Making the music for an original collaboration song : What did you leave me for ?

in #music7 years ago

Image source

The two men pictured in this opening picture are Jimmy Webb and Glen Campbell. Jimmy Webb wrote the lyrics for most of Glen Campbell's famous songs such as "Wichita Lineman" and "Galveston".This partnership was running through my head as I tackled this PAL Musician's collaboration fresh from the PAL music chatroom.

The Song

There I was dicking about on a bland weekday morning when my phone pinged . Was this a date !!! a Tinder match !!! Had a small alt coin gone to the moon !!!!

No!!!! it was just matron @crimsonclad hollering at me from music chat room on the PAL Dischord server. Matron Crim had found the Steemit equivalent of the lyricist and was looking for the Steemit Glen Campbell. I burst open the saloon doors of the chat room and sauntered in , raised my hat and said "Yes I will give it a bash".

()

Being that I am now single and my heart is in the bandaged , healing stage of the break up . I thought I would rip off the bandages and caress that wound .All for the sake of churning out some great music for your steemit ears. The lyrics deeply resonated with me and describe a lot of what I was feeling . I stress feeling and not the immediately agreeing to go get a gun a shoot my ex . In the dark recess's of my mind filled with thoughts of love gone bad I could voyeuristically empathise with the character and his demise.

The Lyrics

What Did You Leave Me For?

There is a hole in this heart of mine.
All I do is sit all day and pine.
So, what did you go and leave me for?
You just got up and walked out the door.
What did you leave me for?
--
Then I saw you with your new boyfriend.
Oh, why won’t this heartache ever end.
I don’t think I can stand anymore.
I’ve been a wreck since you walked out the door.
What did you leave me for?
--
So, I decided to buy a gun.
To show you I was your only one.
Now there’s two dead bodies on the floor.
One of them is mine, the other is yours.
What did you leave me for?
--
I thought we’d be together once more, well …
You went to heaven, I went to hell.
I guess I won’t see my baby no more.
Why did you have to walk out that door?
What did you leave me for?
--
You went to heaven, I went to hell.
I guess I won’t see my baby no more.
What did you leave me for?
What did you leave me for?

The Production

I made a YouTube video to take you through what I thought of musically when I read the lyrics , my studio set up and the production.

Big thanks to @johnwjr7 for writing such awesome lyrics and inspiring me to make a great sad country song. See his post Here

I will be adding this to the playlist of songs that I have sent to MSP Waves Radio please see links below for other songs and posts that are already on there.

It's not Karma you an asshole

And he died and made me a lot of money

Don’t ask for an upvote

When the darkness comes

When the complaints come

Is it magic?

Is there hope Zimbabwe

Blood Christmas

Winners and Losers

All this time

Sort:  

This post has been resteemed from MSP3K courtesy of @buckydurddle from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @buckydurddle from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

@stickchumpion I love this. As I listen to more of your stuff the more I hear a unique musician. I love your sound!

Your vocal on this track pull my heart out. Fantastic stuff!

The video walkthrough is killer. I love that! It is very interesting to see how you work.

You mean you thought I was just a punk

hahaha. I have no preconceived ideas. My mind is a blank canvas. Paint on me, Bob Ross..... Paint on me..... Spread your happy trees... on... me.... That's it..... Yes..... paint..... paint........... happy........trees........

@stickchumpion You surely gave this melody a vintage sound! Well done!

This is a cool inside look at the ghetto studio and process, I mean that in a good way haha. Loved the song, definitely had that twang to it but with the chumpion edge :)

Thanks man I need a name for my studio

Two good heads are better than one because one will chase a thousand and two will chased ten thousand

haha awesome, Stick!! You totally made this work and the vibe is perfect. :D

Thank you so much

You certainly gave this song a vintage sound! Well done!

Thanks working on your one next

So it was not a tinder date? I was a nice song born from the mad claw of @crimsonclad! Congrats to you and @johnwjr7 a new fantastic collab born from the dark corridor of discord!

Thanks dude it was Tinder rage

YO! This was cool. Making music is always fascinating to watch. It is a cool classic sounding song. Very creative. RESPECT brosir

Thanks man hope your doing good

Oh this is so great! I love the collabs!!! <3

Thank you so much , what rules about this comment is you found my post without me throwing it in your DM . You rule !!!!!

Aww, no you rule! :p

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62685.52
ETH 2436.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51