My entry for Art Explosion week 17: A song called ISITMAGIC?steemCreated with Sketch.


Image by https://blueridgemagiciansring320
I have been meaning to enter one of these contests for a long time now but I just get lazy forget or get drunk . Anyhow I have forced myself to complete this as I like the idea of following a theme and forcing yourself creatively to churn something out.

Let your freak flag fly !!!!

So the theme for this contest MAGIC.

As a musician the immediate thought that popped into my mind mind was the magic involved in inspiration and the fundamental questions involved in inspiration. Is the inspiration pure magic or is it based on your musical technique or even your experiences from life . More succinctly where do these subconscious sonic forms come from. Its shot out in the form of a synapse and is then channelled by technique and experience. With this in mind I attempted to record a musical ditty to encapsulate this concept. Unfortunately like any music piece I had to tweak it and strip away from its previous raw abrasive form .

I have made a video to show case the production process. This involved laying down a drum track on the keyboard, followed by synth bass , some piano, a couple guitar tracks and some vocals. It runs along a generic blues vein but I tried to skew it as much as possible . I am a crazy cliche !!!

Here are the lyrics

Is it magic ?
How I make this music
Is it magic?
How do I choose it ?
Is it technique ?
How I learnt to play
Or is it magic ?
How it all came together today
Is it magic that I only see the muse
when I get the blues
Is it magic or is it life ?
Or techniques in life
Is it magic that I just decided to do that solo?
Is it magic that it doesn't know where to go?
Is magic the direction ?
Or direction for the magic ?
Is it magic or technique?
Is it magic or technique?

And now finally

the song

Thanks for following me on this creative journey and big ups to @juliakponsford for the comp that kick my ass creatively.

Sort:  

I'm so glad you made a music entry for the contest! I haven't gotten one in a while, it's magic!

But is it magic where does it come from ???? No problem had fun making it.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by stickchumpion from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.31 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

This post received a 5% vote by @minnowsupport courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63686.15
ETH 2727.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59