicefile in the wanhao software. Four skulls places so that they look in all directions.


I remembered to close all other windows and started the printer again. I had left the resin in the printer overnight but had remembered to put the lid on to make sure no dust or light got to it. it will cure in sunlight so remember to always keep it out of the light.

One hour later I could get my print out and to my delight it was perfect. Again, I had used the medium setting(50 micron layer height) to make sure it didnt take too long.


I am really pleased with how it turned out. I have seen numerous images on the web, but it is something completely different to actually have it in your hand. I got my camera out, mounted the macro lens, that I have bought for just this kind of pictures and snapped a few quick ones. The resin doesnt photograph very well since it is rather glossy and somewhat translucent. it is easier to see whats going on if it is painted with a matte paint. maybe later I will get some photos of it with some paint on.
My conclusion is that the printer is able to print sufficiently detailed prints for me to use it for both miniatures and jewelry. This is where we come to the part about success coming at a prize.:
Now I have to get myself some castable resin and a uv-curing oven(the prints are a bit sticky still), to get that last quality out of it. First I am going to experiment a lot more though. I will keep you all posted with my results.


Im EvilHippie, a compulsive creative and jack o' trades. If you want to know more about me, check out my introduction post here

If you like what you see, feel free to upvote, follow and resteem
or you can check out these recent posts

my first failed print
I got a new printer!
my winnings from Mikko
a walk in the woods
A drawing of an elf

Sort:  

Congratulations @evilhippie! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great! Now, you can paint over this miniature, give it some texture and it would be an awesome addition to some fantasy mini-diorama! Could be an altar, or the capital of a pillar supporting a great dome...

Yeah Thats pretty much my thoughts. I decided to buy the printer to use as a tool in my jewelry design process, but so far, i have mostly done miniatures that can be used in boardgames and rpgs

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64038.31
ETH 3137.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86