Original song :Holograms, and my playlist for MSP WAVES RADIO

in #music7 years ago (edited)


Image by https://i.pinimg.com
Dear Steemians it is with my greatest pleasure that I am able to announce that I will be contributing my songs to the MSP Waves radio playlist.
MSP Waves Radio
My plan is that as I do more songs I will post about them and simultaneously contribute to the radio station. I have compiled a list at the bottom of this post of post’s I have already done that contain music and an explanations about the songs.

Without further delay let me introduce you to the first song I have sent.

The Song: Holograms

The lyrics

In 2009 full of holograms
Flashing lights
Incoming message
An LOL but its still cold as hell
Leading up to that big day
Hologram shatters
It’s a mirror to yourself
And that swollen ego of yours just catches shards of glass
And it cuts
And it bleeds
Never be fooled again by the Holograms

The inspiration

This song was written in 2009 and it is about the differences in meeting someone online first, then meeting said person in the real world. I have done my fair share of internet dating by now, and when you first start chatting the other person can seem perfect. The messages ping back and forth quickly, and your head is filled with excitement, wondering where this perfect person has been all your life.
Unfortunatly, when chatting online you tend to guide conversations and responses to suit your ego, trying to impress or please the other person. In my opinion, the person you're writing to can appear like a version of the perfect partner you've envisioned in your head . When you write to them you are only really showing your best side, and not the annoying habits or personality traits about yourself. This can be true when you go on a date in real life, but it is less deceptive.
I must add that nothing bad happened when I went on dates, and I was never catfished, but there is something to be said about hanging out in real life as oppossed to messaging online.

Case in point I met this girl when I played a festival in Memphis , she was from San Francisco, we talked briefly at the festival and then connected after the festival online.
Over the course of the next few months we chatted sent letters and CD’s to each other and generally enjoyed our online love affair. I then organised to go to San Francisco to hang out and long story short after we hang out for a few days she just wanted “to be friends” . Such a bummer however I was lucky I had the forsight to not stay with her so it could have been worse.This played out a few times while touring I would normally meet a girl after the show on tour have a good party , stay in touch online, boost each other ego's , meet and then be dissapointed.It is situations like this that gave birth to this song.

Production

This song was recorded at an old studio space I used to rent with some friends. To begin with I hooked up the snare drum to a delay pedal to get that echoing snare affect. I recorded this while my friend played bass on the track. I didnt know exacty how it went but knew it needed two parts. So the notes for the song my friend came up with on the spot. I then recorded two guitar tracks where I basically soloed my balls off. I later mixed the two takes together.
I then left the song until Christmas day 2009. I used to flatshare (share an apartment) with 6 other people luckily over Christmas they all left the flat and I stayed at home. I therefore got drunk on Christmas day and recorded the vocals in the bathroom. It is for this reason that there is an Old Dirty Bastard type warble holding the note towards the end of the song.

Hope you enjoy the song and post thanks for reading please see list of other songs that will be added to MSP Waves Radio playlist.

Big thanks to @discordiant for proof reading a section that eluded me.

List of posts that contain details about the songs that have been sent to MSP Waves Radio

It's not Karma you an asshole
And he died and made me a lot of money
Don’t ask for an upvote
When the darkness comes
When the complaints come
Is it magic?
Is there hope Zimbabwe
Blood Christmas
Winners and Losers
All this time

Sort:  

This post has been resteemed from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Instant underground psychedelic experimental uk punk vibes from this = LOVE
well done stick. you summoned both @buckydurddle and me with it...

Thank you as always one day I will come to your city and play a gig ,all I need is a drummer and a bass player the less professional the better.

Fantastic song @stickchumpion!! This is pure emotion. I love everything about it. I feel pummelled and I love it! That delayed snare is perfect. Great stuff Stick!!

Woah dude! This is intense! Love your drunk bathroom vocals here and the distorted feedback guitar is awesome. The loop snare is a cool effect. Really cool!

As always thank you Carl I need to send you some phrases to turn into songs I have been digging that project you have been doing

Great tune @stickchumpion I'm off to listen to the rest!

Thank you sir well hear your dulcit tones tonight

Pure emotional song . fantastic tune.
Well done keep it up.
I really like your song @stickchumpion

Thank you so much for the comment

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @stickchumpion to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @buckydurddle from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

This post has been resteemed from MSP3K courtesy of @buckydurddle from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63632.98
ETH 2727.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58