Mad World: One girl band cover and tribute to my favourite band Tears for Fears + analysis of the song

in #music6 years ago (edited)
Above: My tribute One-girl-band cover to TEARS FOR FEARS (Mad World). All recorded in one go and layering up instruments. Press Play to listen to my version while you read the rest of the article. It has some build up at the end.

This is a song that comes to me whenever I feel trapped

Circles within Circles... this is a very Mad World

mad world - by Priscilla Hernandez (yidneth.com)-2.jpg

I remember it was a moody day that day... the same way today has been... I remember the sky was dark and ominous and I was inside watching it from the window. People up and down the street with their umbrellas, hurrying their pace... trapped too. We all have those circles we seem unable to leave... And I grabbed some pieces of paper and watercolours and started to draw circles... quite a lot of them... some becoming spirals, others concentric. And I was there surrounded by this papers and I decided to do this video.

Recording the music

It was an spontaneous recording all on the go... harmonies are mostly improvised... and I grabbed some of the folk instruments I usually play trying to make the song a bit my own too. I started with the piano and lead vocals and then I built in some backing vocals. Then I felt it had to be a version closer to my style... so on the second half expect some "ethereal ghost celtic blend) in which you can see me playing harp, hammered dulcimer, flute, and even a jug of water as percussion. Still most of my arrangements are inspired in the original version of the song, as released by Tears for Fears in 1982. Despite being a slower moody version on piano this version is inspired in the Tear for Fears arrangements.
It was very much unprepared, and "frantic" as the circles patterns became tangled. My tempo is a bit faster than the original. This mad world is frantic sometimes.

mad world - by Priscilla Hernandez (yidneth.com).jpg

Above: Me playing bansuri flute in this recording

Pd. Yes, I play a water can at the end. I would love a bass drum very much but meanwhile these work. ;)

Being grateful to my music influences

Tears for Fears is my favourite band of all times... as a musician and female vocalist with ethereal sound, It's very rare that my listeners gather the dots and realize how big the influence of this band was in me yet it is very present.
To be honest I learned to sing with these electropop British band... still active.
I have never considered myself "fan" of any musician, but I do love their work, and it's the only group I own the whole discography :) since those wonderful 80s. I remember walking with my walkman playing a cassette of "The Seeds of Love". I remember all my classmates back in those years... while they would put stickers on their folders of their temporary heart-throbs. They are not even good looking, they used to tell me. They were fine but my admiration was focused on their lyrics and vocal delivery... also in some rare and less known songs that everybody overlooked. The lyrics sometimes were ominous and sad but wrapped me conveniently as I grew from child to teenager.
So yes Tears for Fears is one of my major music influences and I say "is" and not "was" because I still enjoy listening to them. Of course when I first released a CD I posted a little "Thank you" note. I would like to hand it to them one day. So for all the times I get the "you sound like Enya" and though I appreciate the compliment in all honesty I must reply "I listen to Tears for Fears" here is my little tribute to state it once more. I was fortunate that Roland himself followed me on twitter a while and Curt even shared my cover on twitter. I really never got much feedback of it, but just the fact they got to listen to it it's thrill enough.
There are a few lines in my own songs here and that themselves little tributes to Tears for Fears (like Easter Eggs). Thus I have a song called "In my mind´s eye" which is a major line in "Head over Heels" and my song "Away" begins with the words "Memories Fade" title of another less known Tears for Fears song.

Famous Gary Jules version is lovely but just a cover... acknowledging Tears For Fears as original performers

Click to read license of this picture
Above: Mad World Single Cover source/license here

Mad World is a rather well known and iconic song... Everybody nowadays sort of can "hum" it... but they usually get the credit wrong. The song was recorded again as a cover by artist Gary Jules as part of the soundtrack of the movie Donny Darko. Gary's cover became a hit in Christmas 2003, and somehow everyone seemed to forget the song has been made two decades prior having been released in 1982. As beautiful and melancholic as the cover was, the fact that many say "Mad Word by Gary Jules" annoys me... how can they forget the original source? By the way, the movie was deliciously weird and remarkable and has become a cult on its own right... but I would like "humble tribute" to make a call back to the original source of the song... A song that is perfect for the crazy times we live, when we get trapped in its circles within circles
And in everyway original was better, at least for me... and the teenager-me that broke the cassette several times listening to Tears for Fears first album The Hurting in which it was included.

Lyrics (Written by Roland Orzabal, originally sung by Curth Smith)

mad world - by Priscilla Hernandez (yidneth.com).jpg

All around me are familiar faces
Worn out places
Worn out faces
Bright and early for their daily races
Going nowhere
Going nowhere
Their tears are filling up their glasses
No expression
No expression
Hide my head I want to drown my sorrow
No tomorrow
No tomorrow
And I find it kind of funny
I find it kind of sad
The dreams in which I'm dying
Are the best I've ever had
I find it hard to tell you
Cos I find it hard to take
When people run in circles
It's a very very
Mad world
Mad world
Mad world
Mad world
Children waiting for the day they feel good
Happy birthday
Happy birthday
Made to feel the way that every child should
Sit and listen
Sit and listen
Went to school and I was very nervous
No one knew me
No one knew me
Hello teacher, tell me what's my lesson
Look right through me
Look right through me
And I find it kind of funny
I find it kind of sad
The dreams in which I'm dying
Are the best I've ever had
I find it hard to tell you
Cos I find it hard to take
When people run in circles
It's a very very
Mad world
Mad world
Mad world
Mad world
And I find it kind of funny
I find it kind of sad
The dreams in which I'm dying
Are the best I've ever had
I find it hard to tell you
Cos I find it hard to take
When people run in circles
It's a very very
Mad world
Mad world
"Halargian" world
Mad world

Note: There is a lot of controversy with that final line.... Hallogeon world, Halargian World, enlarging your world... illogical world... well it's part of intrinsic mystery now :)

I absolutely love that the originalelectropop version goes "crazy" at the end of the song adding noises and dissonant notes, and ends suspended in that moment of craziness.
Funny anecdote: I seriously let my rat Ritva roam on the keyboard to archieve that effect but she was a very good pianist at the end... and we did not include it. Aw, I sort of regret that.

ritva - by priscilla Hernandez (yidneth.com).jpg

My own interpretation of the lyrics

This is one of my favorite lyrics of all time.

Being written by Roland Orzabal when he was only 19, the words of the song are rather ambiguous and open for interpretation... In general the overall vibe is very hopeless.. someone disillusioned, trapped in the routine of a life that is leading nowhere. Shallow routines that doesn't provide happiness. Circles... and circles within circles, in which everyone seem to be trapped, inert and unable to break through. There are feelings that are made numb, as if feeling might be too hurting. In general it feels very lonely trapped in the grid, in the patterns. Abiding what we are supposed to do without seeking what we are meant to be. Having some moments of "happiness" Happy Birthday that somehow become as meaningless as the rest of our routines...
We live in a very "mad world"... and it seems than it's even crazier and cold now than when the song was written... We have become "islands" behind our smartphones... I also seek sometimes escape in my dreams
We are seeking meaning but nothing makes sense sometimes... this world is mad and "Illogical"
As an artist the song also touch some strings... I'm not meant to abide all those rules... it would make me feel my life is not worth... I need to find what I'm meant for... not to feel like this...
When it says "the dreams in which I'm dying are the best I ever had", they were at the time interested in the concept of "nightmares" as a way to release tensions.

Final thoughts


Mad World_0 - by Priscilla Hernandez.gif

Above: Circles within Circles, circles becoming spirals... where are we going?

Today it was very stormy
black clouds hovered over my head
I felt the weight of many things over my shoulders
I stopped by the cafeteria and grabbed the newspaper...

Do I belong? This is a very mad world

If you interpret this song differently let me know in the comments, hope you like my humble version, so if you want to listen to a soft electronica and half folk Celtic version of it including me playing percussion with a jug of water watch the video. I welcome feedback but most importantly I recommend you check this band. Sure they had many hits back in the day "Shout", "Everybody wants to rule the world", but it's their lesser known ones the ones that haunted me.

Circles becoming spirals... maybe there is a way out

Circles becoming spirals is a line of a new song I'm writing and I can see how it may has been born from this day.

 - by priscilla Hernandez (yidneth.com).jpg

So maybe we think we move in circles yet we are spiraling out and still heading somewhere and not "nowhere" as the song sings. Maybe each turn we think that way, but we are really on some kind of path. Feels more hopeful.


Priscilla Hernandez
singer-songwriter & illustrator
http://priscillahernandez.com

Sort:  

Oh wow. I didn't quite remember just how madly talented you are, Priscilla. This is not just a moving tribute to a truly great band and a great song (I'm right there with you on both counts), but a breathtaking performance, and a wonderfully written piece about music you care deeply about (which I always love to read!). Thank you for this, Pris. This is really awesome!

Aww thank you, a couple of posts pack you can listen an original. Yes, Tears for Fears are great, still are, and I am grateful of all the good times, including moody ones. Lol. Thanks for the compliment.

I really really liked the song.. I kept repeating while reading your full of meaning article..The song is very soothing. I like especially the flute inside. And I am very impressed by two sentences. 1. I need to find what I am meant for.. I think this is the thing we should find during whole our lifetime. 2. the dreams in which I'm dying are the best I ever had. This remind me something like that maybe our life will start when we die maybe this life is just an illusion..

Ah, walkman days. How wrapped up I was in my own circles then. I have never heard.. or listened.. to many other TfF songs but i will go and listen now. This is a beautiful version and i can HEAR the circles. Yes, its a mad world, but our circles can overlap and intertwine and connect in beautiful ways. Resteeming. Xx

Actually that line is not in the song.. i added it... It all came out of a really crazy drawing circles idea. Recently made a song that says circles becoming spirals, and my mind drifted to this moment. Today it was moody, so thought of sharing this.

I love your pensiveness in this post - both the interpretation of the song, your pictured art, and your thought process. I have a spiral tattoed on my back, as I love them so much - they do begin in circles, don't they? And if you're lost, you are just passing the same point over and over and over. But a spiral suggests a way in, and a way out - to wherever that maybe.

Good work! The video is very fitting for the song, and you sound great! Very thorough writing too, this song obviously means a lot to you. I've certainly heard both versions, but when I covered this song years ago I will admit I used the Gary Jules cover as a reference :o

As for the last line of the song, I always thought it was 'enlarging your world', I didn't know there was ambiguity about that. Interesting.

Cheers!

Oh there is controversy about that line but like the mystery of it, it is supposed to be Halogeon a made up word. Gary Jules version is lovely, I particularly tried to mimic the synth riff with choirs and my version is celtic weird lol haha dunno, but thanks TFF haha your cds come to all my trips still.

I'll be honest that I don't like remakes, but this is awesome and I love the fact that you didn't just try to remake, but made it your own. I see it as you were inspired by the original and created more.

I'm an 80s guy and TFF is one of my favs. So wish they had done more.

Thank you, I post mostly my original music only. I only do covers sometimes for fun and they are always reinterpreted tributes. Nothing beats an original in my opinion. But we can say how we were "touched" or "inspired" by it. TFF ar still active they released a new single recently. But I am all in for the moody oldies.

Wow Priscilla, whenever a song of yours finishes I can't but sigh, haaaaaa <3, so beautiful!
Thank you for sharing your wonderful music with us!
Thank you also for inspiring & educating me!!
( I could do so much better with my post & self promotion )
You are truly grandiose <3 )

I am looking forward to having your sweetness on the show later!! Sending you love + kisses from me & the puppies ...

IMG_3128.jpg

Awwwww those big brown eyes.... My soul just melted awww. Thank you. This is not my song but a tribute, thus linked from youtube as theybplace an ad for the authors which I am super happy to talk about. In fact th cover is justvan excuse to analize the song and voice once more the original artists as there seems to be confussion cos it became popular due to cover. Went a littke bit mad though and had fun with the video. Lol

This is a great ode to the original tune redefined in your own style!
Love it! And I love the film clip you guys made for it!
Seriously! Your creativity and output makes my jaw drop!
Then there's the amazing philosophial discertation on the song and band too! Wow!

Re: covers becoming more famous than the original: It happens so often, especially if the artist reinterprets the original in an original way, but it can be frustrating. So many people say "Hallelujah by Jeff Buckley" instead of Leonard Cohen, or "Nothing Compares 2U by Sinead O'Connor" instead of Prince, or “I Will Always Love You by Whitney Houston" instead of Dolly Parton, or “Blinded by the Light by Manfred Mann's Earth Band" instead of Bruce Springsteen, or “It’s Oh So Quiet by Björk" instead of Betty Hutton (I had to look that one up because I couldn't remember her name), or “Red Red Wine by UB40" instead of Neil Diamond and so so many more.
They're all great versions though. Each generation gets new interpretations of older songs and the young don't recognise the original artist.

Thank you, production is really minimal here, justvwhat it is seen, @hedac helped me master it too, I think the shout out of this cover is precisely that, that even if you can create something new with your reinterpretation, we should aknowledge always the originals.
And thank you, it was all recorded very much on the go, my one girl band has to play one instrument at at a time lol (maybe two hahaha, not like others ;)). I was moody yesterday and when I am moody sometimes I draw spirals but it occured to me that spirals are not circles, in a new song I say circles becoming spirals, and I understood, and remembered this mad eorld cover. I added the world circles ehich is not in the song but the idea was infused there.
Pd. Tff has looooots of underrated songs.

Well, regardless, I think you guys did a stellar job on the clip. It feels like a journey with strong messages (and you know how I love messages in music).
Yes, TFF had some amazing songs. Shout is just brilliant. I love the melodic guitar solo in it!
And I love that it's a hit song and it's around 6 minutes long. That just doesn't happen anymore, sadly.
In the film clip at 3:44 you can see a young Vladimir Putin clapping.

Whoa. What a start to my week! Just reading my Discord before I get up to face another working week and here’s this welcoming me to my mad world when all I want to do is hide under the blankets and sleep some more. Your arrangement is spectacular, as is the production. I wouldn’t even know where to begin making something like that and I thought I knew a thing or two.

That song though. I always liked the band. I guess we must be similar ages. One of my favourite artists of that era is Howard Jones and I still listen to him a lot. It’s funny but over the last few months I’ve been thinking about working on a repertoire of songs from that era. Nik Kershaw, Haircut 100, Tears for Fears. I started learning the Riddle, but it’s way more tricky than I imagined.

Anyway, you’ve inspired me and what a great way to start my week. The dreams in which I’m dying are the best I ever had. What a line. What a line.

You are a few years my senior but I was also a kid in the 80s. I would love to listen to you do some TFF. 💞 I did a few 80s some dlives back . The production here was very much on the go, and in great part arrangements improvised, then @hedac helped me to mix/master. Pretty much all in one day. A few posts back you have an original properly produced.
Thank you so much for the feedback Cams! You have officially a tff request 💞💞💞💞😋

Yeah, I did produce an album, didn't I? I need to be more positive in life. I can learn that from you I think! If I was going to cover a TFF song, it would be Mad World, although I also really liked Everybody Wants to Rule the World - wasn't there a different one where they said RUN the world, for like an athletics contest or something? That seems to ring a vague bell.

1981 was when I came of musical age, so I'd have been 9 or 10. My first single was Ghost Town by the Specials. I used to record the UK Top 40 to a cassette tape every week, diligently pausing out the chat and then listen to it for the rest of the week. 1985 is my favourite year.

Oh I would love to listen to your version :) go for it!

...chills for days.

Priscilla, you are such a magnificent artist. Thank you for sharing your exceptional gifts with all of us – it's a far less mad world for your presence in it. Grateful to know you. <3

steemit-posts-21.jpg

Aww thank you so much for the lovely encouraging, happy to know you too. And thanks so much for the droplet you know I adore your ethereal photography. A perfect droplet, how delicate!

What a hauntingly beautiful rendition of this song, which I also love. I often find the urge to listen to this song on a drizzly day staring out my window of my studio. And yet in earbuds walking in a busy city it has such a different feel to it. I love how music gives us that layer of differing views when applied to the activities of our days.

Again, a really amazing interpretation. Your's has an almost joyful feel to it that I am really drawn to, I feel even in the darkest of life there is always that spark of joy and hope.

Oh by the way I am now following you. I just found you the post promo page of steemsugars. I've been a member for a bit now, but never give enough time to go through as much as I should. So glad I did this morning. :)

Aww yay for synchronicity then 💞 and thanks for the lovely compliment too. It is very encouraging. And I agree songs shift according to its surroundings. Today is moody behind droplet covered window again. 🌧️

We have to have a good moody day to appreciate the next sunny one, right?

Indeed, light and shadow build contrast. How could we appreciate joy without having felt sorrow?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63569.77
ETH 3424.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50