Natural Hair Care... And dry shampoo recipe!

in #naturalmedicine6 years ago (edited)

Good afternoon, steemians! I wanted to share with you all a new development in my natural hair care journey. I've recently been practicing this embodiment of an "everything our body mind needs, it shall provide" mindset. I only recently realized that I could extend it even further... All the way to the tips of my hairs!

IMG_20171111_161336403_LL.jpg
"no poo" may seem weird to some, but I'm not passing on this shine. No way.

Now, I have been officially "no poo" for a little over a year. For those unfamiliar, this means a shampoo (or detergent) free hair care lifestyle. It's been a long and arduous journey with my hair, sometimes brilliant, and sometimes... Well, let's just say I've had more than a handful of mandatory ponytail days. But, I have learned a ton about natural hair care, as well as the personal individual needs of my own hair. Which has been one of the best rewards. After all, what is better than learning more about the self? And why stop at mind awareness when we can know even our own hairs more intimately! (yes, I'm slightly obsessed 😂)

So, after a year of many different natural hair cleansing remedies, I have decided to go all natural. For the past couple weeks now, the only thing that's touched my hair has been my homemade dry shampoo recipe (recipe below!), and really only to perk it up for a night out. This means, I haven't even done my biweekly water and thyme essential oil hair rinse. I'm missing it just slightly, but so far I'm enjoying this new development.

I have tried all types of natural hair care products, everything from detergent-free shampoos (hideously expensive when store bought) to the tried and true baking soda/apple cider vinegar combo. During that process, I have found that for my fine, tending to oily Italian heritaged mostly white girl hair, the best natural products and process has been a water only with essential oils (usually thyme or lavender, with some rosemary) rinse, and an every other week dilute shikakai powder wash.
I love shikakai powder, because it's a one and done, totally natural kind of deal. And no conditioner or apple cider vinegar rinse is needed! It does however tend to dry out my combination scalp, and typically about 3 to 4 days later I will assuredly have an itchy scalp. By then I'm ready for my water/EO rinse, so no biggie, and with my EO blend, I come away smelling a bit similar to an Italian herbed chicken. 😁👍 Delicious.

Trying this different approach however has been really fun! The first 5 days of NO water, NO shikakai, NO essential oils was a bit rough. I refused to cave to frustration though, and rather than opting for my typical routine, I busted out my three brushes and went to town.

The brushes I use are, in this order:
1, my own fingers and nails. I scritch and preen my scalp for several minutes. It's invigorating and I have found it to be enjoyable, despite my lack of patience for spending all this time with my hands in my own hair and scalp.
2, a scalp massaging brush. It has thick, firm, with a little give "prongs" that cut through the hair like a comb and massage my scalp. I am in love with this brush, as it makes me think of a curry comb for horses. It's a very similar kind of action, and it feels great. It also loosens up some scalp debris and makes my scalp feel all tingly and nice.
3, a natural hair Boar Bristle Brush. The purpose of the BBB is to condition the hair, drawing the natural oils from scalp roots to ends. I brush with my BBB for several minutes. Sometimes, if I'm feeling intimate (or lazy), I ask my hubby to BBB my hair, which makes all this natural hair care worth it. Haha! But seriously, the BBB is by far the best tool in my natural hair care toolbox.

received_173603473564932.jpeg
moments after a vigorous brushing treatment

Some benefits I've already enjoyed by leaving my hair to its own natural devices have been shinier hair, less oily scalp, less dry scalp, and less washing which equals less maintenance. Also, my scalp is much happier in general, with less dandruff and less itchiness.

I highly recommend to anyone who has a personality that lends toward experimentation over vanity to pursue a natural hair care lifestyle. It's been fun, rewarding, and a great, empowering learning experience. And yes, I get compliments on my hair a lot!

Is it for everyone? Hmm. I'm going to be open minded here and say, yes! It sure could be. But it might help to have a mindset of enjoying the process and the journey.

Three cheers to embracing all that our bodies provide, and three more cheers to great hair!

IMG_5101.JPG
natural medicine, natural living and a happy life seriously puts a smile on my face!

Homemade Dry Shampoo!

1 cup arrowroot powder
2 tbsp cinnamon or cocoa powder, depending on your hair color
15 drops each Peppermint, Lavender and Rosemary essential oils
Mix thoroughly in an air and moisture tight container
Apply to hair as needed, and brush thoroughly!

Xx Tree of Life

My_Post_1 (2).jpg
Proud member of the Natural Medicine community on Steemit! Come join us at @naturalmedicine or in our awesome Discord chat!

Sort:  

Congratulations @thetreeoflife! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @thetreeoflife! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 700 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 800 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!
Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @thetreeoflife! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received
Award for the number of comments received
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I'm wondering where you mostly live @treeoflife? Here in Thailand my hair is sweat-soaked most days and when it dries, it attracts mosquitoes! So yes, it's a rinse more often than a wash, but definitely needs to involve water. I sometimees simply use a rinse made from kaffir lime leaves and skin - a bit drying to the ends of my hair but lovely and fresh in consistently 90-110F heat. Would be interested in your suggestions. :)

I bet that kaffir lime rinse smells amazing. It's acidic, so would make an excellent rinse!
I've also tried a plain yogurt, lemon and raw egg mask (1/4 c yogurt, 1 egg, 1tsp lemon for 20min) and it makes my hair thick and luxurious and does have a cleansing effect as well. You could sub kaffir lime I'm sure.
I live in high desert (2200m elevation and below 50% humid) very dry and dusty here. I think more brushing and less wash/rinse is probably better for more dry climates? If I was in humidity and sweating I'd Def be rinsing more.
Tho... Up until about a week ago I thought I needed an every third day rinse, turns out I was wrong. 😂
As for the mosquitos, you could try adding a few drops of peppermint, thyme, lavender or lemongrass essential oils to your rinse. I find essential oils only stick around in hair for about a half a day (longer if peppermint) but that would probably keep mosquitos off while it's drying at least!
Thanks for sharing your hair care tips. Now I want to try a lime rinse! 😊

You have gorgeous hair!!!! I use a natural shampoo etc but pay for it. Can't bear not to wash wash my hair everyday!!! Thanks for sharing this. I feel I should experiment.. maybe in summer when I'm not in a hurry to get to work (besides I rarely wash hair in the summer... I'm always in the ocean!). And wow.. you have SUCH a stunning smile!!!

PS My VP is low.. Will come back atcha when its up.

Posted using Partiko Android

You are so sweet 😂 thank you, I breathe that in 😂 the smiling pic was from the morning I got married. Life is certainly very sweet. 😊
I want to swim in the ocean every day. We are landlocked here and I grew up near the ocean and often miss it so much.
I think experimentation is key, especially with hair. 90% of the natural hair care tips I've gotten from others have not been good for my hair at all so it's more just finding what works for you as an individual. I like this new less is more approach tho and am gonna stick with it for now.
If you decide to switch it up and experiment with your hairs, let me know how it goes! I'd love to hear the things you find that work for you. 😊

Aw, so cute, no wonder you are smiling!!!! Where did you grow up? I'm not sure I could handle being landlocked...

East coast USA, right outside of Philadelphia. Now I live far away from the ocean. I love Colorado but sometimes I miss the water a lot! And good seafood too!

Congratulations @thetreeoflife! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 600 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 700 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65862.35
ETH 3444.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68