You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mad World: One girl band cover and tribute to my favourite band Tears for Fears + analysis of the song

in #music6 years ago

Whoa. What a start to my week! Just reading my Discord before I get up to face another working week and here’s this welcoming me to my mad world when all I want to do is hide under the blankets and sleep some more. Your arrangement is spectacular, as is the production. I wouldn’t even know where to begin making something like that and I thought I knew a thing or two.

That song though. I always liked the band. I guess we must be similar ages. One of my favourite artists of that era is Howard Jones and I still listen to him a lot. It’s funny but over the last few months I’ve been thinking about working on a repertoire of songs from that era. Nik Kershaw, Haircut 100, Tears for Fears. I started learning the Riddle, but it’s way more tricky than I imagined.

Anyway, you’ve inspired me and what a great way to start my week. The dreams in which I’m dying are the best I ever had. What a line. What a line.

Sort:  

You are a few years my senior but I was also a kid in the 80s. I would love to listen to you do some TFF. 💞 I did a few 80s some dlives back . The production here was very much on the go, and in great part arrangements improvised, then @hedac helped me to mix/master. Pretty much all in one day. A few posts back you have an original properly produced.
Thank you so much for the feedback Cams! You have officially a tff request 💞💞💞💞😋

Yeah, I did produce an album, didn't I? I need to be more positive in life. I can learn that from you I think! If I was going to cover a TFF song, it would be Mad World, although I also really liked Everybody Wants to Rule the World - wasn't there a different one where they said RUN the world, for like an athletics contest or something? That seems to ring a vague bell.

1981 was when I came of musical age, so I'd have been 9 or 10. My first single was Ghost Town by the Specials. I used to record the UK Top 40 to a cassette tape every week, diligently pausing out the chat and then listen to it for the rest of the week. 1985 is my favourite year.

Oh I would love to listen to your version :) go for it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61110.07
ETH 2731.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45