You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mad World: One girl band cover and tribute to my favourite band Tears for Fears + analysis of the song

in #music6 years ago

This is a great ode to the original tune redefined in your own style!
Love it! And I love the film clip you guys made for it!
Seriously! Your creativity and output makes my jaw drop!
Then there's the amazing philosophial discertation on the song and band too! Wow!

Re: covers becoming more famous than the original: It happens so often, especially if the artist reinterprets the original in an original way, but it can be frustrating. So many people say "Hallelujah by Jeff Buckley" instead of Leonard Cohen, or "Nothing Compares 2U by Sinead O'Connor" instead of Prince, or “I Will Always Love You by Whitney Houston" instead of Dolly Parton, or “Blinded by the Light by Manfred Mann's Earth Band" instead of Bruce Springsteen, or “It’s Oh So Quiet by Björk" instead of Betty Hutton (I had to look that one up because I couldn't remember her name), or “Red Red Wine by UB40" instead of Neil Diamond and so so many more.
They're all great versions though. Each generation gets new interpretations of older songs and the young don't recognise the original artist.

Sort:  

Thank you, production is really minimal here, justvwhat it is seen, @hedac helped me master it too, I think the shout out of this cover is precisely that, that even if you can create something new with your reinterpretation, we should aknowledge always the originals.
And thank you, it was all recorded very much on the go, my one girl band has to play one instrument at at a time lol (maybe two hahaha, not like others ;)). I was moody yesterday and when I am moody sometimes I draw spirals but it occured to me that spirals are not circles, in a new song I say circles becoming spirals, and I understood, and remembered this mad eorld cover. I added the world circles ehich is not in the song but the idea was infused there.
Pd. Tff has looooots of underrated songs.

Well, regardless, I think you guys did a stellar job on the clip. It feels like a journey with strong messages (and you know how I love messages in music).
Yes, TFF had some amazing songs. Shout is just brilliant. I love the melodic guitar solo in it!
And I love that it's a hit song and it's around 6 minutes long. That just doesn't happen anymore, sadly.
In the film clip at 3:44 you can see a young Vladimir Putin clapping.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64854.61
ETH 3478.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52